Psycho

I hated the recent baseball news, so I again avoided the morning news on KPIX.  I wondered if Norah O’Donnell was talking about anything interesting.  I worked on lecture notes and ended up making distressing mistakes.  I put together a homework assignment and bought some groceries.  I had salad for lunch, and I had an upset stomach for most of the day.  I was expecting someone to come into the classroom to evaluate me, but that didn’t happen, and I was disgusted.  I made mistakes during my lecture, and I didn’t feel good.  I went over to the record store and ran into someone from work.  We talked about online music.  I bought the Deluxe Edition of The Kinks’ “Arthur.”  I walked over to the drug store to buy cough drops, and then I went into the theatre to see “Psycho.”  The crowd was pretty good for an old movie.  One of the trailers was for a movie about Alfred Hitchcock called “Hitchcock,” and it featured Anthony Hopkins. I don’t know why Scarlett Johansson was cast as Janet Leigh The trailer gave away some of the plot, if you’ve never seen “Psycho” before.  One of the scariest things in the movie was Janet Leigh driving in the rain.  Marion’s behavior around that cop was incredibly suspicious.  She seemed to look back at him a thousand times while she’s buying the used car.  I couldn’t believe the way she spoke to him.  It was like she was inviting trouble.  Hardly anyone in this movie knows how to behave. I don’t know why she wrapped the money in the newspaper.  It seems that the most common fictional Los Angeles newspaper in the movies is the Los Angeles Tribune  The Bates Motel is somewhere between Bakersfield and Los Angeles, a drive that now takes you a couple of hours.  That’s why I couldn’t understand why Marion ended up where she did.  Norman talks about how the main highway moved, resulting in the decline in business for the motel.  Marion’s reactions during her conversation with Norman are odd.  She was really kind of rude to the cop, and yet she tries to be sympathetic towards this wacky guy whose hobby is taxidermy.  He pretty much insults her, and yet she just takes it.   The first shot in the movie says that it’s December 11, but it hardly looks like the winter in Phoenix.  Arbogast certainly showed no caution in dealing with Bates.  If he’s a private investigator, you’d think he could size up people better than he did.  The overhead shot of him on the staircase was the one that surprised people in the audience the most.  Lila and Sam are totally reckless in playing detective.  Sam sure doesn’t know how to deal with people.  He’s supposed to keep Norman occupied while Lila searches the house, but his comments become increasingly hostile until he shows his hand.  Nobody in this movie shows any discipline in their behavior.  Marion let slip her real name.  Sam’s dealing with Norman contrasts with Marion’s.  It seems that Marion’s relationship with him would never work out.  I thought I saw Janet Leigh’s eyeball twitch slightly in that last shot of her face.  It would be hard to be still for a shot like that.  One of the moments that the audience thought was amusing was the car sinking into the swamp.  It looked like for a second that it was going to be stuck with the top part exposed.  I wondered where Norman got the Kandy Korn.  This guy looks like all he does is go back and forth between the motel and the house.  After Lila and Sam are told that Norman’s mother had died ten years before, it sure seemed that they should have been more careful about going to the motel.  I wondered what Norman did with Arbogast.  There was another car to get rid of.  How many swamps were there around the Bates Motel?  The audience on this night didn’t find the psychologist’s explanation too intriguing.  In fact, the biggest laugh of the night from the audience came when he said “yes and no” to a question about the murder.  The laughter drowned out the next line of dialogue.  Whenever you’re watching an old movie with young people, you can always expect laughter at unexpected times.  They didn’t laugh at Hitchcock’s cameo appearance.  They did applaud the movie at the end.  I’ve seen this movie several times over the years, but I don’t think it’s ever looked as sharp and clear as it did last night.  There is something to be said about the digital format and digital projection.  The Bernard Herrmann music sounded impressive over the theatre speakers.  The movie isn’t as deeply disturbing as it seemed years ago.  In fact, it seems that if you walk down the street, you’ll find a Norman Bates on practically every corner.  The theater was nearly full for this movie, where people didn’t come out last week for “Airplane!”  It was just past 11 when the movie ended, and I got home in time to catch the last eight minutes of the Twilight Zone episode called “Steel” with Lee Marvin.  It was about boxing, a kind of variation on “Requiem for a Heavyweight.”  I caught some of Letterman talking with Donald Trump.  Donald’s hair looked worse than ever.  He naturally talked about Obama and his college records.  I switched over to Jimmy Kimmel, where he tormented one of his security employees.  I had to wonder if it was real, however.  I stayed up for This Week in Unnecessary Censorship.  It seems that he shows Dora a lot in that segment.  I didn’t stay with the show to see what Michelle Obama had to say.  I went to sleep not feeling so good about the evaluation I was supposed to go through.  It seems that nothing ever works out the way it’s supposed to.  When I awoke, it was still dark out.  I thought about what to do after work.  This weekend is a chance to get ahead with what I need to do.  I can get some reading done, and maybe catch a free movie.  Four people who died on October 26 were Hattie McDaniel (1952), Nikos Kazantzakis (1957), Wilbert Harrison (1994), and Hoyt Axton (1999).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind segment for October 26, “Rebel Without a Cause” opened in 1955.  In 1965, Liberace appeared on the Batman TV series.  In 1981, David Bowie and Queen recorded “Under Pressure.”

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

