Serenity

It was a long day of preparing for a class. I saw the news about the man on the gyrocopter and thought he was a fool. Over at the office, I looked at my messages and sent a document to the lawyer. During my lunch break, I thought some aluminum foil so I could bake some fish, which I had with a salad. I looked through one of the stores and bought a Raiders DVD. I went back to the office to work for several hours. One of the students asked me if I was going to the movies. I told her that I was thinking about it. I gave my class a review session before the exam. I went home to eat, and then I went to the record store, where I bought The Beatles’ Christmas Album. I sat down to watch The Big Bang Theory before I walked over to the theatre to see “Serenity.” It was one of those Joss Whedon movies that tried to be distinctive and appealing to young people. I thought it had some of the feel of “Guardians of the Galaxy.” We see a girl named River, even though I remember that River Phoenix was a young man. Chiwetel Ejiofor had a big role, although he was better in other roles. He was a relentless killer with a sword that made me think that he was from a previous century. I was disappointed that his character’s name was The Operative. I thought he should at least have a real name. There were moments of humor and unexpected bits of behavior and dialogue that amused the young audience, although I wasn’t quite so enthusiastic. One of the minor Baldwins, Adam, was in this movie. It’s something of a letdown when you don’t see Alec Baldwin. The other cast member I recognized was David Krumholtz as Mr. Universe. The movie made me think of the days when Star Wars imitation films were released. I didn’t find the story particularly interesting. It looked like everyone was trying to kill everyone else. We hated to see people die, and in this people the deaths seemed hugely unnecessary and pointless. Characters should not be killed just because the actors are not signed up for a sequel. I would have liked a movie that was more of a science fiction movie than something else, like a Western, with a science fiction dressing. I kept thinking about how much I liked “2001: A Space Odyssey.” Well, it was better to see this movie than “Furious 7” a second time. I never saw the television show. I haven’t been up to date on television programming since maybe 1987. Some people thought that this was a great science fiction film. I’m not one of them. I read that “Serenity” was a disappointment at the box office. There aren’t too many movies with a tie to television that I would run out to see. I hadn’t even heard of this stupid movie when it was originally released. The time was 11:05 when I walked through the lobby and made my way back home. The eleven o’clock news was still on when I got home. Andrea Nakano was doing the sports report. The Warriors were set to play some games against the New Orleans Pelicans. The team was drawing some criticism from Charles Barkley, which I didn’t understand. The Giants were struggling with the Arizona Diamondbacks in the 12th inning. I didn’t get around to looking for a new Warriors jersey. I keep looking for a Rick Barry throwback jersey with the old logo. I could use a new Raiders jacket, too. I paid off the balance on my season ticket. I saw Kevin James on the Letterman show. He said that he was about to turn 50. Tom Dressen was the next guest. Every time I see him I am surprised that he is still alive. He said he remembered when Debra Winger was waiting tables. Also, he was pleased that the Cubs were in first place. He told a final Frank Sinatra story. Tracy Chapman was the musical guest, and she sang “Stand By Me.” It’s hard to believe that it has been 27 years since she first gained fame. The song made me think about how much I missed John Lennon. James Corden’s guests were Simon Cowell, Michael Douglas, and Jenny Lewis. I believed that I deserved more fame in Los Angeles than James Corden. I had thoughts about buying Criterion Collection Blu-ray discs. I’d love to buy them all if I could. I was interested in seeing “The Confession.” I didn’t want to watch “Hamburger Hill,” especially in the middle of the night. I was relieved that I didn’t have to be in the classroom again this week. My breakfast was leftover tamales. I had to go out to the grocery store. I walked over to the office, and one of the delivery men asked me if I had Warriors playoff tickets. Everybody seems to think that I have tickets to every sporting event around here. He wanted two tickets for himself and his son. Anne Makovec reported from the Oracle Arena and showed that she couldn’t dribble a basketball or shoot it. My plan was to go out and buy shoes tomorrow, but perhaps I’ll bring along a radio so that I can listen to the game. I don’t know if I have a chance at getting tickets for a later playoff round. It was a sunny morning, so I hated having to go to work when I really wanted to sleep in. I couldn’t stop thinking about my finances for the rest of the year. I have a good flow of money, so I shouldn’t worry. I’d like to get to the Grand Lake Theater today for an afternoon movie. Some of the people who died on April 17 include Benjamin Franklin (1790), Eddie Cochran (1960), Dick Shawn (1987), Linda McCartney (1998), and Michael Sarrazin (2011). Today is a birthday for Jennifer Garner (43), Boomer Esiason (54), and Olivia Hussey (64). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for April 17, “The Private Eyes,” starring Tim Conway and Don Knotts, was released in 1980. In 1981, “Caveman,” with Ringo Starr and Barbara Bach, was released. In 1982, the Vangelis soundtrack album for “Chariots of Fire” was Number One on the charts.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

