Funeral

I could barely get to sleep and hardly felt like attending a funeral later in the morning. We bought breakfast from McDonald’s. I had an egg, bacon and cheese sandwich. We arrived early for the memorial service. We saw relatives we hadn’t seen in years. I thought back on how our cousins were so important to us years ago. I was glad that one of them spoke during the service. I had to make a few brief comments myself. It was brutally hot outside because of the Santa Ana winds. I saw that my brother’s grave was not too far from a 7-11 store. I don’t know if I’ll have the chance to visit the site very many times in the years to come. We had a reception. I had enough to eat, and the food was pretty good. The conversation with my cousins reminded me of the years we would all get together for Thanksgiving. Back at the house, I fell asleep after watching a Charlie’s Angels episode. I watched some of Sanford and Son, too, but the time came to head to the airport. I was quite sure that we weren’t going to get lost, but I find the right terminal and got in line to get a boarding pass. I got through the screening. I felt like getting a pizza and maybe something from Pinkberry, but I just sat around for a long time waiting for the time when I could board the plane. I was the 87th person to go through the gate, and I ended up at a window seat in the back, behind the right wing. I felt kind of like William Shatner in an old Twilight Zone episode. Those few moments before the plane left the ground were terrifying for me. I couldn’t relax and enjoy the flight, as I was told to do. I felt immense relief as the plane touched down in Oakland. It took a long time to get off the plane from far in the back. I rushed out of there to catch the shuttle train headed for the Coliseum BART station. The plane was annoyingly late in arrival, and so I couldn’t get back home until nearly midnight.  Some of the people who died on April 4 include William Henry Harrison (1841), Martin Luther King, Jr. (1968), Edgar Buchanan (1979), Gloria Swanson (1983), and Bob Clark (2007).  Today is a birthday for Robert Downey, Jr. (50), Hugo Weaving (55), Craig T. Nelson (71), and Estelle Harris (87).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for April 4, “Ben-Hur” won 11 Academy Awards in 1960, including Best Picture, Best Director, and Best Actor.  In 1963, The Hollies auditioned for EMI Records.  In 1964, The Beatles had the Top 5 singles in the Billboard Hot 100: “Please Please Me,” “I Want to Hold Your Hand,” “She Loves You,” “Twist and Shout,” and “Can’t Buy Me Love.”

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

