Kendall Graveman’s Inconsistency

I watched CBS This Morning and enjoyed hearing about summer movies. Over at the coffee shop I checked the most recent A’s box score and looked at the American Top 40 playlist for the weekend. The Top 10 songs on April 22, 1978 were “Our Love,” “We’ll Never Have to Say Goodbye,” “Jack and Jill,” “With a Little Luck,” “Dust in the Wind,” “The Closer I Get to You,” “Lay Down Sally,” “Can’t Smile Without You,” “If I Can’t Have You,” and “Night Fever.” I walked over to the BART station and made my way to the Coliseum. I was highly annoyed that we stopped at the Lake Merritt station and had to transfer to another train. I stood around reading a book for a while, losing patience at the delay. I made my way over to the box office to buy tickets for games in August. I got in the season ticket holder line and listened to the radio as I waited. I made the metal detector go off as I went through it, and I cursed the machine’s inconsistencies. I was pleased to get my A-moji T-shirt. I took my seat and listened to Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me on the radio. I fell asleep for a while. Kendall Graveman had a tough day pitching for the A’s. He gave up a single on the game’s first pitch, and after two doubles in that first inning, the score was 1-0. We heard “Papa’s Got a Brand New Bag” before the start of the second inning. Graveman would allow a walk, a single, and a home run to make the score 4-0. The game seemed to be nearly over at that point, with the A’s not doing much on offense. Through the first six innings, they got only a walk from Josh Reddick in the second inning, a single from Stephen Vogt in the fourth inning, a single from Reddick in the fifth inning. Graveman pulled himself together somewhat in the third and fourth innings, getting help from Reddick with a good catch, allowing just one hit, and having a clean fourth inning. However, Graveman would not make it out of the fifth inning. After getting two outs, he gave up a double and two singles, making the score 5-0, and Bob Melvin took him out of the game. Chris Bassitt came in and threw a wild pitch, allowing another run. He hit a batter with a pitch before getting the last out, and he would have a clean sixth inning. Before the seventh inning, we would see the Big Head race, which Rickey Henderson barely won at the finish line, ahead of Rollie Fingers. The top of the seventh inning was ugly for the A’s, as errors by Josh Reddick and Cody Ross contributed to two more Houston runs. The game had pretty much been decided. During the seventh inning stretch, we heard “Don’t Stop Till You Get Enough.” The A’s managed to score runs in the bottom of the inning. After Billy Butler struck out, Ike Davis singled and Reddick walked. Max Muncy got his first major league hit to load the bases. Cody Ross hit into a force play, with Muncy sliding into second base hard to prevent the double play. The crowd appreciated the effort, as it allowed the A’s to score their first run. Eric Sogard provided the highlight of the day with a triple that made the score 8-3. Perhaps one more hit would have given the A’s some hope, but after a pitching change, pinch-hitter Mark Canha struck out. Bassitt got through the top of the eighth inning with the help of a double play, but the A’s got only a walk from Butler in their half of the inning. Bassitt gave up a home run in the ninth inning to make the score 9-3. He did get through those innings, though, so that Bob Melvin didn’t have to burn some relief pitchers. Reddick singled to start the bottom of the ninth inning, so he had a good day but for the error. Muncy grounded out to the pitcher. Ross drew a walk. Sogard couldn’t come up with a second big hit, as he hit a fly ball out to right field. Reddick went to third base on the play. Mark Canha struck out to end the game. It certainly wasn’t a good game. It began at 1:07 and ended at 4:02, and attendance was 24,342. The fans who got T-shirts did get something out of the day. Many sports fans were eagerly waiting for the Warriors game in New Orleans. Ruby Lopez would be around for the next homestand. I didn’t see the Banjo Man or Crazy Legs anywhere around, but the Pizza Here man was louder than ever. Ray Fosse reassured us that it was still early in the season. On this date in A’s history in 1987, Dennis Eckersley got his first save. I wanted to get back home quickly to catch the basketball game. I stopped by the library for a few minutes. I discovered that I had a phone message asking if I could come to work. That was an insane suggestion, because I hardly feel like putting in any extra hours. I was slightly disappointed that my DVD didn’t arrive in the mail. The Warriors delivered the win we all expected. I watched the Star Trek episode “Journey to Babel,” where we meet Spock’s parents. I watched a few minutes of Maureen McCormick on “Fantasy Island,” but I couldn’t stand the show. “Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein” was on, but I felt too sleepy to watch all of it. I finished watching the NUMB3RS episode “Hollywood Homicide.” I was not impressed with Charlie’s ideas about friendship. I watched a Nova program about the Hubble telescope. Some of the people who died on April 26 include Srinivasa Ramanujan (1920), Count Basie (1984), Broderick Crawford (1986), Lucille Ball (1989), Hubert Selby (2004), and Phoebe Snow (2011). Today is a birthday for Giancarlo Esposito (57) and Carol Burnett (82).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for April 26, B.J. Thomas had the Number One single in 1975, “Somebody Done Somebody Wrong Song.” In 1982, Rod Stewart was mugged in Los Angeles, with the thief getting away with his Porsche. In 1986, Arnold Schwarzenegger and Maria Shriver were married. In 1989, Lucille Ball died at age 77.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

