Golden State Warriors 110, San Antonio Spurs 99

So that I wouldn’t fall asleep before “The Bold Ones: The Senator” come on, I watched the Partridge Family episode “Why Did the Music Stop?” The guest was Richard Mulligan. I saw Laurie peeling potatoes but not eating. I also watched the NUMB3RS episode “Democracy.” After I finished watching my programs, I got maybe two hours of sleep before I woke up and got ready to go to work. I got through the day without experiencing too much trouble, and it was a payday, so it was a good day. I stopped to have a turkey burger before I went home. I went to the record store and bought used copies of the Beatles albums “Please Please Me” and “Yellow Submarine.” I renewed my Raiders season ticket on the day the news reported a plan for the Raiders and Chargers to share a stadium in Carson. I took a nap, which I really needed. I took the bus out to the BART station and went to the Coliseum station. One of the scalpers recognized me and said hello. A person with a cart offered to drive me and four other people to the Oracle Arena. It was a great ride, quite a bit of fun. I got in line to get into the arena. I checked the team store, and their special item of the day was a Chinese New Year shirt. Since it cost $50, I didn’t buy one. I took my seat and watched Ruby Lopez and Franco Finn. Ruby had a video showing how to make a banana dessert. Some of the ingredients were cinnamon, blackberries, and raspberries. The Warriors scored the first eight points of the game, but the Spurs came back. They hung in there to take the lead, and they were ahead at the end of the first quarter, 29-27. Stephen Curry would show how great a player he was by making key shots and pushing the team to take the lead at halftime, 62-55. The team appeared to play with more energy and spirit after Curry was hit with a technical foul. The halftime show was a group of kids performing martial arts moves. A little kid impressed the crowd. The second half showed the Spurs’ road weariness. They missed shots and didn’t get to rebounds. The third quarter was decisive, as it ended with the score 89-68. The Spurs were not going to score 21 more points than the Warriors in one quarter, so there was plenty of garbage time. The fans were happy to see a win over the Spurs, who have been a problem for the Warriors for so many seasons. The final score was 110-99. Some of the things we saw during the game were shooting contests for $10,000, a pair of twins being named the season ticket holders of the game, dancing from the Jr. Jam Squad, a shooting contest for a television as a prize, and a Peet’s Coffee parachute drop. There were no marriage proposals or Flying W’s. For some reason, people in my row didn’t want to leave, and so after waiting a few minutes, I stepped into another row on my way out. The Warriors cheerleaders continued to dance away happily. I thought about the players. Stephen Curry showed his value to a winning team. Klay Thompson made some mistakes and missed some shots, and David Lee still looked rusty. Curry picked up the team at moments that counted. The trophy he won for three-point shooting was on display in the arena. There was a traffic jam on the BART bridge with all the people selling bacon-wrapped hot dogs, churros, T-shirts, beanies, and beer. We just wanted to get past them and board a train home. That train got very crowded because people returning from the symphony got on board. A woman near me talking about taking a trip to New York during this cold spell. She went into too much detail over what clothes she would have to wear. People in California do not own clothing for real winter weather. I overheard two young people discussing Chopin. One of the music fans asked me what happened at the Warriors game. One of the station agents was missing from his place, so I didn’t have anyone to share my news with. I got on the 1 bus back home. I didn’t go out for late night pizza. I heard the news about the resolution of the port labor dispute. I watched the kid scientists on the Letterman show. I saw Jimmy Fallon playing Pictionary with Kevin Bacon. I listened to some music before watching a bit of “I Spy” and taking a shower. Bill Cosby befriended a young girl who had memorized a list of war criminals. It is so uncomfortable to watch Bill Cosby and wonder what he was like as a young man. I watched “The Bold Ones: The Senator.” His aide was in trouble, getting named in a controversial article. I liked Hal Holbrook years ago. I wished the television station would show programs like this at a more reasonable time. The quality of the video also wasn’t very good. I had a lot of tasks to complete over this weekend when I have been so tired. I saw a video of a frozen Hudson River on the news. The stadium in Santa Clara was being prepared for a hockey game. The Sharks and the Kings tried out the rink and said the atmosphere was unusual. I slept through part of CBS This Morning but caught their discussion of the Oscars. They were predicting wins for “Birdman,” Eddie Redmayne, Julianne Moore, J.K. Simmons, and Patricia Arquette. Lucinda Williams was the musical guest, and I thought she looked tired. She needs more sleep, just like me. I heard more news about the mission to Mars. The DJ on the Beatles morning program reminded me about George Harrison’s birthday. I would acknowledge the day by listening to “Here Comes the Sun” and the “All Things Must Pass” album. Some of the people who died on February 21 include Hieronymus Bock (1554), Malcolm X (1965), and Margot Fonteyn (1991). Today is a birthday for Ellen Page (28), Kelsey Grammer (60), Tyne Daly (69), Anthony Daniels (69), and Alan Rickman (69). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for February 21, Paul Simon had the Number One hit “50 Ways to Leave Your Lover” in 1976. In 1981, Dolly Parton’s Number One single was “9 to 5.” In 1990, Milli Vanilli won a Grammy for Best New Artist.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

