Hot Tub Time Machine 2

I awoke and watched CBS Sunday Morning. I saw a winter keeper who has been working at Yellowstone since 1973. He gets asked about the movie “The Shining” a lot. One segment showed the use of robots at the De Young Museum. There was also a tribute to Leonard Nimoy. I got a call from my mother. She talked about the Academy Awards. She said that she did not recognize anyone on the show. I went on to Safeway, where I bought blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, and chicken. I took the bus out to Jack London Square, where I went to see “Hot Tub Time Machine 2.” It was quite a bad movie. I guess if John Cusack didn’t appear in it, it wasn’t going to be any good. The attempts at humor were quite terrible, although the woman to my right laughed a lot. She was the only one in the theatre who was laughing at all. The only scene that was the slightest bit funny was the game show hosted by Christian Slater. The only two other people in the movie I recognized were Lisa Loeb and Chevy Chase. This is going to be one of the worst movies of the year. The only life it had was at the end, when the gang went back to various points in history. We didn’t really get to see any of it, though. In imitation of the Back to the Future series, we saw time travel into the future in this sequel. The most exciting development in technology was the self-driving car. If it ever appears in movies of the future, it will be the death of the car chase sequence in movies. I’m not sure we’ll see much nostalgia for the 1980s in the future, but then you never know. “Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go” will still be funny ten years from now. I’m going to predict that there will be no third Hot Tub Time Machine movie. We saw in this one a script that was devoid of any ideas, even given six years to come up with something. One of the character getting shot was not the way to start a movie. It might be funny in a Quentin Tarantino movie, but no one here had the right touch to make things amusing. When you go out to see a movie this bad, the highlight of the experience is the popcorn. This movie made “Project Almanac” seem like a masterpiece. I tried to remember the TV series “The Time Tunnel.” It made me tired to sit in my seat waiting for the movie to end. I went out to the bus stop. The bus took me back home before four. I heard the news of the Warriors’ comeback against the Celtics. They were behind by 26 points in the second quarter but eventually won. They certainly are playing like they can win a championship. I listened to Robert Hilburn’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Times program on KCSN. He played parts of the soundtracks of “Inherent Vice,” “The Long Riders,” and “Gone Girl.” I watched the Larry David segment of 60 Minutes. He had fans waiting for him to sign some autographs. I’ll give him credit for continuing to be funny through all the years. I finished reading “Gone with the Wind.” Margaret Mitchell was a good writer, but I wouldn’t say that she was a great artist. I was surprised at how much of it dealt with the Civil War and the hard times of Reconstruction. The marriage to Rhett Butler came very late in the book. There was a lot more death than I remember in the movie. We see Scarlett’s troubles in great detail. She goes through all sorts of ups and downs. We get a picture of her poverty and fear. Also, we see the Ku Klux Klan in the South, with Scarlett’s husband getting involved. I felt that I had a fuller view of what this story of Scarlett O’Hara was about. I didn’t always like it, especially the racial angle. Now I am going to try to read another novel I decided I need to read before I die, Leo Tolstoy’s “War and Peace.” I watched part of the Me TV tribute to Leonard Nimoy. He was in episodes of Columbo, The Twilight Zone, The Man from U.N.C.L.E., Mission: Impossible, and Get Smart. He was a surgeon in the Columbo episode “A Stitch in Crime.” I didn’t see that his character had a strong enough motive for murder, though. Getting away with it would be too difficult. It came down to a last bit of attempted trickery. The Twilight Zone episode was set in World War II. William Shatner was also in the episode of The Man from U.N.C.L.E. Werner Klemperer was in it, too. The Shatner and Nimoy characters did not meet. Lesley Ann Warren and Sam Elliott were in the cast of Mission: Impossible. Lesley could have had her hair styled. Nimoy was a hostage, and a face mask and death drug were part of the plot. There was no tape recording that self-destructed at the beginning of the episode. In Get Smart, Nimoy was an assassin named Stryker with a gun in his briefcase. I thought the video was speeded up. The opening credit sequence went too fast. There was a problem with the sharpness of the images. It looked like everyone was made out of LEGO blocks. Smart had to pose as a pool player. Nimoy made the mistake of not reloading the gun in his briefcase at the end. I felt like watching “The Wrath of Khan” and “Invasion of the Body Snatchers” again. I heard that “Focus” was the top movie at the box office during the weekend. “Kingsman” was holding steady at Number Two, while “Fifty Shades of Grey” was Four, and “McFarland, USA” was Five. I am predicting that “Focus” will have a severe drop-off next weekend. I am not shocked that people are still going out to see “Kingsman.” I saw a preview of “Insurgent,” which did not appeal to me. I cannot see Miles Teller the same way after “Whiplash.” Some of the people who died on March 2 include D.H. Lawrence (1930), Charlie Christian (1942), Philip K. Dick (1982), Sandy Dennis (1992), and Dusty Springfield (1999). Today is a birthday for Chris Martin (38), Daniel Craig (47), and Laraine Newman (63).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

