Blade Runner

I went over to work and got through a pretty quiet five hours. I returned home to watch the Partridge Family episode “Road Song.” Laurie said she was eating potatoes with gravy, but I didn’t see her take a bite. I watched the NUMB3RS episode “Under Pressure” before I went off to the Paramount Theatre. Quite a few people were out there early lining up for tickets for “Blade Runner.” I originally saw the movie back in 1982 on a double feature with “The Road Warrior,” and the ticket was only one dollar. Harrison Ford doesn’t show much emotion, so you might think that he is a replicant, but he does yell in pain when he gets those finger injuries. The movie moved along very slowly, at least until the point where Deckard meets Joanna Cassidy. Deckard’s behavior was so suspicious that any idiot would know that something was going on. What is funny is that the action takes place in Los Angeles in 2019, only four years from now. We still don’t have flying cars. Los Angeles is in an area of severe drought, not constant rain. It’s not possible to produce a machine like Daryl Hannah. Sean Young had a pretty face, but I couldn’t stand to see her smoke. Rutger Hauer was a pretty good movie star, and he reminded me of Richard Harris. The movie is about the look of the future and the setting. I could see how hard the filming must have been with all that rain. The special effects still look pretty look, though not awesome. That’s why the audience last night didn’t feel immersed in this world. The private detective aspect of the story was not fascinating. Deckard certainly didn’t seem hugely impressive at his job. He was close to dying at the hands of Leon. I don’t know how Rachel happened to be right there unless she was stalking him. He wasted a critical shot at Roy, and he shouldn’t have been standing right next to the wall, allowing Roy to grab his hand. Tyrell certainly didn’t act smartly when he didn’t give any hope to Roy about extending his life. You’d think that security measures would have been better. I don’t see how you can stand to kiss a replicant. The idea of falling in love with a machine reminds me of “Her” and also that Twilight Zone episode with Jack Warden and Jean Marsh. The Paramount Theatre was almost completely packed with people, but many of them didn’t know what it was like going to the movies in 1982. We were watching movies like “E.T.,” “Poltergeist,” and “Star Trek II.” Ridley Scott gave us science fiction movies that weren’t so clean and tidy, both in the look of the production and in the story line. Scott drove the crew hard to get what he wanted, and he clashed with Ford. I don’t know if it was worth it. “Blade Runner” has a huge reputation, but it still isn’t quite the enjoyable movie you would think it should be. It comes from a time when movie audiences had more patience. I think there’s a problem with a movie that has characters with no real emotions. The most human of the replicants seemed to be Joanna Cassidy. Edward James Olmos was in this movie before “Miami Vice.” I thought it was odd that his bit of dialogue at the end was repeated in Deckard’s mind at the end. I thought that James Hong was one of the more interesting people in the story. I kept thinking about how difficult it was for Deckard to do anything with two injured fingers. When I have seen different cuts of the film over the years, I have barely noticed the differences from the original cut I saw in 1982. I’m not one of those viewers who have studied this movie too closely. I did notice that the voice-over from Harrison Ford was gone, though. That was something I did not miss. Something else that was gone from this cut was the car driving to the north. I would say that the changes are improvements, but they don’t make the movie radically, dramatically better. Most of the film still feels the same. I think it could have used a shot of adrenaline. Back in 1982 with that double feature, I always enjoyed “The Road Warrior” more. It had humor with the dog, and I always remembered that child. I’m interested in seeing Charlize Theron in the upcoming movie. I have to give Ridley Scott for doing some things that were beyond science fiction that were memorable, namely “Thelma and Louise” and “Gladiator.” I’ll always think of him as the director of “Alien” and “Blade Runner,” though. For someone who has been a big-name director, there isn’t much that I know about him. Watching Harrison Ford on the screen, I couldn’t help thinking about the recent event that involved him, that plane accident where he landed on the golf course. He was about forty years old in “Blade Runner.” I thought about what this movie would have been like if Humphrey Bogart was in it, with Lauren Bacall in the Sean Young role. The movie got some applause from the crowd as the end credits rolled, though it wasn’t overwhelming. We saw a newsreel from 1967 before the movie, showing Lyndon B. Johnson attending a funeral, and the Philadelphia 76ers defeating the San Francisco Warriors for the NBA championship. The Bugs Bunny cartoon “Tortoise Beats Hare” showed a tortoise that cheated. I don’t know if it was a sign of the times. We saw trailers for “Five Easy Pieces” and “Berserk!” I made my way through the crowd out to the bus stop and got home at 11:20. On Thursday, I heard a Blade Runner reference in the Big Bang Theory episode with the surprise birthday party for Leonard. I was glad to be at home and watched the Warriors highlights against the Pelicans. I looked through the Criterion Collection Blu-ray edition of “All That Jazz” that I bought and ate some fruit before going to bed. Some of the people who died on March 21 include Pocahontas (1617), Cole Younger (1916), Robert Preston (1987), and Leo Fender (1991). Today is a birthday for Matthew Broderick (53), Rosie O’Donnell (53), Gary Oldman (57), Eddie Money (66), and Timothy Dalton (71). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for March 21, The Beatles made their first appearance at the Cavern Club in Liverpool in 1961. In 1963, Barbra Streisand married Elliott Gould. In 1970, the Jackson 5 single “ABC” was released. In 1989, Dick Clark announced that he was stepping down as host of “American Bandstand” after 33 years.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

