Black Snake Moan

I walked out to the office and did a bit of work for my class. The elevators were still out of order following the power outage. I noticed a lot of hits on this blog over the course of two hours. I could have stared at the numbers for a long time, but I had to get going with some grocery shopping. I put in six hours of work and watched the Warriors game in Barclay’s until the end of the third quarter. The people there were friendly, although the fans in another area seemed to be reacting to the television a moment ahead of those of us near the entrance. I returned home to watch “Black Snake Moan.” It was an unusual movie with Samuel L. Jackson and Christina Ricci. You’ve got a nymphomaniac crossing paths with a blues musician, but unexpected things happen. Christina Ricci is Rae. She suffers a beating and is dumped onto a road, where someone finds her. That someone is Jackson, or Lazarus. It takes a while for the two to meet in this story, and when they do, hilarity ensues. At least that is the way I reacted to it. Lazarus sees evil in this girl, so he takes the obvious action and chains her to his radiator. I guess she didn’t know what would happen if she tried to run away. When you are intent on saving someone’s soul, you will do just about anything, I guess. I didn’t know how Rae avoided a major injury to her legs. Watching her, I could see how she you use the toilet with the chain, but I don’t know how she put on that dress. This was a wacky demonstration of racial harmony, especially two days after the Martin Luther King holiday. I thought that Rae’s behavior could not be changed so easily. Christina Ricci reminded me of Juliette Lewis, especially when she sang. There is no mention in the movie of whether or not it was based on a true story. Samuel L. Jackson reminded me of his character in “Pulp Fiction.” He was still talking about the Bible. Jackson practiced playing the guitar for this movie, and I thought he did a good job. The blues music in the movie sounded quite good. The credits led me to look up some information about Craig Brewer, the writer and director. He did “Hustle and Flow,” which I did not see, and also the remake of “Footloose,” which I also did not see. I don’t see how an experienced man like Lazarus could take it upon himself to cleanse Rae of her evil ways. He later frees her, which seems contradictory to me. He also starts a romance with the local pharmacist, Angela, but he lies to her. It sure seems that he should not be in charge of anyone else. Christina Ricci goes all out in her performance for this movie. I respect that, but I wondered if she was living in a different world. I wished I hadn’t seen the scene where she confronts her mother. Since this movie, Ricci’s been in “Speed Racer,” but what else after that? She’s going to be 35 years old three weeks from today. “Black Snake Moan” got positive reviews from Richard Roeper and Kevin Smith. On the whole, I liked it, too, but probably not in the way that it was intended. I would say that seeing this movie made me not want to visit Tennessee any time soon. Samuel L. Jackson was born in 1948. The first movie I saw him in was “Ragtime,” in which he played Gang Member No. 2. Gang Member No. 1 was Frankie Faison, by the way. I read through Roger Ebert’s review of “Black Snake Moan” from March 1, 2007. He gave it three starts, and he said it was the oddest, most peculiar movie he’d seen about sex and race and redemption in the Deep South, and maybe the most peculiar recent movie except for “Road House.” This made me more curious about “Road House.” Samuel L. Jackson supposed said that his performance in “Black Snake Moan” was his best. I wonder if he still feels that way. Bill Cosby did a show in Turlock on Sunday, and one woman was outside protesting. I am not very curious about what he talked about in his performance. I did wonder why he was dressed in that sweatshirt. This morning’s news had a report that Jay Leno has spoken out against Cosby. I wonder about Cosby’s state of mind. My father is in his age group. I still heard a lot about Deflategate. Bill Belichick said that he didn’t know anything about the footballs until Monday. I can believe that Belichick doesn’t know every detail about the footballs. I imagine he is preoccupied with strategy. I just want to get to the game. I thought about how long it would take to take to Glendale from here. It seems that I should go to the Super Bowl someday, but maybe it could be next year. I wasn’t thinking about Katy Perry and her halftime show, but I did listen to “Firework” a couple of times, thinking about its place in “The Interview.” If the Super Bowl is as bad as it was last year, then I will be watching only the first half of it. The Flashback Thursday features resume tonight with “Saving Private Ryan.” I don’t feel that I have to see it again. I tried to read more about Will Ferrell and the cheerleader, but I started to have problems with my computer. Whatever Will Farrell’s movie is, it does not look too appealing. I didn’t see any new movies opening this weekend that appealed to me. The Super Bowl isn’t until next weekend. Some of the people who died on January 22 include Lyndon B. Johnson (1973), Telly Savalas (1994), Ann Miller (2004), Heath Ledger (2008), and Jean Simmons (2010). Today is a birthday for Diane Lane (50), Daniel Johnston (54), Linda Blair (56), John Hurt (75), and Piper Laurie (83). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind segment for January 22, Stevie Wonder had the Number One single in 1977, “I Wish.” In 1984, Apple aired its commercial for the Macintosh personal computer during the third quarter of XVIII. In 2008, Heath Ledger was found dead in his New York apartment from an overdose of prescription medication.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

