Jobs

I prepared for a class by reviewing notes. I read messages about Billy Wilder, whose films are showing at Pacific Film Archive. I gave my lecture, which lasted two hours, and I spoke with the security guard about The Big Bang Theory and “Soft Kitty.” I took the bus home and watched some television before browsing through the record store. I bought Paul McCartney’s “Red Rose Speedway” album and the DVD set of the fifth season of The Sopranos. I didn’t feel like going out to Flashback Night and “Moulin Rouge!” Instead, I watch the DVD of “Jobs,” the movie about Steve Jobs with Ashton Kutcher. I don’t know if the portrayal was accurate, but Jobs sure seemed to be an unlikable turd. He screamed at people and took the enjoyment out of everything. Somehow, he reminded me of Tom Cruise. I wondered what Woz did besides some soldering. I wonder how any woman could stand his presence. One of the questions you have to ask is whether Steve Jobs really was a genius. From the case that this movie makes, it seems that he was less a genius than just a man who worked hard. Some of the cast members were pretty interesting. J.K. Simmons is a hard-nosed businessman, but Jobs is scarier than he is, which is rather funny in light of “Whiplash.” I don’t think I’ve seen Lesley Ann Warren in anything in years. Matthew Modine is a publicity man from comes over from Pepsi. James Woods also makes an appearance. Do we really want to know about the power struggles within Apple? Jobs was acting like Michael Cimino making “Heaven’s Gate,” running up costs and gaining enemies. How can you sympathize with this guy for getting the boot when he’s so obnoxious and he’s still rich? I kept thinking about what the work atmosphere and the morale must have been like. What would technological products have been like if he never existed? One thing I noticed what that Joe Walsh’s “Life’s Been Good” was in the story during the wrong year. It also seemed strange to hear Cat Stevens’ “Peace Train” in the beginning. Aston Kutcher was kind of interesting, but he did the same thing for two hours. Maybe that’s what Steve Jobs was really like, but then if that’s the case, he wasn’t the ideal subject for a movie. Can a movie about computers really be anything great? I have questions about that after “The Social Network” and “The Imitation Game.” What really puzzled me was his judgment about his own health. We don’t see his last days on Earth. If we see the relentless and angry Steve Jobs, then it seems that we should also see the sick and dying Steve Jobs, too. I wouldn’t recommend this movie to other people. It made me feel nothing. I don’t care about Apple or anything it’s ever made. Technology since television has been destroying human minds, anyway. Everybody has turned into an idiot because they’re staring at their phones. It’s worse than television because they never take a break from their phones. Instead of praising Steve Jobs for these products, we should be blaming him for them. Getting people what they want isn’t necessarily a great thing. There was a scene where Jobs talks with Bill Gates on the phone, and he screams that he’ll sue Gates for everything he has. I’m not sure if I wanted to see a movie about Steve Jobs in the first place. I don’t identify with people like him. I’m more like the losers and the forgotten people. The women weren’t important in the Apple story. I saw some women in the background applauding Apple’s triumphs. I think they should have showed something about the relationship between father and daughter. I wanted to know how Jobs went from his high school girlfriend to his wife. The world of this movie was so unreal and isolated from real people. What about showing us some ordinary people? There were huge chunks of explanation missing. I could do without seeing another movie about computers for a long time. In fact, I don’t want technology or any great American businessman. I don’t think I should be celebrating the success of these people who made vast fortunes. They got their reward during their lifetimes. They don’t need me. I had to wonder if the acid trip affected Steve Jobs’ mind permanently. I wondered what kind of a place Reed College was. If Jobs wasn’t paying tuition, it seemed that he was wasting his time with classes, especially calligraphy. I fell asleep for a while, but I watched the news, and then I saw Tom Hanks on the Letterman show. His musical guest was Sturgill Simpson. On the Jimmy Kimmel show, I saw Keira Knightley, who talked about the drinking age. I didn’t want to hear her saying that teenagers should be allowed to drink. Tom Hanks mentioned Ron Howard and “Splash.” Hanks kicked Fonzie in one early career TV appearance. Hanks predicted what Dave’s retirement would be like. He said that Dave would walk around while eating. He said that he got a C+ in typing class, while Dave said that he failed. I thought Dave was tired of the show. He’s been on television for long enough. I heard a lot this morning about tax refund fraud. It’s so easy to get that money illegally. I wasted time with slow Internet this morning. I definitely want that Net neutrality. I was a very hungry person. I had to work on a self-evaluation, which seemed completely worthless to me. Some of the people who died on February 13 include Richard Wagner (1883), David Janssen (1980), Martin Balsam (1996), Waylon Jennings (2002), and Dale Hawkins (2010). Today is a birthday for Henry Rollins (54), Peter Gabriel (65), Stockard Channing (71), Jerry Springer (71), Peter Tork (73), George Segal (81), Kim Novak (82), and Chuck Yeager (92). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for February 13, the movie “Funny Face,” with Audrey Hepburn and Fred Astaire, was released in 1957. In 1987, the movie “Mannequin,” with Kim Cattrall and Andrew McCarthy, was released in 1987. In 2004, astronomers announce the discovery of a white dwarf that was the largest diamond in the galaxy, and thus nicknamed Lucy.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

