Song of the Sea

I awoke early and watched the chef who visited the CBS This Morning show. George Mendes brought some of his signature recipes: marinated grilled pork tenderloin, seared scallops with apple-watercress sauce, brussels sprouts with quince and bacon, warm smashed potatoes, heirloom tomato salad with black olives and herbs, and cinnamon-sugar “doughnuts.” I checked the American Top 40 playlist for the weekend. The Top 10 songs from February 18, 1978 were “How Deep is Your Love,” “Baby Come Back,” “Short People,” “Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah),” “Emotion,” “Sometimes When We Touch,” “We Are the Champions,” “Just the Way Your Are,” “(Love is) Thicker Than Water,” and “Stayin’ Alive.” I took the bus over to the downtown movie theatre that was showing “Song of the Sea.” It was a tale of women who could change form and unhappiness within a family. I could relate to the girl who didn’t say anything. He had a brother who teased her. Her name was Saoirse, and she had a couple of unpleasant surprises for her sixth birthday. The family lives in a lighthouse, which doesn’t seem like the right place for young children. They had a big shaggy dog that acted like the smartest dog that ever lived. The animation looked great, not looking like it came from a computer. The young girl, the sea, and the animals all looked quite beautiful. I liked the imaginative art. I got pleasure out of just watching the movie. I wish the story hadn’t been so predictable. I knew what was going to happen to the family right from the start. This movie doesn’t try to be daring. The look of the film was memorable and was worth looking at several times. The dog stood out in my mind, too. He was one of those loyal dogs that couldn’t stand separation and would swim the ocean to get back together with his friend. The grandmother seemed like she was right about the safety of the kids when Saoirse nearly drowned. I would think that a child like Ben would actually have a lot of fun in the city, wandering around like a little rascal. The film attracted a pretty good paying audience, and they seemed to like it a lot. It was a refreshing change from the normal animation. It was more emotion and less music. It seemed that there was only one tune, in fact. When you’re young, a seashell is something magical. Someone told me that from the trailer, the movie seemed overly busy in its visuals. I didn’t think that was the case, and I think the film might be looked at as a kid of classic. I thought the story element with all the magic and the box at the bottom of the sea was a bit too much, but then every film has its imperfections. I kept thinking that if Ben was brought up to the surface too quickly, he might get the bends. I went home feeling tired but pretty happy. I turned on the television to catch the Big Bang Theory episode with Sheldon facing off against Wil Wheaton in a card game which was not poker. I will always associate the Enchanted Bunny with this episode. I kept wondering why Sheldon’s mother allowed him to take a 10-hour bus ride to get Wil Wheaton’s autograph in 1995. I also wondered how Wil Wheaton could be Sheldon’s idol. When it was time for the Bakersfield comic book convention, Sheldon dressed up as Data. Sheldon said “Revenge is a dish best served cold” in Klingon, and Wil Wheaton understood him. Sheldon was so caught up in emotion that he was applying The Wrath of Khan quotes to The Next Generation. I watched Batman battle False Face. He was perhaps the least interesting villain in the run of the series. Gary Owens made a brief appearance as a TV announcer. What I couldn’t understand was how the video looked like old and faded film, with scratches and dirt. The Wonder Woman episode had John Saxon and Debra Winger in it. Drusilla said she liked ice cream, but it looked like it had melted. Star Trek featured Ricardo Montalban in “Space Seed.” The Botany Bay supposedly had been built in the 1990s, during the time of World War III. I read one chapter of “Gone with the Wind” and wondered what happened to Rhett Butler. Scarlett hired a driver named Archie who had a mysterious past. He was mean and smelly, which means that he is like many of the people who hang around my block. KQED had “The Last Time I Saw Paris.” The cast included Van Johnson, Elizabeth Taylor, Walter Pidgeon, Donna Reed, Eva Gabor, and Roger Moore. It had a scene at a horse race. I thought that Liz seemed like an ordinary girl who might have been fun to be around. Donna Reed seemed self-conscious and stiff. I found it hard to believe in her as a prostitute in “From Here to Eternity.” I listened to Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me at midnight. Lance Bass was a guest on the show, and he didn’t seem too smart with his first two answers. I don’t think his years in show business taught him very much. I think I heard two references to Brian Williams during the show. They also talked about smart TVs that spy on you. I don’t think I heard anything about Kanye West. I thought back on the day. The absence of Wi-Fi for a couple of hours put a wrench into my plans. I heard that Stephen Curry won the three-point shooting contest, with Klay Thompson finishing third. Benedict Cumberbatch got married on Valentine’s Day. Now I’m suspicious of him. I listened to the radio during the night. I was hearing too much about “Fifty Shades of Grey.” Some of the people who died on February 15 include Vernon Castle (1918), Nat King Cole (1965), Wally Cox (1973), Ethel Merman (1984), Richard Feynman (1988), and Howard K. Smith (2002). Today is a birthday for Conor Oberst (35), Matt Groening (61), Melissa Manchester (64), and Jane Seymour (64). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for February 15, The Beatles in 1964 became the first-ever act with five songs in the Top 100, with “I Want to Hold Your Hand,” “I Saw Her Standing There,” “She Loves You,” “Please Please Me,” and “My Bonnie.” In 1969, Sly and the Family Stone had the Number One song, “Everyday People.” In 1975, Linda Ronstadt had the Number One single, “You’re No Good.” In 1986, Whitney Houston’s Number One song was “How Will I Know.”

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

