Snowpiercer

I went to work and put in six hours. I was tired from staying up too late watching “Saving Private Ryan.” My computer didn’t want to accept the Emmylou Harris CDs I bought on Thursday. Back at home, I watched the DVD of “Snowpiercer,” an unusual movie showing the future following a failed attempt to deal with global warming. The world has turned into a frozen sphere, and the only survivors are on board a train called the Snowpiercer that travels around the world. There are all sorts of questions about the feasibility of this, especially concerning the energy consumption. This train has been moving continuously for seventeen years, and the children born on the train don’t know about life outside it. The class system has everyone in the lowest status in the back, and a revolt develops, with the violence moving up one car at a time towards the engine. We see some trees and aquatic life preserved, giving the movie a bit of the feel of “Silent Running.” The idea of setting all this action on a train isn’t the greatest, because we’re stuck inside these cars. I felt almost claustrophobic during the early scenes. We do get a look out the window at the icy world, although the CGI isn’t too convincing. The train certainly didn’t look real. I found the star, Chris Evans, not so memorable. He had a bit of Ben Affleck in him. One of the big names in the cast was John Hurt. His presence brought to my mind his character in “Midnight Express.” Tilda Swinton transforms herself into an official who seemed to step into this movie from “Brazil.” There is a lot of violence in this movie, including a vicious scene with axes. There is a bit of comic relief with one scene showing a school. I wonder where all these people lived. Where did they sleep? It seemed that the energy could have been used better. What would happen to the tracks in this extreme cold, anyway? When I saw cold weather in the news recently, I saw people heating rails with fire. A lot of the characters die, which brings to mind whether they’re killed off for budget reasons. I guess we’re curious about who is at the very front of this machine. It’s like finding out about The Wizard of Oz. In this case, the person behind it all was Ed Harris. I thought he was the most interesting person in the movie. He was the only one who should a sense of humor. I kept wondering why Chris Evans didn’t eat anything, like the egg or the steak. I had to think about how Ed Harris has aged since “The Right Stuff.” I wondered what books were on his bookshelf. There was an explosion that seemed too big for its intent, which reminded me of how Butch Cassidy and his gang used too much dynamite to open a safe in “Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Gang.” It seemed a shame to destroy the train with all the stuff that was in it. There was apparent evidence of a thawing, so maybe it wasn’t the right time for a revolution. The movie ends with an apparently hopeful note. The movie definitely had an interesting quality, although it leaves you skeptical about so many details that you can’t immerse yourself in this world. What happened to all the computers from 2014? The phone that Ed Harris uses has a cord. You’d think that people who have a better long-range plan than riding on a train. I don’t think I like watching an icy cold setting for very long. I didn’t really like that part of “Interstellar,” for example. I’ve never liked watching hockey. It seemed like it was barely a science fiction movie. It made me think of “Silver Streak,” and I wanted to watch that movie again. One of my favorite movies involving a train was “Runaway Train.” I thought that “Snowpiercer” could have used bigger stars in a couple of the key roles. I watched the Partridge Family episode “Star Quality.” Danny had some trouble with some of his lines of dialogue. Laurie looked like she ate a bit of cake, and she commented on the taste. Tracy looked like she couldn’t keep up with the music, which was “Singing My Song.” I also watched the NUMB3RS episode “Take Out,” where the crime was a series of robberies in restaurants. It looked like Megan was hiding her belly by sitting down a lot or holding things in front of her. I don’t think that anyone mentioned Larry at all. I saw Michael Keaton on the Letterman show. I watched a few minutes of Judd Apatow but felt too sleepy. During the night, I heard the news that Ernie Banks had died at age 83. I watched a bit of the Today show. They were talking about snakes, and Erica Hill had a moment of horror with a fake snake. It looked like they spilled some water with this gag. It seemed that everyone was still talking about two things, Deflategate and measles. I guess a lot of people think that Tom Brady is lying. From now on, the footballs should stay in sight after the inspection. I have to wonder about Jim Carrey if he’s one of the people who thinks vaccinations cause autism. The weekend is starting off with good weather, but I feel quite sleepy and unable to take advantage. On Saturday morning, I listen to the Beatles program on 103.9 FM. I’m always surprised at how much Beatles news there is every week. It won’t be long before Ringo Starr comes here. I saw a little bit about Julianne Moore, who said that she got into the movie at age 29. The Hunger Games movie was Number One at the box office in 2014. I think I’ll always remember her in “The Big Lebowski” with that record collection. Some of the people who died on January 24 include Larry Fine (1975), Gordon MacRae (1986), Thurgood Marshall (1993), Chris Penn (2006), and James Farentino (2012). Today is a birthday for Nastassja Kinski (54), Neil Diamond (74), Aaron Neville (74), and Ray Stevens (76). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for January 24, Neil Diamond and Aaron Neville were born in 1941. In 1957, Elvis Presley recorded “(Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear.” In 1969, Jethro Tull played their first U.S. concert at the Fillmore East in New York.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

