House Calls

I felt so sick in the morning that I didn’t want to go to work. I wore my jacket because it was cold outside. I went out to the office and worked on my writing. Some people thought I was rooting for the Giants to win the World Series. Do Mets fans root for the Yankees to win the World Series? Well, maybe the stupid ones do. I got done with a five-hour shift and went out to get a turkey burger. I worked on grading some papers and talking with students. I delivered a long lecture. My throat was sore. I checked the baseball score. I’m not sure if the Royals have another good game left in them. I went home and watched “House Calls” with Walter Matthau and Glenda Jackson. Although it wasn’t a great movie, it made me miss the 1970s, when Walter Matthau was still alive, and Glenda Jackson wasn’t a politician. Art Carney was a doctor getting too old for his job. Richard Benjamin was one of the doctors. Matthau’s character was Charley, a surgeon who had something in common with Hawkeye Pierce. His wife recently died, and he seems to show no lingering effects. Glenda Jackson is Ann, recently divorced and in the hospital with a broken jaw. She makes money by baking cheesecakes. The setting is Los Angeles, and it surprised me that Ann went anywhere on an RTD bus, which was a difficult way of getting anywhere. I thought one of the funniest scenes involved Charley watching a tape-delayed UCLA basketball game. It was supposed to be the NCAA championship, which definitely would not be on tape delay today. The hospital was supposed to be a house of horrors, with incompetent management and terrible doctors. I didn’t see Matthau as any kind of a Casanova, although maybe his being a doctor was a big lure. Glenda Jackson sure seemed a long way away from “Women in Love.” I found her most annoying moment was when she talked the kid’s mother out of having her son get a tonsillectomy. Who was she to decide this things, anyway? I couldn’t believe in Matthau as a doctor. Ann was a difficult woman. How could any man be serious about her? I wonder if Charley ever found his clothes after taking that shower. The movie starts with “The Sunny Side of the Street.” The Beatles’ “Something” was on previous editions of the movie, and Charley while in the shower sings Cherubino’s part in “Le Nozze di Figaro.” The only other musical reference I heard was Boz Scaggs. I wondered where the apartment building in the movie was. Matthau and Jackson had some chemistry, the American and British thing. I thought Richard Benjamin was funny. I wondered if he really paid the cab driver. The movie was nothing brilliant. It wasn’t Cary Grant and Katharine Hepburn in “Bringing Up Baby.” The ineptitude of everyone in the hospital was unnerving, almost like watching George C. Scott in “The Hospital.” This is the type of movie that you would forget about forever if it wasn’t for the stars in it. The director was Howard Zieff, who also did “Slither,” “Hearts of the West,” “The Main Event,” Private Benjamin,” and “Unfaithfully Yours.” I watched the end of the TV news, which had a lot of coverage on the World Series. I was waiting for Quentin Tarantino to appear on the Craig Ferguson show. It seemed that Tarantino had a big gut. He said that rehearsals for his next movie would start on Monday. He also talked about Steve McQueen. He claimed that he had Steve McQueen personal print of “Papillon,” which had twenty minutes of extra footage from the Tahiti sequence. They discussed “The Great Escape.” It used to be on network television every year during the 1970s. When he got a VCR, his parents bought him a copy of “The Great Escape.” Gordon Jackson was the Scottish guy who screws things up, and he was of course in “Upstairs, Downstairs.” I really liked “The Great Escape,” too. I was sweating a lot because I felt kind of sick. Rob Lowe has been in some strange commercials lately. Tarantino looks like he has smooth skin around his face and neck, so he doesn’t look old. Ferguson said that he liked “Pulp Fiction.” I was waiting for Night Gallery to start. If I were to make my own film, I’d love to use the Night Gallery theme music, which was creepier than the Twilight Zone theme music. The episode was “The Doll,” one of the disturbing ones. It starts in India in 1907. Naturally, it always reminds me of the Twilight Zone episode with Telly Savalas. The Avengers movie was showing in the middle of the night. Uma Thurman was not a good choice for Emma Peel. The plot involving control of the weather was not so appealing. The NASA rocket explosion was the lead story on the late news. Jose Canseco showed that he was not a genius in shooting off his finger. Was he really cleaning the gun at the time? What is he doing owning a gun in the first place? Surgeons were trying to save the finger, apparently. Was it the right or left hand? I would like to meet the students protesting Bill Maher’s commencement appearance. Are they paying any attention to what Maher says about all religions? I was hungry, and I had almost no food in the refrigerator. I was glad that I have the cash to get through to payday on Friday. I had a few DVDs that I borrowed from the library. I thought that I would give “The Leopard” another chance. Ironside came on at two o’clock. I liked Barbara Anderson. Ironside suspected jury tampering. The episode was called “The Riddle in Room Six.” I was sleepy, and it seemed like a routine show. “Route 66” and “Naked City” were the other shows in the middle of the night. Some of the people who died on October 29 include Louis B. Mayer (1957), Adolphe Menjou (1963), Duane Allman (1971), Woody Herman (1987), and Terry Southern (1995). Lloyd Bochner (2005), and William Wharton (2008). Today is a birthday for Dan Castellaneta (57), Kate Jackson (66), and Richard Dreyfuss (67). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for October 29, the Number One single in 1966 was “96 Tears” by ? and the Mysterians. In 1978, “Halloween” was the Number One movie at the box office. In 1983, Kenny Rogers and Dolly Parton had the Number One single “Islands in the Stream.”

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

