Home

I went to work and talked about The Decemberists and “The Man Who Fell to Earth.” I stopped at Bongo Burger for a late lunch, and then I went on to the Grand Lake Theater, where I watched “Home.” I thought it was forgettable, though somewhat amusing. The aliens who visit Earth are pushy to the point of taking over the place. It brought to mind what happened with Native Americans. I don’t know why these creatures change color like mood rings, but it does add something to the visual quality of the film. Jim Parsons figured to be the perfect person to be Oh’s voice. He shows that he is funny, but not funnier than the script. He would also be tiresome if he was the exclusive focus of “The Big Bang Theory.” A girl named Tip and a cat named Pig were hiding out when the world changed, giving the story a touch of “Alien” and “Aliens.” Rihanna was the girl, and I thought she was a good character. The idea of her car being powered by a Slurpee-like drink was OK visually but not scientifically. The notion of aliens responding to pop music was something that made me think of Guardians of the Galaxy and “Fooled Around and Fell in Love.” The aliens couldn’t have been too smart if they couldn’t learn English correctly, like Yoda. We’re supposed to feel sorry for this social outcast Oh because nobody shows up to his party. He’s even less popular than Rick Moranis in “Ghostbusters.” It seems that if the Boov had any diversity in their population, he’d have a few friends. What we have in the story was a child wanting to be reunited with her mother, an alien needing friends, and a planet having to be saved. Somehow, especially since this was a children’s movie, you know how this will all turn out. Steve Martin was one of the aliens. I know that the Steve Martin of 1978 would have been funny, but I didn’t really notice what he was doing in this movie. Jennifer Lopez was the mother, which made me realize how quickly time has passed. She used to be the young woman. There is a moment near the end where it looks like Oh is sacrificing himself, getting crushed to death by the machinery. Is that what is really going to happen? The plot really goes through the motions, following an ages-old formula and just inserting some different-looking characters and using a few celebrity voices. The movie did not gain any points for originality. There was a starfish character at the end that looked like he had been rejected by Spongebob Squarepants. I haven’t seen much of originality or freshness in recent films. I have seen rehashing of fairy tales and post-apocalypse stories aimed at teenagers. I thought this was a mildly entertaining movie, nothing exciting or special. Kids flocked to see “E.T.” back in 1982. A movie like “Home” doesn’t touch the same emotions. The relationship between Oh and Tip starts off like a romantic comedy, or almost, because Oh wants to be liked. I winced when I heard Oh make his comment about how the Boov could benefit from human values. These children’s movies have to try to teach us something. We don’t want to sit through lessons about how people should treat each other. After about an hour and a half, the movie was over, but because the starting time was 4:45, it seemed like it was longer if you were paying attention to the clock. It was OK to see this movie for five dollars, but I wouldn’t want to pay eight or ten dollars to see it. I would not want to see a sequel unless Oh’s character changes substantially. I like Jim Parsons as Sheldon Cooper, but I’m not too sure about his range as an actor. I don’t know who designed the Boov, but I think something different could have been done with them. They could have had a different diet, for one thing. It seemed that a lot of creative decisions were too conservative. We really don’t want the same ideas played out over and over again. During the end credits, we see some snapshots. Again, it’s something we’ve seen before. I went out to the bus stop and got home just after seven o’clock. Instead of watching another hour of The Big Bang Theory with more Jim Parsons, I watched the NUMB3RS episode “Money for Nothing.” The story involved stolen medical supplies and cash that was intended for Africa. I wondered what happened with Larry and Megan. Charlie visited Don’s therapist. I questioned the security of the FBI building because they let everybody from Cal Sci inside. When the time approached 8:30, I watched a Partridge Family episode like it was still 1971. It was “Not with My Sister, You Don’t.” Michael Ontkean was the new sex god at San Pueblo High School, and she asked Laurie for a date. What I got out of the episode was that Laurie was a poor judge of people, and thus could not be trusted ever again. You could shoot down her opinions on politics after this point because she proved that she was not too perceptive. In real life, Cassidy was more popular with the girls than Ontkean could ever be. The featured song was “I’ll Meet You Halfway,” one of the Partridge Family’s best records. At nine o’clock, I headed for Safeway because I didn’t think there would be many people there at that hour. I bought salad and fruit and yogurt. I returned home to watch an episode of The Odd Couple in which Felix and Oscar were at a fat farm. Oscar said that he would probably live another 20 years and Felix another 25. What happened in real life was that Tony Randall died before Jack Klugman did. Another episode had David Steinberg in it. Some of the people who died on March 28 include Virginia Woolf (1941), Sergei Rachmaninov (1943), Jim Thorpe (1953), Dwight D. Eisenhower (1969), Marc Chagall (1985), Maria von Trapp (1987), Eugene Ionesco (1994), Peter Ustinov (2004), and Earl Scruggs (2012). Today is a birthday for Reba McEntire (60) and Conchata Farrell (72). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for March 28, Eddie Cochran recorded “Summertime Blues.” In 1976, Genesis began their first North American concert tour in Buffalo, New York, with Phil Collins. In 1987, Maria von Trapp died of heart failure in Morrisville, Vermont three days after surgery. In 1990, Richard Pryor was discharged from a hospital after suffering a heart attack. In 1996, Phil Collins announced that he was leaving Genesis.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

