Josh Reddick’s Error

I awoke early to watch CBS Sunday Morning. One of the segments that interested me was the man who bought food from Trader Joe’s to take across the border to Vancouver to sell in his own store. I looked at the Sunday advertisements and thought of buying the Kendrick Lamar album. I took BART over to the Coliseum and saw a lot of Little Leaguers getting ready to take a walk around the baseball diamond. I bought tickets for June games at the box office before heading for the line. I listened to the radio during the wait and heard “Night Fever” and “Sweet Home Alabama.” I was happy to get a pair of argyle socks, the giveaway for the day. I took a look at the game-used items on sale and saw that Ariel Prieto and Sean Doolittle had the same cap size as me. If I hadn’t been spending so much money recently, I would have bought one of the caps. I saw a lot of kids scrambling around for autographs. I should have brought some sunscreen with me on such a sunny day. I listened to a radio program about Stan Freberg during the hour before the start of the game. Apparently, Freberg made a public appearance last November, and he was recovering from a cracked rib. Jesse Hahn pitched a perfect four innings to start the game. The second Mariners batter in the fifth inning reached base on Marcus Semien’s error, but Hahn got through the first five innings without giving up a hit. Meanwhile, the A’s scored three runs off Felix Hernandez in the fourth inning when Billy Butler, Ike Davis, Stephen Vogt, and Josh Reddick all got hits. The Mariners got their first hit of the game in the sixth inning with a double. It would be just the start of a terrible inning. After a single and a one-out walk, Hahn got the second out, and then a line drive that Reddick reached, but the ball bounced off Reddick’s glove for the tying runs. After another walk and a hit that put the Mariners ahead, 4-3, Hahn was out of the game. Eric O’Flaherty got the last out with one pitch. Before the start of the seventh inning, we saw the Big Head race, which Rollie Fingers managed to win. O’Flaherty had a terrible inning, allowing two singles before the big blow that gave the Mariners three runs and a 7-3 lead. During the seventh inning stretch, we head the Jackson Five’s “ABC.” Evan Scribner pitched the top of the eighth inning and did well in getting a clean inning. In the bottom of the inning, Butler got his third hit of the game with a single, and he got to third, but he didn’t score. R.J. Alvarez pitched the top of the ninth and allowed a walk with one out, but he kept the score at 7-3 to keep slim hopes alive. Josh Reddick doubled and Marcus Semien walked to keep hopes alive. Sam Fuld doubled to bring in two runs. Mark Canha got to first base on a play that was initially ruled an error by the third baseman. After a walk, Butler unfortunately hit into a 6-4-3 double play, although another run scored on the play. Eric Sogard pinch-hit and delivered a single that tied the score at 7-7, making the crowd go crazy. Tyler Clippard pitched the top of the tenth inning. He got the next two Mariners batters out, but then he made a mistake on a 2-0 pitch, and it went for a home run, putting the Mariners ahead, 8-7. Brett Lawrie was the first batter up in the bottom of the tenth inning. He couldn’t get his third hit of the game as he struck out. Reddick hit a ball to left field, which went for an out. It was down to Marcus Semien, who fell behind in the count, 0-2, before grounding out to shortstop. The game started at 1:07 and ended at 4:18. Attendance was 32,282. Jesse Hahn allowed only one earned run. I noticed during the homestand that Ike Davis’ walk-up music was “Band on the Run.” The Giants lost their game in San Diego, so the day wasn’t a total loss. I took the train back home, and I sat down to listen to Robert Hilburn’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Times program on KCSN. The show covered records by Tom Jones and Tom Petty. My favorite song during the hour was “Even the Losers.” Hilburn remarked that the records sounded good even after a quarter of a century. It’s actually been 35 years. I returned home to watch the Columbo episode “A Case of Immunity.” Sal Mineo was in it. His character seemed like a fool to trust the person he was working for. Columbo used a different tactic to get his man. It wasn’t pure deduction. He had to deal with the fact that his suspect had diplomatic immunity. On the news this morning was a shooting at the intersection of Shattuck and Ashby with a street closure. I’m glad I had no reason to be at that location at that hour. I saw on Twitter that Kara Tsuboi will be absent from the Coliseum during this next month to have another baby. I wasn’t too pleased at the idea of returning to work on this Monday morning. With the baseball games, I had neglected my grocery shopping and doing the laundry. I had a lot of dirty socks. I wore my John Coltrane Blue Train T-shirt and started out for the office. I was so glad that I decided not to teach summer session this year. I had two DVDs on hold for me at the library, but I wanted to go out to the theatre this afternoon. I was on the lookout for fresh fruit at the grocery store. Two of the people who died on April 13 were Boris Godunov (1605) and Muriel Spark (2006). Today is a birthday for Max Weinberg (64), Ron Perlman (65), Al Green (69), Paul Sorvino (76), and Lyle Waggoner (80). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for April 13, “12 Angry Men” was released in 1957. In 1965, The Beatles spent four hours recording the song “Help!” In 1982, David Crosby was arrested for illegal gun and drug possession. In 1985, USA for Africa reached Number One on the singles chart with “We Are the World.”

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

