Larry and Megan in “NUMB3RS”

I was disappointed to see the Tigers go down so meekly in defeat last night.  They came apart so horribly, with that runner getting caught between second and third, and yet another throwing error by a pitcher.  I turned off the TV immediately after the last out, feeling disgusted.  The Tigers rather reminded me of the 1988 A’s, sweeping through the ALCS, and looking inexperienced and nervous in winning only one game in the World Series.
 
I noticed that "Six Degrees" did not air on Thursday night, in favor of a second episode of "Grey’s Anatomy."  I wonder if this means ABC is looking for a new show in this slot.  I wouldn’t mind that, because J.J. Abrams needs to be brought down a notch, especially as "Lost" gets worse.
Watching "NUMB3RS" last night, I could not see why Larry thinks Megan is so "beautiful" – she probably didn’t even get an A in Calculus III in college.  To her credit, she did suggest that they go to a Truffaut retrospective.  However, as they were leaving the theatre, she said she thought Antoine Doinel of "The 400 Blows" would grow up to become a cop.  She was unaware that we see what happens to the Antoine character in "Antoine et Colette," "Stolen Kisses," "Bed and Board," and "Love on the Run."  It’s rather like a French, fictional version of "49 Up."  Anyway, Antoine goes through a series of jobs, like florist and TV repairman.  He never becomes a cop, but he does work briefly in private investigation – and he’s terrible at it.
This all reminds me that I haven’t seen Laura Truffaut around the Elmwood district in a long time, probably a couple years.  I have seen her husband, though, walking along College Avenue or shopping at Safeway.
This is my definitive list of the Top 5 Truffaut Films:
5. Small Change
4. Stolen Kisses
3. The 400 Blows
2. Jules and Jim
1. Day for Night.
This entry was posted in Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment