Yoenis Cespedes’ 2 HR and 5 RBI

I got up out of bed and was glad that I wasn’t going to work. I thought about the end of the summer, and how I should be preparing for classes soon. I watched an episode of “Wait Till Your Father Gets Home” before I took the bus. I got in line quite early for Root Beer Float Day at the Coliseum. A couple of employees were ahead of me, and one of them stated his belief that the A’s would not relocate. I wished I could find a new radio station that I liked. I was the first one to get to the table where they sold the root beer mugs, and I got an autographed mug and one of the small mugs. The girl must not have had much experience with money because she gave me the wrong change, two dollars in my favor. I walked around and saw Roberta Gonzales and Vern Glenn. I was tempted to pay the money to get Jose Canseco’s autograph. I went to the players’ wives table. They were friendly enough. Luke Gregerson’s wife scooped the vanilla ice cream for me, and Derek Norris’ wife poured the root beer. A TV reporter pushed a camera towards my face and caught me drinking from my mug. I wondered if I would end up on the late news. I saw David Justice. The place was filling up with hordes of people, so I decided I should leave for my seat. I thought about whether my purchases were worth the money. Jesse Chavez had a good start for the A’s allowing the Astros only a walk through the first four innings. The A’s threated to score in the first inning after Coco Crisp walked and John Jaso singled, but nothing came of it. There was a play review that extended the inning. In the middle of the second inning, Kara Tsuboi asked a kid what he liked about Coco Crisp, and he said “his accuracy and his focus on the ball.” These kids don’t know how to explain their thoughts, and some of them are the same way right into college. The A’s did score in the bottom of the second inning when Jed Lowrie hit a home run. Josh Reddick then walked and Eric Sogard singled. After Coco Crisp walked for the second time, loading the bases, Jaso hit a sacrifice fly to center to make the score 2-0. Yoenis Cespedes followed with a home run that made the score 5-0. In the fourth inning with one out, Jaso doubled and Cespedes hit a home run to make the score 7-0. Houston got back one run in the next half-inning. Chavez allowed his first run on the game with a single, a walk, another single, and a ground out. In the bottom of the fifth inning, Reddick doubled with one out. His walk-up song had changed from “Careless Whisper” to “Wild Thing.” He went to third base on a ground out, and after Coco Crisp walked, he scored on Jaso’s single. Cespedes grounded out, apparently getting injured on the swing. Chavez allowed a single to start the sixth inning. He got two outs, but then he gave up a double to make the score 8-2. Chavez threw 100 pitches in less than six innings. Ryan Cook got the last out with one pitch, but I missed the play because the person behind me asked me to take a photo of him and his friend. He didn’t know how to operate the camera, but he told me to push the wrong button. The Big Cut Cam showed women, and in the bottom of the sixth inning, we saw only a single from Brandon Moss. The Big Head race was won by the speedy Rollie Fingers, and “Eye of the Tiger” played on the PA system. Ryan Cook had a clean seventh inning. Biz Markie, who threw out the first pitch and was introduced to us as a hip-hop legend, attempted to sing “Take Me Out to the Ball Game,” showed us that he didn’t have much of a sense of the song. In the middle of it, he tried to pass the microphone over to Kara. I guess he didn’t know how loud he would be. Reddick and Sogard both singled to start the bottom of the seventh inning. After Crisp struck out, Jaso walked to load the bases. Gentry, in place of Cespedes, hit into a force play, avoiding a double play because of his speed. The A’s scored their ninth run on the play, and it would turn out that they would need a lot of runs. The crowd started The Wave at 9:42 and went on for too long. We saw Warp Vision before the eighth inning. Because of the 12-inning game on Tuesday night and the seven-run lead, Jim Johnson with his 6.25 ERA came in to pitch in the top of the eighth inning. A ground ball went to Donaldson, whose throw to first base was off. Moss appeared to hurt his hand in trying to tag the runner, but he stayed in the game. It was ruled a single. Johnson fell behind in the count to the next batter and gave up a single. The boos rained down loudly when he gave up a double for a run, and then a single for another run. Melvin came in to take him out of the game and bring in Dan Otero. The horror continued with a Donaldson error, with a third run coming in. Otero finally got the first out of the inning when Gentry made a good play in left field. However, a single made the score 9-6, and a sixth hit in the inning, another single, made the score 9-7. The fans were extremely uncomfortable. Melvin made another pitching change, bringing in Luke Gregerson. Finally, things settled down with a strikeout and a ground ball. In the bottom of the inning, Stephen Vogt singled with one out, and he went to second base on a bunt from Lowrie, but Reddick lined out for the last out. Sean Doolittle appeared for the third consecutive game, although the team had Monday off. Gentry made another good catch for the first out. Sogard caught a fly ball for the second out. Doolittle struck out the next batter to end the game. The game started at 7:07 and ended at 10:37, and the game time temperature was 66 degrees. Attendance was 28,310. It was announced that Root Beer Float Day had raised $28,189 for diabetes research. I hurried on home to watch Letterman. I liked the segment on summer toys. Some of the people who died on July 24 include Martin Van Buren (1862), Peter Sellers (1980), Isaac Bashevis Singer (1991), Virginia Christine (1996), Chad Everett (2012), and Sherman Hemsley (2012). Today is a birthday for Lynda Carter (63), Michael Richards (65), and Ruth Buzzi (78). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind segment for July 24, “High Noon” opened in 1952. In 1971, Paul Revere and the Raiders had the Number One single, “Indian Reservation.” In 1980, Larry Graham of Sly and the Family Stone began a tour in Baton Rouge as an opening act for the Isley Brothers. In 1987, the movie “La Bamba” with Lou Diamond Phillips opened.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

