Baisers volés

What makes Elizabeth Wenger on KPIX difficult to watch sometimes is that she smiles all the time, making you feel like your life must be crappy in comparison.  Why is she so happy all the time?  She must have a pretty good job there, studying the traffic and talking about it.  Meanwhile, I had to deal with people calling in sick yesterday, leaving me with a ton of work to do.  I saw Erica Hill later on the CBS Early Show wearing black.  She hasn’t worn eyeglasses in quite a while.  I thought I detected some dandruff on her clothes, but I wasn’t absolutely sure.  My respect for her plummeted when she said that she “loved” a Katy Perry song.  She said that the total cost of the gifts mentioned in the 12 Days of Christmas was $96,824 this year, an increase of 10.8% from 2009.  Erica wasn’t wearing eyeglasses, but I saw Sydnie Kohara wearing eyeglasses during a late news update.

I tried to learn more about the death of Leslie Nielsen.  I wondered what his last days were like.  Did he have any visitors?  I saw Ben Fong-Torres’ Radio Waves column in the Sunday paper, but I didn’t sit down to read it.  I was curious about why Natalie Portman has been looking so different these days.  I read that she lost 20 pounds for her latest movie role.  I was tired after my shift, and I was glad to leave.  It took a while for my bus to arrive.  I saw a notice on my door informing me of an increase of five dollars in my monthly rent.  It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.

I heated a burrito in the microwave oven.  I watched the local news on CBS, but there was no national news because the station was showing the 49ers game against the Cardinals.  I wasn’t used to seeing the other networks’ news, so I stayed with the football game until it looked like the 49ers were going to win with their second touchdown.

I watched “Antoine and Colette,” which I liked a lot, although it was short.  It was Truffaut’s contribution to the anthology “Love at Twenty,” even though we learn that Antoine is only 17.  We learn that he got captured after the escape at the end of “The 400 Blows,” but someone took an interest in him, and he settled into this job at the Philips record company.  He takes an interest in a young girl he meets at a concert, the girl named Colette.  He finds it frustrating to deal with her, and he gets too aggressive in kissing her at one point.  He succeeds in becoming friendly with her parents, which turns out to be a sad thing in the end.  He was oblivious to what she was really doing the whole time.

There is one brief flashback to a scene in “The 400 Blows” where Antoine and his friend René were smoking cigars when René’s father comes into the room.  It is revealed that René became a stockbroker.  I wondered if the same actor played René in both films.

One of the fascinating sequences shows Antoine pressing a record, running it through a machine, and then placing it on a platter to cut off the excess material.  I found it more interesting now in light of the technological advancement we’ve seen in the last 30 years or so.

The film was only 30 minutes long, but I felt that I had to see it before I moved on to “Stolen Kisses.”  The one was made in 1968, six years after “Antoine and Colette” and nine years after “The 400 Blows.”  It shows Antoine having trouble settling into adulthood.  He goes from job to job after a discharge from the army.  He works a hotel desk, becomes a private investigator, and a shoe stock clerk while he’s undercover, and a TV repairman.  He’s not really too good at any of those jobs, and he gets fired from most of them because of his pursuit of women.  In this film, there were quite a few prostitutes, along with a few other women.

There are some elements that are held over from “Antoine and Colette,” like the division between Antoine, who is trying to make a living, and the girl who is going to school, in this case Christine.  We see Antoine again being aggressive in kissing a girl, who avoids him when he comes calling.  It looks like there is a cameo with Colette and Albert outside a post office.  Again, I wondered whether Truffaut used the original actors.

The division between those who did well in school and those with the lack of concentration, like Antoine, showed up in “The 400 Blows,” of course.  Antoine still writes letters and reads books.  This time, instead of Balzac, he reads “The Lily in the Valley,” although he does seem to misinterpret it.

I liked the feeling of freedom in those early scenes, and the look of the streets of Paris, compared to what it was nine years earlier in “The 400 Blows.”  I liked those little moments, like Antoine’s trickery in getting someone’s address.  There was also a visual joke with Antoine’s going out with a taller woman that I thought was hilarious.

The last scene in the film has an unsettling tone.  It’s like Truffaut really wanted to avoid the romantic and sentimental ending you’d see in a Hollywood movie.  If he was following in Hitchcock’s footsteps, he would have ended with a lightly humorous joke, with sly undertones.  I would have to stay, though, that “Stolen Kisses” is one of my favorites in the Antoine Doinel series, along with “The 400 Blows.”  I always find it very satisfying to watch.

I have hardly any Thanksgiving leftovers left, just some eggs and olives and vegetables.  It was pretty good while it lasted.  After the movie, I heard that the 49ers had won the game.  I listened to Monsters of Folk and “Magic Marker.”  I played some more games of solitaire on my computer, and I was glad to finally push my winning percentage to 17% by winning 798 out of 4694 games.  It seemed that the Letterman show was a rerun, because the Top Ten was about the New York City marathon.

With the end of another month, I put together my list of the Top 5 Biggest Jerks of November 2010:

5. Brett Favre

4. Sarah Palin

3. Reynaldo Decerega

2. Mohamed Osman Mohamud

1. Kim Jong-il

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

