The Interview

I really didn’t want to go back to work, but I had to. I wore my Bruce Lee T-shirt. After four hours, I had my lunch. I went home and dropped off my bag, which was a good idea, because the theatre wasn’t allowing big bags inside as a security measure. It wasn’t a big crowd that showed up for “The Interview,” although it was more than the normal number for a weekday afternoon. Some of the people were too anxious to laugh at the movie. There were some moments that reminded me of “Inglourious Basterds,” with the slow motion violence and a fantasy element. Like “Pineapple Express,” an uncomfortable mix of violence and comedy was part of the story. I don’t know why some people in the audience thought that bit with the fingers at the end was funny. I imagined the writers of the film deciding that these weird ideas were funny when they were high. In fact, an odd use of drugs as part of the humor happened early on in the movie. It led to one of the moments when I laughed, which was James Franco talking about a smell when he didn’t realize that the agents could hear him. Another joke I found funny involved Matthew McConaughey. Seth Rogen and James Franco together seemed like they were the misfits of “Freaks and Geeks” pushed into the future fifteen years. I did not believe that both of them could be so stupid that they couldn’t immediately grasp the meaning of taking someone out. The humor of stupidity was something we thought about during the 1990s. Dave was a fool to change bags and put the poison in a package of gum. You could see the way certain bits were going to turn out way in advance. If Dave didn’t make the mistake with the poison, the scene with the tiger and putting something up your butt wouldn’t have happened. One of the big North Korean characters was Sook, who brought to my mind Lucy Liu in “Kill Bill.” She was part of two Quentin Tarantino moments at the end when she killed a lot of people. It was kind of funny to show Kim Jong-un as a jackass who listened to Katy Perry and blurts out four-letter words. He brought to mind the Italian dictator in “The Great Dictator.” The interview is a chance for Dave to redeem himself, since he has made his career out of celebrity revelations, junk news, and meaningless work. That was pretty predictable. In real life, James Franco had some difficulty in hosting an actual television program, namely the Oscars. I didn’t quite believe that he could save the day at the end. I thought the C.I.A. should have come up with a better idea that the poison that took effect in 12 hours. When I stopped to think about it, I couldn’t see why they needed these two guys to do the deed if they already had agents close to Kim. The ending is loud and displays a lot of mayhem. It made me think back to “Stripes,” but without the good-natured quality of Bill Murray. I never expected Rogen and Franco to do the killing, because usually in these movies they would avoid it in a Spider-Man superhero way. The movie made me laugh a bit more than I expected, but I wouldn’t say that it was a great comedy. It suggested to me that North Koreans didn’t have a sense of humor, except for those four people who illegally downloaded the movie. I thought of Seth and James as a comedy team in the tradition of Hope and Crosby or Martin and Lewis, but not as funny. I could see why Seth Rogen could see tht this was a movie that you should see with other people. If you saw it alone, you’d look at it coldly and not laugh too much. Outside of the premise, the movie was lacking inspiration. It’s a movie that is going to be forgotten over the long run. It doesn’t have historical importance for its content. One of the notable things about it is that it has Asian characters, which who don’t see too often in the movies. I don’t know how much effort they putting into their accents, but they could have done more in that area. I can’t recommend that people pay a full price to see “The Interview” in a movie theatre. It’s just not worth it. If you want to pay $5.99 to watch it and make up your minds about it, that would be a pretty good option. I may go to see this movie again to see if a second viewing changes my mind at all. I still have some time on my winter break. I liked seeing Seth Rogen in “Neighbors” more than in this movie. Have I ever liked seeing James Franco in anything? I am not tempted to see “127 Hours” again. “The Interview” was a big, loud movie that needed more thought in its content. I think we needed to see more of what North Korea was really about. We also don’t see what happens in North Korea at the end. I can say truthfully that I don’t listen to Katy Perry. I couldn’t stand what she did with “Yesterday” on that Beatles special earlier this year. I left the theatre not feeling satisfied. I didn’t feel that I was striking a blow for free speech. There was no need for me to buy an advance ticket for this movie because it didn’t attract such a big crowd. I had the satisfaction of being the first person to buy a ticket for it, though. I think this movie has introduced the term “honeypotting” to most people who saw it.  However, there was a movie called “The Honey Pot” with Rex Harrison years ago.  I went out to do some grocery shopping. I returned home to watch “The Big Bang Theory.” I started to watch an episode of Police Story from 1973, but I fell asleep. I saw Tracey Ullman on the Jimmy Kimmel show. She said that she tried Facebook briefly, but someone from her past contacted her, and she didn’t like it. I watched two episodes of Night Gallery. I saw William Shatner, Lee Majors, and Will Geer. The show was moving to 2:30 starting on Thursday. I didn’t think there were enough good episodes for the show to be on the air every weeknight. My DVD of “Looking for Mr. Goodbar” arrived in the mail, but I didn’t feel like watching it in the middle of the night. I am still looking for DVD copies of “The Pedestrian” and “Once in Paris” from the 1970s.  Some of the people who died on December 30 include Robert Boyle (1691), Richard Rodgers (1979), Artie Shaw (2004), and Rona Jaffe (2005).  Today is a birthday for LeBron James (30), Tiger Woods (39), Tracey Ullman (55), Matt Lauer (57), Meredith Vieira (61), Jeff Lynne (67), Patti Smith (68), Michael Nesmith (72), Sandy Koufax (79), and Russ Tamblyn (80).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for December 30, Emerson, Lake and Palmer announced their breakup in 1979.  In 1999, Johnny Moore of the Drifters died on his way to a London hospital after complaining of breathing problems.  Also in 1999, an intruder stabbed George Harrison at Harrison’s home outside London.  In 2002, Diana Ross was arrested for DUI in Tucson, Arizona.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

