The Internship

I wasn’t feeling too good about having to go back to work on a Monday. I was imagining that Pete Carroll was feeling worse, however. I worked hard for five hours and then went home to eat my leftover pizza. I watched “The Internship,” which was far from a great movie, although it did make me laugh several times. The cut that I saw was called the unrated version. I assumed it was because it had some nudity in it. I could sympathize with the plight of the Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson characters, because I constantly wonder when my employment will end because of technology. This pair of fools start out as watch salesmen, but they find themselves out of a job. They decide to try to get jobs with Google. I found it hard to believe that Owen could actually start catching on to all this material. I did find the Quidditch scene kind of amusing, though it didn’t really compare to the football scene in “M*A*S*H” years ago. The only actors I recognized were Vince Vaughn, Owen Wilson, Rose Byrne, and Will Ferrell. A couple of those early scenes where Vince and Owen showed what they didn’t know were more painful than funny. The bulk of the movie is a contest between groups of interns. The whole thing reminded me of “Revenge of the Nerds,” except that all of the groups were made up of nerds. The young people were supposed to be cynical about their job prospects, while the older guys were loose with more life experience. Owen seemed kind of old to be going through the courtship routine with Rose. She is capable of being very funny. I didn’t quite picture her as a Google employee, however. One of the things that Vince talked about that I found funny was “Deliverance.” It was tasteless, but I had to laugh. Back in the days of “Wedding Crashers,” this comedy combination had greater appeal. There was something uncomfortable about the view of Google as a promised land. One of the good things that the employees were getting was the free food. I’d probably enjoy the pudding, too, if I could get it for free. Vince and Owen get stuck with the group of misfits, naturally, and they have virtually no chance to win this competition. I think I said I also saw this in “Monsters University.” Obviously, we aren’t supposed to worry about realism or believability in this story. It’s about watching our two heroes realize their dreams. Well, first we have to accept them as our heroes the first place. That’s not so easy because Vince screws up constantly and Owen is hard to take seriously. I stare at his nose a lot whenever I see him in a movie. When I see him struggling with a computer, I think back on him and Ben Stiller trying to figure out how to turn on the Apple computer in “Zoolander.” Their behavior regresses to the ape stage as the 2001 theme plays on the soundtrack. Somehow, after Vince talked about the Jennifer Beals character in “Flashdance,” I knew that the theme song would play a part later in this movie. I thought back on the Irene Cara of 1983. I never thought that she was any kind of an exceptional singer, but she is inspiring compared to the music I’m hearing in 2015. “The Internship” was so terribly predictable that I could imagine the actors in it cringing during the filming. By the way, the filming was in Georgia. I guess that was done for production costs. There was a scene with the Golden Gate Bridge in the background, however. A weird person in the background becomes important, sort of like something I saw in “Real Genius.” I had to question all along whether two guys like Vince and Owen could really stick with the computers and this new world of working with young people. The movie was too light and too formulaic. You’ve seen this done before. The path of this movie is something we’ve seen in movies from the days of Frank Capra. I found it hard to believe that Vince and Owen didn’t know who Professor X was. I guess they just had to look goofy at one point. Well, the movie was not something great, but it has some amusing things in it. The unrated version was too strong for kids, and the regular theatrical version was rated PG-13. The disc comes with an audio commentary, which I didn’t think I wanted to hear. I watched two episodes of The Big Bang Theory. One of them was about Amy ruining “Raiders of the Lost Ark” for Sheldon. The second episode had Penny with an injured arm, and the rest of the gang out in the desert to observe a meteor shower. They eat some cookies baked by two women who were Grateful Dead fans. I saw something like this in a Barney Miller episode. I watched the beginning of “2 Broke Girls.” I wondered how Garrett Morris felt about his role in the show. I got sleepy while listening to the news. Winter nights are so tiring, and I can never get enough sleep. I awoke three times during the night. I heard more news about the spread of measles and the winter storm. I had a long day to prepare for a lecture. I thought about how good it would be to have a peaceful and quiet lunch. I had a book about Ingmar Bergman that I thumbed through, but it was too much to sit down and read through it. Some of the people who died on February 3 include Woodrow Wilson (1924), Buddy Holly (1959), Richie Valens (1959), John Cassavetes (1989), Nancy Kulp (1991), Audrey Meadows (1996), Al Lewis (2006), Maria Schneider (2011), and Ben Gazzara (2012). Today is a birthday for Morgan Fairchild (65), Bob Griese (70), Blythe Danner (72), and Fran Tarkenton (75). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for February 3, The Beatles began recording “Lady Madonna” in 1968. In 1978, Harry Chapin met with President Jimmy Carter at the White House to discuss the Presidential Commission on World Hunger. In 1979, the Blues Brothers reached Number One on the Billboard album chart with “Briefcase Full of Blues.” In 1983, ABC aired the last episode of “The Greatest American Hero.”

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

