Chris Carter’s Thunderous Walk-Off Home Run

I didn’t catch Ringo Starr on CBS This Morning yesterday.  I don’t know why he would want to distance himself from The Beatles, especially at this point in his life.  I didn’t watch the singer who messed up the ending of “God Bless America” at the Tigers game.  I checked my messages and my blog, but I forgot to look up information on the Bay Area Derby Girls.  I went to work.  I saw that my fall semester class roster increased by one.  I shopped for groceries and took a nap.  I got to the bus stop just before four.  I read through the first chapters of a Ray Bradbury book, and I listened to a Beatles album as I made my way to the stadium.  They were having a tent sale in the parking lot.  I bought a Kurt Suzuki shirt and a green and black A’s cap.  I took my seat and had the misfortune of having to sit next to someone who kept staring at my scorebook and wouldn’t stop shaking his legs after the seventh inning.  Someone behind me showed me a photo he took with his phone in Seattle.  It was me, or so he said.  I couldn’t bring myself to tell him that I’ve never been to Seattle before.  Tommy Milone was the starting pitcher for the A’s.  After getting Ichiro Suzuki out to start the game, he gave up singles to three of the next four batters, giving the Mariners a 1-0 lead.  Milone got on a roll, though, right on through the fifth inning.  During that time, he gave up only a single with two outs in the second inning, and a walk with one out in the fifth.  He had a bit of trouble in the sixth inning, when he allowed two singles, but he got out of that situation, and he struck out the side in the seventh inning.  The A’s at first looked like they were getting some good swings in the first two innings, but they managed only two singles.  Their biggest scoring threat through the first seven innings was in the fourth, when they got two walks, but Brandon Moss struck out to end the inning with Josh Reddick standing on second base.  The score was still 1-0 going to the bottom of the eighth inning, and it was looking like Milone might get stuck with a loss.  With one out, Brandon Hicks came in to pinch-hit for Cliff Pennington.  He hit a long fly ball that barely missed being a home run.  He’s had a few unlucky doubles in recent weeks.  After Coco Crisp made an out, Jemile Weeks got a hit that scored Hicks to tie the game at 1-1.  At least Milone wouldn’t be stuck with a loss on this night when he pitched well again.  Sean Doolittle, who always walks to the bullpen with a Hello Kitty backpack, pitched the top of the eighth inning.  He gave up a two-out walk and a stolen base, but nothing else.  Ryan Cook pitched the top of the ninth inning.  After two outs, he gave up a hit that Yoenis Cespedes dived for and missed, turning the single into a triple.  Fans near me were furious with Cespedes.  Cook did get the last out with a ground ball.  When the game remained tied, Grant Balfour pitched the top of the tenth inning.  Balfour had fans in the stands who brought with them the Australian flag.  Balfour had no problem getting three outs.  Jordan Norberto struck out the side in the top of the eleventh inning.  In the bottom of the ninth inning, Yoenis Cespedes walk and stole second base, but he was stranded there.  The bottom of the tenth inning saw Brandon Hicks walk and go to second base on a sacrifice bunt.  However, Jemile Weeks hit a line drive to the shortstop that went for a double because Hicks went too far away from second base on the play.  The bottom of the eleventh inning began with Josh Reddick hitting a single.  Cespedes made an out with a fly ball to right field.  Seth Smith hit a single.  Bob Melvin sent Chris Carter into the game to pinch-hit for Brandon Moss.  On a 0-1 pitch, Carter took a powerful swing and sent the ball deep into the left field bleachers with an impressive walk-off home run.  They described it on the radio as a thunderous blow.  The A’s evened their record at 42-42.  That game started at 7:08 and ended at 10:24.  Attendance was 10,819.  Ichiro Suzuki went 0-for-5.  I can’t recall seeing him have a worse game at the Coliseum in all these years.  I saw the thin girl who used to wear the Kevin Garnett jersey.  She wrapped herself in a Swingin’ A’s blanket.  The scoreboard said that “T. Parker” was pitching for the A’s today.  I hope they didn’t mean Colonel Tom Parker.  I wanted to get back home quickly to watch at least part of the Twilight Zone episode “A World of Difference.”  I didn’t feel like listening to The Pixies on the BART train.  I read a little more of the Bradbury book before my eyes felt very tired.  One fellow in a wheelchair always rides in the front car of the Richmond train as I make my way back home.  I’ve been seeing a lot of Vern Glenn doing the sports reports on KPIX this past week.  David Letterman’s show was a rerun.  I didn’t really want to see the interview with Kelly Ripa, however.  On today’s edition of CBS This Morning, they discussed the ballparks with the best food.  Needless to say, Oakland did not make the top five.  Peter Greenberg liked Miami, the Chicago Cubs, Pittsburgh, San Francisco, and the New York Mets.  On this morning’s local news, Anne Makovec kept saying that she was not a sports fan.  We heard the news that California’s bullet train plans were still going ahead.  I did my laundry, finally washing my old Mark Mulder and Jermaine Dye shirts.  They didn’t get totally clean.  I wondered if I would see Frank Thomas at today’s Beer Fest.  Some of the people who died on July 7 were Arthur Conan Doyle (1930), Veronica Lake (1973), and Bill Cullen (1990).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for July 7, “Dragnet” premiered on NBC Radio in 1949.  In 1954, two versions of “Sh-Boom” were in the Top 10, with The Chords at Number 9 and The Crew Cuts at Number 5.  In 1975, “Ryan’s Hope” premiered on ABC.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

