Jeff, Who Lives at Home

I went over to the office and looked over the problems I wanted to cover in my exam review. I listened to the remastered Beatles white album. George Harrison’s wailing at the end of “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” sounded clearly than I could remember from the past. It made me realize that I should completely stop listening to my 1987 CDs. There is so much that I am not hearing on those old discs, and I think that are actually deteriorating. I had my lunch and watched “Jeff, Who Lives at Home.” It was a small movie filmed in Louisiana, and Jason Segel played the main character. It looked like he smoked too much pot and had no direction to his life. It seems that Jason’s face has gotten fatter over the years. I couldn’t sympathize with Jeff’s plight. A phone call causes him to fixate on the name Kevin, which gets him into trouble. I can’t get behind someone whose thought process is so much of a mess. I was getting some of the feeling of Alan Rudolph, a director I didn’t like years ago. Susan Sarandon if Jeff’s mother. She is off at work and has an eventful day there. Susan shows that she is still pretty good at acting. Rae Dawn Chong is a co-worker. I kept thinking that the Rae Dawn Chong I remembered looked different from this woman. The movie that was so important to Jeff was M. Night Shyamalan’s “Signs,” which I have never seen, so of course I haven’t seen it two, three, or four times as Jeff has. I would question the sanity of anyone who would see a movie by M. Night Shyamalan so many times, in fact. I would also have to question the judgment of anyone who would take a hit from a bong before doing anything to start the day. The biggest laugh that I got from the movie was the Porsche running into the tree. I kept thinking that it was a shame to damage the car to make this movie. I thought the Kevin Kandy truck looked fake because it looked clean. Trucks that get driven around don’t have that pristine look. I could relate to the sadness that everyone in this movie is going through, but I thought that the movie was too soft. It doesn’t penetrate that marijuana haze that is fogging up Jeff’s mind. It’s like watching the lazy side of Seth Rogen. I wondered how much work Susan was getting done in her cubicle. She was spending a lot of energy reading messages and making personal calls. Maybe her sons inherited one of her traits. The ending seemed like it was too much of a dream and a fantasy. I wasn’t convinced that the good feeling would last very long. Jeff was too much like one of my own brothers for me to feel comfortable watching him. The movie is pretty agreeable and interesting to watch, if not especially inspiring. I liked watching Susan Sarandon. The men behind this movie were Jay and Mark Duplass, who also made “Cyrus” with John C. Reilly, Jonah Hill, and Marisa Tomei. What I remember about that one was John C. Reilly’s karaoke rendition of the Human League’s “Don’t You Want Me.” I don’t think the Duplass brothers are going to reach the level of the Coen brothers. I wonder who went to see “The Do-Deca-Pentathlon,” because it looked like it brought in only $10,000 at the box office. Jay is going to be 42 next month. I think I liked Jason Segel the best in “I Love You, Man.” For Susan Sarandon, it was “Atlantic City.” For Rae Dawn Chong, it was “Quest for Fire.” I don’t remember what she did in “Commando” or “The Color Purple.” It’s easy to be critical of what other people do, but I thought about what I could do with the same cast. Could I squeeze anything more out of these actors? It seems that I would have to go out and also get someone like Paul Rudd, Seth Rogen, or James Franco to complement Segel. It looked dangerous to have two stars of the movie dive into the water. It looked like they destroyed two cars in the making of this movie. It appeared that ticket sales were less than the cost of the movie. That would have been so discouraging to me if I had been the director. I don’t know how show business people can continue to go out there and try to make a living. I thought some more about writing that martial arts story. Someone already beat to the Kung Fu Panda concept, so I’ll have to come up with something else. What is the greatest martial arts movie of all time? Where is there an interesting island for the action to take place? It’s too bad that Raquel Welch, Diana Rigg, Pam Grier, and Ursula Andress have aged, because I would have loved to put them all in an action movie. I suppose the concept has already been done with the Charlie’s Angels movies with Drew Barrymore. John Saxon said that doing “Enter the Dragon” was tough, and he was glad when it was over. He didn’t want to do back to do another martial arts movie after that experience. I’m not too sure about my taking lessons at my age. I might snap in two like a toothpick. John Saxon is going to turn 80 soon. Jim Kelly died of cancer at age 67 on June 29, 2013. I was reluctant to get out of bed and start preparing for a lecture. I didn’t have food in the refrigerator. I heard the news that Bob Simon of CBS had died. Some of the people who died on February 12 include Sal Mineo (1976), Jean Renoir (1979), Eubie Blake (1983), Screamin’ Jay Hawkins (2000), David Groh (2008), Betty Garrett (2011), and Kenneth Mars (2011). Today is a birthday for Arsenio Hall (59), Michael McDonald (63), Judy Blume (77), and Joe Garagiola (89). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for February 12, “Dracula” with Bela Lugosi premiered in New York in 1931. In 1976, Sal Mineo at age 37 was stabbed to death in the alley behind in apartment building in West Hollywood. In 2000, Screamin’ Jay Hawkins died at age 70 after surgery to treat an aneurysm.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

