Cinderella

I watched CBS This Morning. I got a reminder that it was Pi Day. It seemed that Vinita Nair didn’t like mathematics. I watched the chef segment. Curtis Stone’s favorite dishes included grilled rib-eye steak with avocado chimichurri, peas with rosemary parmesan cream, buttered buns, ricotta fritters with quick mixed berry jam, and pineapple-lime margaritas. At the office, I looked up the playlist for this weekend’s American Top 40 radio program. The Top 10 songs on March 19, 1977 were “Go Your Own Way,” “Don’t Leave Me This Way,” “Don’t Give Up on Us,” “Torn Between Two Lovers,” “I Like Dreamin’,” “Dancing Queen,” “Night Moves,” “Rich Girl,” “Fly Like an Eagle,” and “Love Theme from A Star is Born (Evergreen).” I was informed of my brother’s life insurance. If he gave me money, I’d use it to pay off my student loan and buy new eyeglasses. The supervisor asked me if I wanted to work extra hours, but I was tired and weak. I worked my shift with a persistent cough. I blew my nose with a lot of tissues and ducked into the bathroom many times. When my time was up, I dropped off my stuff at home and went to CVS to buy some cold medicine and shampoo. I waited for the 1 bus, and I barely made my connection to get to the Grand Lake Theater. I went there to catch the 4:30 showing of “Cinderella.” These Disney versions of fairy tales have made for some decent movies in recent years. I liked this one less than the Snow White and Sleeping Beauty films, mostly because of the main character. Cinderella is more of a do-gooder than an Osmond. She does look pretty, especially in her blue dress, but even when she gets ash on her face, she looks clean. We get the story of Cinderella’s father. It doesn’t spoil the plot to say that he has to die to put his daughter in that difficult spot. The prince has a bland personality. I didn’t see any wit or sense of humor. If he took the SAT, he’d have to go to community college. The king is Derek Jacobi, who brought back faint memories of “I, Claudius.” He also reminded me of John Gielgud. He was old and dying. The fairy godmother was Helena Bonham Carter, who didn’t really look like herself, but she brought humor and energy to the movie. The scene that was the most fun to watch was the transformation of the pumpkin, mice, lizards, and the goose. When the magic wore off at midnight, I wondered why the glass slippers didn’t disappear. The temporary nature of the magic seemed like a poor reflection on the fairy godmother. Cate Blanchett was the stepmother. I could not see how Cinderella’s father could marry her. She was motivated to improve her daughter’s lives, making her not totally evil. She was completely delusional if she really thought either of her daughters could attract the prince’s attention. Cinderella sure took her time getting to the ball. It’s like she was intentionally late to attract attention. I don’t know how glass slipper could be comfortable. She was wearing them without any socks. Did Cinderella have clean feet when she put them on? I thought you’d be able to see some condensation from the warm feet. Doesn’t glass get scratched? If Cinderella could run that huge distance back to the carriage before the last stroke of midnight, she could have won a gold medal at the London Olympics. When the magic wears off, the pumpkin carriage is speeding down the road. It was a miracle that Cinderella didn’t break her neck. The scene in which the prince sees that Cinderella’s foot fits the glass slipper was not so dramatic. I felt impatient watching it. The movie wasn’t quite so magical that it kept the girls in front of me from getting up to buy something to eat. The audience seemed generally pleased with it in the end. It got a bit of applause, although we didn’t get the announcement that Cinderella and the prince lived happily ever after. I assumed that the marriage eventually hit the doldrums, and there were some infidelities. If the prince could fall in love instantly, he must have been a superficial fool. After the first baby, he would start looking at other women. He said that he was still learning things. He was immature. I stayed around until the names of the cast members appeared during the end credits. The movie was preceded by a short Frozen cartoon called “Frozen Fever” with a new song. It was a cloying bit about a birthday celebration and sisterly love. Some of the suspense was whether the birthday cake would be ruined. The little girls in the audience loved it because apparently they all loved the original movie. It had been a hot afternoon, like a summer day, but at 6:30, everything was cooling down. I caught the 57 bus and was able to connect with the 1 bus just in time to get home for the start of The Big Bang Theory at 7 o’clock. I saw Sheldon trying his hand at jogging. He saw Steve Wozniak. I took my cough medicine as a Wonder Woman episode came on. It was about a Nazi scheme to make counterfeit $2 bills. I tried to watch the Star Trek episode “Errand of Mercy,” but I fell asleep. Going through the day with the cold was too much for me. I was afraid that I wasn’t getting better. I had to take a shower. I heard that the Warriors won their game against the Knicks. I thought about wearing my brother’s Orlando shirt, but it didn’t seem right to get it all sweaty and smelly on another hot day. Some of the people who died on March 25 include Julius Caesar (44 BC), H.P. Lovecraft (1937), Lester Young (1959), Benjamin Spock (1998), Ann Sothern (2001), and Stuart Rosenberg (2007). Today is a birthday for Dee Snider (60), Sly Stone (72)), Mike Love (74), and Judd Hirsch (80). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for March 15, “My Fair Lady” opened on Broadway in 1956. In 1964, Elizabeth Taylor married Richard Burton. In 1969, Tommy Roe reached Number One on the singles chart with “Dizzy.” In 1975, the Doobie Brothers had the Number One hit, “Black Water.”

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

