Insurgent

I watched CBS Sunday Morning and saw a segment about James Stewart being drafted in 1941. Also, Serena Altschul did a report on perfumes. I sat around using the Internet for a while, and I made my way to Jack London Square. I needed to use BART because the bus lines were taking detours due to the Oakland Running Festival. I made it to the theatre with about twenty minutes to spare. I was there for the 3D showing of “Insurgent.” Hardly anyone had the desire to see this movie at 11 o’clock in the morning, but that’s the way I liked it. The trailers took forever. They previewed the new Poltergeist and Hunger Games movies. “Insurgent” was not one of your essential movies, especially if you missed the first movie. It taps into young people’s feelings about wanting to change the world. They also wanted to be noticed in this huge world. Shailene Woodley is Tris, the heroine of this tale. I don’t know why she of all people is a Divergent, and supposedly a person with this special quality. She seems like a rather ordinary young person, in fact. Kate Winslet is the authority figure who is doing wrong, at least according to Tris and the others. I felt a bit of sympathy for her, however. Watching her, I kept thinking how different she was from the days of “Titanic” or “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.” I kept looking at her hair. Her character was cold and rather stupid for someone in such a high position. The role didn’t show off her talent, and I don’t really know what she’s done since “The Reader.” It felt strange to watch Miles Teller a couple of months after seeing him in “Whiplash.” His part in this movie was so narrow that it was a shame. I think his acting wasn’t up to par. I thought that the cast generally was unimpressive. They’re asked to make these unbelievable things acceptable to the audience. The view of government is that it’s being run by misguided people who don’t care. I don’t see how the alternative, these rebellious youths, would do any better. I noticed that the prevailing images in this movie are explosions and crumbling buildings, with shattered glasses and shards and particles flying through the air. I wondered if it was for the 3D photography. I found it hard to believe in Shailene Woodley has an action star. The way she held her weapon and ran around, she didn’t look like a survivor to me. Perhaps the most interesting sequence in the movie were the simulations Tris had to pass in order to open a box that contained an important message. In these movies, as in the Hunger Games, there are these tests that the character has to pass, to supposedly prove that the heroine stands apart and above. I thought about how all of this went back to “The Magic Flute.” The simulations crossed into the reality of the story. Watching it, I kept assuming that nothing was real, as the Beatles said in “Strawberry Fields Forever.” I was starting to get sick of this whole presentation of Tris as this compassionate figure, saving a girl from a ledge and sacrificing herself to prevent deaths. Something else I couldn’t stand was how the friend and the brother showed that they were tainted, but the love interest was still true. It was one of those adolescent fantasies that never vanish. I flashed back to Diablo Cody. The ending of the movie, naturally, was not a real ending but a set-up for the next sequel. We will get to see what is beyond the wall. I wasn’t quite sure that I wasn’t watching “The Maze Runner” at this point. I found this movie better than “The Maze Runner” and on the same level as the Hunger Games movies. They all actually have so many similarities that I find it hard to distinguish between them. The movie had good box office numbers. Sean Penn’s latest movie didn’t create much excitement. This latest movie won’t earn Shailene Woodley any acting awards, although her name is now imprinted on the minds of movie audiences. Naomi Watts was another notable name in the cast. This movie wasn’t the greatest opportunity to show her ability. Somehow, I’m expecting the next movie in the Divergent series to be the weakest because I imagine a letdown in discovering what is on the other side of the wall. I really wasn’t too pleased to see what happened to Kate Winslet’s character. It was almost 1:30 when the movie ended. I strolled through the farmers’ market, but the lines were long, and so I walked towards the BART station. I stopped at Pizza Man and bought a slice of pepperoni and sausage. After I got home, I finished watching “Wingspan.” I thought back on how my brother used to like listening to the “Band on the Run” album. Paul certainly did a lot of travelling around for the recording of some of those albums, and his band kept changing. I listened to the late innings of the A’s spring training game against the Reds. They were doing well, but I fell asleep and woke up to hear that the A’s had lost. I listened to Robert Hilburn’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Times radio program on KCSN. He played tracks by Eddie Cochran and Eddie Vedder. Two of the songs I liked were “Somethin’ Else” and “Better Man.” I watched 60 Minutes and the Columbo episode “Playback” with Oskar Werner and Gena Rowlands. You knew that Werner had overlooked something in his murder plan. I saw that Martin Balsam was a guest star on “The Man from U.N.C.L.E.” However, I was too sleepy to watch it. I heard rain outside in the early morning and dreaded going to work. I saw Lisa Chan on KPIX as a reporter, talking about the new San Jose soccer stadium. I stared at her nose. Some of the people who died on March 23 include Peter Lorre (1964), Edwin O’Connor (1968), Giulietta Masina (1994), and Elizabeth Taylor (2011). Today is a birthday for Keri Russell (39), Hope Davis (51), Catherine Keener (56), and Chaka Khan (62). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for March 23, a Rally for Decency, attended by Kate Smith, Jackie Gleason, and 30,000 people, was held in Miami’s Orange Bowl three weeks after a controversial incident at a Doors concert three weeks earlier. In 1982, “Joanie Loves Chachi” first aired on ABC. In 1998, “Titanic” won eleven Academy Awards, including Best Picture.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

