This is the End

I listened to the radio overnight and went out to work. We had too much to do with an extra delivery to deal with. I went to a computer after my shift was over and bought some $2 Wednesday A’s tickets, but I couldn’t get tickets to four of the games, much to my disgust. I went out to do my laundry, reading a bit of “Gone with the Wind” as I waited. I saw that the city workers had taken down the Christmas banners from the streets and replaced them. I did not watch the college football game. Instead, I watch the DVD of “This is the End.” The title is something that Jim Morrison sang in a Doors song that was used in “Apocalypse Now.” I would see references to “Rosemary’s Baby” and “The Exorcist” in this movie. The cast included James Franco, Jonah Hill, Seth Rogen, and Jay Baruchel. I also saw Michael Cera, Jason Segel, David Krumholtz, Kevin Hart, Paul Rudd, Channing Tatum, the Backstreet Boys, and McLovin. It seemed like a Judd Apatow reunion. I thought of this movie as the 2013 version of “The Outsiders” with the abundance of male stars. Most of the actors play themselves, or characters that have the same names as themselves. Michael Cera’s appearance was a curious one. Seth Rogen had less facial hair than he had in “The Interview.” I could believe that he would stop at Carl’s Jr. for a burger. Is there always marijuana and ecstasy in his movies? I don’t know why Seth and Jay take a taxi to Franco’s house, which is supposed to be near the Hollywood sign and four blocks away from a convenience store on Melrose Avenue. It must be pretty cool to be part of this group of actor friends, sort of the new version of the cast of “St. Elmo’s Fire.” Emma Watson has a couple of scenes and is amusing, although I thought it would have been better if Emma Stone had been in the movie. Funny how Emma Watson was in this movie, and also “Noah.” I read that the part was originally written or Mila Kunis. Cameron Diaz wasn’t able to appear in the movie, either. The mysterious events reminded me of the Los Angeles that was shown in “Repo Man.” I couldn’t see this movie appealing to many female viewers because there were uncomfortable discussions of rape and masturbation in two scenes. I wished that the screenplay could have departed further from Biblical meanings. Franco, Rogen, and their friends didn’t seem capable of taking care of themselves. They should have tried communicating with their neighbors. I didn’t see if they had a can opener. It sure seemed that they wasted a lot of food. I did not remember Jay Baruchel from “Million Dollar Baby.” To me, he was a voice in “How to Train Your Dragon,” and he’s been in a few other things. I don’t understand why he is a fan of the Montreal Canadiens. I don’t really know who Mindy Kaling is. I thought one of the funnier lines was Danny speculating that the fires were from another riot after a Lakers win. It was also funny when the guys are talking about how Hermione stole their stuff. I don’t know how she could have gone outside into that hellish atmosphere and survived for very long. I personally would not have gone crazy over a Milky Way bar. I would do much more to get a bite of a Snickers bar, however. I wish it was clearer exactly who went to Heaven and who went to Hell. I wondered what happened to George Clooney, Sandra Bullock, and Barack Obama. They checked the Internet and television, but I was surprised that they didn’t have a radio. I have doubts about the lasting quality of this comedy. I rather liked the movie, except that some of my favorites died too quickly. After the disaster hit, we were down to the six principals, Hermione, and the Backstreet Boys. The creatures gave the movie a bit of a Ghostbusters quality. One thing that I learned from this movie is that Seth Rogen and Jonah Hill are different people, because they were in various shots together. Of course, one of them could have been wearing a disguise. I kept wondering whether “Pineapple Express” was successful enough to merit a sequel. It is amazing to me that “This is the End” earned $100 million. It made me feel that I should be able to earn $100 million, too. According to Wikipedia, Anita Ekberg’s funeral Mass will be held tomorrow at the Lutheran-Evangelical Christuskirche in Rome, and then her body will be cremated and buried at the cemetery of Skanör Church in Sweden. Looking at her credits, I didn’t see many of her movies, except “The Alphabet Murders,” “Way…Way Out,” “Woman Times Seven,” and “The Clowns.” I heard that Oregon got to within 21-20 before Ohio State scored three touchdowns. It looked like one of the Ohio State cheerleaders got trampled by the team. I awoke in the middle of the night and watched a Night Gallery episode called “Death in the Family” with E.G. Marshall. It was quite creepy, and I had some difficulty getting back to sleep as I thought about it. The Twilight Zone episode that it reminded me of was “Elegy.” Some of the people who died on January 13 include Wyatt Earp (1929), James Joyce (1941), Ernie Kovacs (1962), Hubert Humphrey (1978), Donny Hathaway (1979), Carol Wayne (1985), Patrick McGoohan (2009), and Teddy Pendergrass (2010). Today is a birthday for Julia Louis-Dreyfus (54) and Rip Taylor (81). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for January 13, Stephen Foster, who wrote such songs as “Oh, Susanna,” “Camptown Races,” “Jeanie with the Light Brown Hair,” “My Old Kentucky Home,” and “Beautiful Dreamer,” died after a head injury in 1864 at age 37. In 1939, “Son of Frankenstein,” which was the last movie to feature Boris Karloff as the Monster and the first with Bela Lugosi as Ygor, was released. In 1989, the last episode in the 13-season run of “Ryan’s Hope” aired on ABC.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

