Locke

What I saw from the KPIX morning news was that Frank Mallicoat was a bad speller. I worked on some writing and then went out to buy groceries. I returned home to have lunch and watch “Locke,” an unusual movie starring Tom Hardy. He is a businessman named Ivan Locke, and he is in a car on his way to see the birth of his child. What we see throughout the movie is this one man making and receiving a series of phone calls while he is driving. This isn’t an ordinary night in the life of this individual. There is this baby who is going to be born. There is a wife and son back at home. There are pressures of work, which involve some pouring of some concrete. It’s impressive how this guy maintains his cool throughout. It’s amazing that he can even find a moment of humor in this pressure cooker. I don’t care what kind of fancy photography and editing was done for this movie. There is a limit to what you can do with one setting, which is a car going down the highway, and one character. No matter how compelling the acting, we don’t want to see just one person for the length of this movie. We never actually get to see the wife, so our emotional connection with her isn’t what it should be. The son is going on and on about a soccer game. I couldn’t muster any sympathy. Soccer is a boring game. For someone who has been successful, Ivan does foolish things. It seems like a sign of these times that we should get an entire movie that is all about phone calls, considering how everybody in the world in constantly on the phone. I didn’t feel like hearing any more after a while, though. I felt like I would be a sucker if I’d let myself feel involved in all of this. Ivan had important papers in his car, which he would have left behind. I thought he would do what everybody else does and take photos of the papers and send them off. I wonder how the other actors felt about this movie, not getting any time on the screen. Why do we have to look at Tom Hardy the entire time? There are no sexy women on the screen, just Hardy, the car, and the road. I think that many people could understand why I did not get excited about this movie. The filmmakers tried to make a good movie on a small budget. Well, I liked this movie more than “The Blair Witch Project.” I was not impressed with Ivan’s son. I hate to think that this world revolves around the phone. This man hears three major life events over the phone in one night, which seems unlikely to happen, when you think about it. The biggest things that happen in the story happen outside the car. He’s not there for any of it. There is something tragic about that. It’s also bad for the movie. We want to see things, not be told about them. Of course, with that limited budget, we don’t have to stage those scenes. Was there a production design at all to this movie? Tom Hardy gave the movie his complete effort, and his performance is worth seeing. You might say that “Locke” is something like the “My Dinner with Andre” of this millennium. It’s a lot of talking, but without too much humor. We see an individual with an inflated sense of himself, so it’s scary that his DNA is multiplying. His son should be studying instead of watching a stupid soccer game. No wonder England, like the United States, has deteriorated into an unsalvageable mess. I don’t know why one person should be so important to a concrete pour. Maybe I should say that I don’t know why Tom Hardy should be so important. If he was so brilliant, he wouldn’t have found himself in this dilemma in the first place. He seems to be surrounded by incompetence. One fellow can barely find a phone number. His mistress is risking death by delaying action on that complication to her pregnancy. I wanted to have a look at her, because I wanted to see what kind of a woman he had to have sex with to risk destroying his life. Ivan’s wife is the only one who has any sense, because she boots him out of her life. At least, that’s what she says. When the action is all just phone conversations, there’s no conviction to any of it. Human beings say things easily. By the next day, this situation might be totally different. I would hate to think that Ivan goes through many nights like this over the course of a year. I will say that this movie is different from the norm in several positive ways. It attempts to reach beneath the surface and be meaningful, which is more than the average movie aimed at teenagers or children. Tom Hardy was a good actor, though I do not remember him from “Inception.” After work, I went off to have garlic fries and watch the second half of the Warriors game with the Hawks. The Warriors won by 19 points. I was awfully tired after the game ended, and so I was glad to return home. I ate some yogurt before settling down and resting. My eyes were too tired for me to read a book. I found my pillow and tried to sleep peacefully. The morning news crew all picked Kentucky to win the NCAA Tournament. Charlie Rose liked Duke. I heard about the plan to revamp the Oakland Coliseum grounds. If it takes twenty-five years, I’ll probably be dead long before it’s completed. Some of the people who died on March 18 include Edgar Rice Burroughs (1950), Edward Platt (1974), Willem de Kooning (1997), Arthur C. Clarke (2008), and Paul Scofield (2008). Today is a birthday for Bruce Willis (60), Glenn Close (68), and Ursula Andress (79). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for March 19, Columbia Records released Bob Dylan’s debut album in 1962. In 1966, the last episode of “The Donna Reed Show” aired on ABC. In 1982, “Victor Victoria” opened in New York. In 1987, Larry “Bud” Melman died at Good Samaritan Hospital in West Islip, New York, on Long Island at age 85.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

