Project Almanac

I woke up and watched CBS Sunday Morning. I liked the segment Serena Altschul did on pizza boxes. I was also interested in the interview with Patricia Arquette. She said that her sister Rosanna’s name is mispronounced in the Toto song “Rosanna.” I got a phone call from my mother, and she sounded pessimistic about my brother’s health. I went over to Safeway to buy a pepperoni pizza. I took the bus over to Jack London Square to catch a movie before the football game. “American Sniper” didn’t start until 12:45, so I went with “Project Almanac.” It was one of those stories about time travel gone wrong, like something out of a Ray Bradbury story or The Twilight Zone. The twist is that you have teens in control of the time machine. Instead of Rod Taylor, you’ve got some kids concerned about girlfriends or bullying or chemistry tests. There is some humor to it, because they can’t even do the lottery right. The chemistry test isn’t so easy, either. The science aspect seemed like a lot of nonsense. It certainly was not convincing. This kid was supposed to be a genius to get accepted into MIT. If he was so smart, though, he would have anticipated the problem with paying for tuition. There is something called a student loan, if he bothered to do some investigation. The biggest thing the teens do is go back a few months to Lollapalooza. The fatal mistake is that one of them was awkward in talking with girls. He couldn’t resist going back in time to fix things up, with disastrous consequences. The movie tried to get us to care about things in a way that reminded me of “The Blair Witch Project.” What was similar to that movie was the cheap, handheld camera technique of having a camera capture everything like this was all a documentary. The result was that this was the biggest headache-inducing movie since “Cloverfield.” I could barely look at it after a while, and I closed my eyes for a long time. What I also discovered was that the soundtrack was too intrusive and overbearing and loud. Filmmakers should show us some more consideration. They should at least give us movies that don’t make us sick when we try to watch them. I was so very glad when this movie ended. It was really marginal. It made me appreciate the old time movies more than ever. It was about two o’clock when I left the theatre, and I walked outside to wait for the 72 bus. I got home just in time to catch the kickoff. The first quarter went by very quickly as I put the pizza into the oven. The Patriots looked like they were in control of the game, but the Seahawks managed a touchdown with time running out in the second quarter to tie the score. I was curious about what Katy Perry’s performance would be like. I thought the beach balls and sharks were kind of strange, and “Firework” is now always going to remind me of James Franco in “The Interview.” Lenny Kravitz and Missy Elliot as guest performers didn’t impress me. Madonna would have impressed me. It seemed that since the Seahawks had a 10-point lead after three quarters, they should have won. We are always going to question why they decided to pass on second down at the one-yard line. I don’t know why the play had to go to the middle of the field. I was wrong in the prediction that I gave to my mother about the game. I listened to Robert Hilburn’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Times program on KCSN. He played some songs from last year’s Bob Dylan Basement Tapes reissue. I liked “You Win Again” and “A Fool Such as I.” Hilburn said that he was planning a trip to the UK to research his book on Paul Simon. I fell asleep while watching the Columbo episode “A Stitch in Crime” with Leonard Nimoy. It all came down to a bit of trickery that Nimoy tried at the end that didn’t quite fool Columbo. I watched the news and the sports highlights. I can see how Seattle fans could be so upset with that fateful play. What we heard a lot about in our local news is that next year’s Super Bowl will be in Santa Clara on February 7. John Taylor was around to watch the game and talk about next year. I’d like to know who will do the halftime show. I finished listening to the Gui recording of Mozart’s The Marriage of Figaro. It was the work of a musical genius. Katy Perry can be a good entertainer, but she is not a musical genius. I have to give credit to Tom Brady for being a winner. He did what Peyton Manning couldn’t do last year. I guess when the game is close, you should go with the team with the better quarterback. I wonder what Katy Petty thinks of Russell Wilson now. What happened with Richard Sherman’s pregnant girlfriend? Now that football season is over, I can go back to baseball. I have FanFest next Sunday. The weather forecasters are predicting rain for next weekend, which is unpleasant. I heard reports of a possible second BART tunnel to be constructed in the future. By the time all these things are finished, I’ll be dead. “American Sniper” was the top movie of the weekend, followed by “Paddington” and “Project Almanac.” It wasn’t a good week for new releases. The Flashback Feature on Thursday night will be “Ghostbusters,” which I’ve already seen too many times. I think I’d rather see “Stripes” again, or “Groundhog Day” or “What About Bob?” I would see any Bill Murray movie that Wes Anderson directed. I’m not sure that I would see any Dan Aykroyd movie other than “The Blues Brothers.” I watched “Mission: Impossible.” The team is always in some foreign country where everyone is stupid, and they all have to speak in fake accents. Some of the people who died on February 2 include Boris Karloff (1969), Sid Vicious (1979), Alistair MacLean (1987), Bert Parks (1992), Donald Pleasence (1995), and Gene Kelly (1996). Today is a birthday for Christie Brinkley (61), Graham Nash (73), Tommy Smothers (78), and Liz Smith. According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for February 2, Boris Karloff died of pneumonia at age 81 in 1969. In 1972, “A Clockwork Orange” was released. In 1974, Barbra Streisand’s “The Way We Were” was the Number One single.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

