Drew Pomeranz’s Spectacular Game

I tried to fix my writing early in the morning. I went grocery shopping and came home to watch the Partridge Family episode “Dora, Dora, Dora.” It had the memorable song “I Woke Up in Love This Morning.” I took the bus over to Laney College so that I could have lunch at the Laney Bistro. I had the Black Angus burger, which was pretty good, but it left me with no room for dessert. I just drank ice water, which was good as long as I still had ice. I headed over to the Coliseum, although it was much too early. I went over to the box office and bought two tickets for June games. I sat down in line and listened to the radio for songs like “Sweet Home Alabama.” I must have fallen asleep for a little while. I thought about the times when I wouldn’t be able to arrive at the Coliseum so early. The fans really wanted their Sonny Gray jerseys. A lot of fans showed up very early. I was glad to get my jersey in a medium size. I used the restroom before I took my seat. There was a T-shirt catching contest on the field in front of me, and Stomper hung around to sign autographs. I saw Kara Tsuboi’s belly. It seemed that it wouldn’t be long before she gives birth. I fell asleep again. Someone behind me cursed at a person for not standing up during the singing of the national anthem. Drew Pomeranz turned in a performance that Vince Cotroneo described as spectacular. He got the first ten Mariners batters of the game out before giving up a single, and then he got the next eight Mariners batters out before giving up a second single. He then got the following two Mariners out to end his night without allowing any runs. He struck out the first two batters of the game, and ended his seven innings with six strikeouts. The game was nearly over by the end of the first inning. When the A’s came up to bat, Mark Canha started things off with a single with one out, and Ben Zobrist doubled to bring in the first run of the game. Billy Butler struck out, but then Ike Davis singled in Zobrist. Brett Lawrie walked, and Stephen Vogt singled for the third run of the inning. We saw a video feature called This Date in A’s History, but the year was not identified. Mark Ellis was the focus. The A’s got two more runs in the second inning when Sum Fuld singled and Canha hit a home run. The A’s put the game away in the fourth inning, when they scored six runs and batted around plus two. Marcus Semien doubled and went to third base on Eric Sogard’s ground out. Sam Fuld and Mark Canha both followed with singles. Zobrist was intentionally walked. After a pitching change, Butler singled and Davis doubled. Lawrie fouled out. Stephen Vogt was intentionally walked, and then Semien got his second hit of the inning, a single, before Sogard struck out to end the inning. At the end of it all, the score was 11-0. At 8:46, the crowd attempted The Wave, but there wasn’t much enthusiasm for it. The A’s got hits from Fuld and Zobrist in the fifth inning but did not score. They did nothing in the sixth inning. The Big Head race had Dennis Eckersley finish ahead of Rollie Fingers, with Rickey Henderson bringing up the rear. The A’s did nothing in the bottom of the inning, which was lengthened by a pitching change. Fernando Abad came in to pitch the top of the eighth inning, and he started by giving up a single and a walk. Eric Sogard prevented a run from scoring when he made a good defensive play on a ground ball headed towards centerfield. A fly ball to Semien and a force out prevented the Mariners from scoring. The A’s scored one final run in the bottom of the inning. Tyler Ladendorf singled, and Cody Ross drew a walk. Ike Davis doubled to bring in the run. The next three batters made outs. R.J. Alvarez pitched the top of the ninth inning. He gave up a quick home run on Thursday, so there was some question whether he could pre9serve the shutout. He got the first out with a ball that went to Fuld in right field. The next batter walked. After a strikeout, Alvarez got the last out of the game with a foul ball to Fuld. The game started at 7:08 and ended at 9:52. Attendance was 30,114, and there was a lot of enthusiasm in the ballpark on this night. The father and daughter sitting in front of me kept jumping up and down and waving their arms to see themselves on the scoreboard. It seemed that there was a slight delay. Mark Canha seemed to be gaining some fans. Ike Davis drove in some runs. It took me about 18 minutes to get from my seat to the BART station platform. I didn’t want to spend 10 minutes waiting for the next train because it was rather cold standing out there. I listened to the postgame radio show. I heard that the Padres shut out the Giants, so it was a good night for baseball. I didn’t hear what happened with the Yankees and the Red Sox. Two drunken fans were in the car near me, and I was afraid that one of them would throw up. I thought about all these documents I had to fill out and sign. I have not seen any money so far. I watched the eleven o’clock news for the sports highlights. I ate some yogurt before going to bed. I wasn’t sure that eating that burger was a good idea. If I so back there, perhaps I should just have the dessert, which was what I really wanted in the first place. I watched CBS This Morning but missed the segment on new ballpark food. Belle and Sebastian performed. I thought that they should have spent some money on clothes. They were OK to my ears, if not too exciting. The Decemberists are supposed to be on the show next Saturday. I had some things to do on the Internet before I went off to the next baseball game. I did not want to hear any more from Rand Paul. Some of the people who died on April 11 include John O’Hara (1970), Eddie Miller (1977), Roscoe Lee Browne (2007), and Kurt Vonnegut (2007). Today is a birthday for Joel Grey (83). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for April 11, the Barbershop Harmony Society was founded in 1938. In 1970, The Beatles’ “Let It Be” was the Number One single. Also in 1970, Paul McCartney announced the breakup of The Beatles. In 1981, Eddie Van Halen married Valerie Bertinelli. In 1983, “Gandhi” won Oscars for Best Picture, Best Director, and Best Actor.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

