Aliens

I had to scramble around to send another legal document. The morning news about the plane crash was depressing. I tried to get some work done for my class, but I had to waste time doing stupid things. I had to settle into my office work. I met with three students. I spoke for an hour and a half for my lecture and passed out a quiz. I returned home with a bad cough, but I went into the record store and bought the green vinyl edition of David Bowie’s “Peter and the Wolf.” I also bought a CD of Lorde’s “Pure Heroine.” I walked over to CVS and bought a big bag of cough drops plus some sparkling black raspberry water. I went to Flashback Feature night. The movie was “Aliens,” which I originally saw with my brother back in 1986. A girl from the college who was a student told me that she recognized me as a math teacher. A group of four people asked me to move over four seats to my right so they could sit in the middle. I obliged them, although I couldn’t see why they couldn’t be the ones to sit at the end. Feeling disgusted, I moved to a seat further back and further to the right. Someone approached me and said he’d talk to the people because what they did was uncool. I truly didn’t care that I wasn’t sitting in the middle, and I didn’t want to be near the stench, so I was OK with my seat. The theatre was pretty full for this picture. James Cameron has built up a big reputation, apparently. I was glad that it was a lot of action, although there were a couple of moments when Cameron lingered on the technology for too long. The Latina woman reminded me of Michelle Rodriguez, and the android reminded me of Christopher Lloyd. Bill Paxton brought some comic relief, although his whiny voice was a lot like Rick Moranis in “Ghostbusters.” I thought that Paul Reiser turned in a good performance. The little girl named Newt had one of the most ear-piercing screams in movie history. Sigourney Weaver showed star quality, and I would stay that she did deserve the Oscar nomination that she got. She had some of the best lines of dialogue, along with Paxton. I found it hard to believe that an inexperienced and incompetent officer would be sent on this mission. A lot of the key members of the team were wiped out because of the inaction. I thought it was quite funny how the Marines of the future behaved. I was surprised that people still smoked cigarettes in the future. I kept wondering why they didn’t send more people on this mission. The aliens were too much for this motley crew. I wondered why the alien blood didn’t splatter more, getting on Ripley and Newt. I thought that the slime might have contained traces of blood and thus been dangerously acidic. Some of the action was predictable. The officer who froze at the critical moment had to make up for it. The sleazy Paul Reiser had to be punished, especially for almost killing Ripley and Newt. I don’t know how he did that, of course. Ripley was certified Class 2 for the loading machine, whatever that meant. I could not believe that Ripley could cut it so close with her rescue attempt of Newt. You cannot outrun an explosion, and you’d have to go very fast to outfly one. I could not believe that there was so much oxygen in the ship that Ripley could open the air lock. How could the little girl not get sucked out immediately? The alien should have torn Ripley’s foot off. I could see how Ripley may not have killed all the aliens, this setting up another sequel. James Cameron was more of a crowd-pleasing film director than Ridley Scott was. I thought that this movie had the relentless villain, like “Terminator 2,” the claustrophobia of “The Abyss,” and the sense of doom of “Titanic.” The audience really enjoyed this one. It wasn’t cerebral. I give credit to Sigourney Weaver and Bill Paxton for their part in making the movie work. James Cameron might be considered the master of the sequel, although I don’t think there is a “Titanic 2” in the works. I coughed uncontrollably as I went out into the cold night and feared that I really needed a doctor. When I reached the warmth of my apartment, however, I began to feel better. I missed the second half of the A’s-Giants game because of the movie. Jesse Chavez had trouble in the fourth inning. I watched part of Jimmy Kimmel, and he was playing a game with two tourists who didn’t seem to know who The Doors or Ronald Reagan were. I fell asleep and watched James Corden. I liked how Meryl Streep showed up. Corden did a rather funny bit with Tom Hanks spoofing his movies. I thought the highlights were the three movies with Meg Ryan and “You’ve Got a Friend in Me.” I really did not want to hear about Mila Kunis’ pregnancy and new baby. She did make a peculiar reference to Vulcans and Velcro. I thought that Corden was trying too hard. I had the feeling that he would have a tough time gaining any ratings. It took a long time for the show to wind down. The replay of the late news started with a story of a kidnapping hoax. I saw a lot of violence in the stories on the news. The new law in Indiana was highly disturbing. My stomach seemed to have settled down. I saw Rock Hudson in “McMillan and Wife.” One of the guests was Lawrence Pressman. I watched a Night Gallery episode called “Face of Ice.” I don’t like the episodes with Gary Collins. Christine Belford was in it. I liked her from the Banacek show. I wished that Rod Serling had worked on a better program during his last years. Some of the people who died on March 27 include M.C. Escher (1972), Ian Dury (2000), Milton Berle (2002), Dudley Moore (2002), Billy Wilder (2002), and Farley Granger (2011). Today is a birthday for Quentin Tarantino (52) and Michael York (73). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for March 27, Marlon Brandon won the Best Actor Oscar in 1973, but he declined the award, leading to the Sacheen Littlefeather incident. Also in 1973, “Sisters” with Margot Kidder was released. In 1979, Eric Clapton married George Harrison’s ex-wife Pattie Boyd.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

