Tyler Clippard’s Blown Save and Loss

Some woman was out in the street screaming and disturbing the entire neighborhood. I woke up and watched CBS Sunday Morning. Their news report gave an update on the Nepal earthquake. They showed segments about Studio 54, Helen Hunt, and cowboy cooking. I went out to the coffee shop to have a peach smoothie and check my August schedule. I left for the Coliseum early because I was taking the bus all the way there. The BART line was closed between the Fruitvale and Coliseum stations because of track maintenance. I went over to the box office to buy tickets for the Dodgers series in August. I listened to Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me on the radio, and then the gates opened. I couldn’t find the hot dog I wanted anywhere, so I passed on the food and just went to my seat. I heard The Who’s “Won’t Get Fooled Again.” It was Scout Day, so a lot of Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts were parading around the field. The A’s were trying to prevent the Astros from winning all three games of the series. Sonny Gray signed some autographs before he went back to the locker room. The A’s started the scoring in the bottom of the first with a walk from Ike Davis, a triple from Josh Reddick, and a sacrifice fly from Brett Lawrie. Drew Pomeranz was unable to hold onto the lead in the next inning, however. It started with an error by Ike Davis. After a single, a stolen base, and more two singles, the score was 3-2. Ruby Lopez returned as a host, and she gave one of the kids a math problem. The fourth inning was another bad one for Pomeranz, as he gave up a walk and a home run to make the score 5-2. We saw the Dot Race, and then the A’s made a comeback. Stephen Vogt walked. Billy Butler lined out, but Ike Davis doubled. Josh Reddick popped out, but then Brett Lawrie singled in two runs. Eric Sogard singled. Craig Gentry got his second hit of the season, getting his first RBI and tying the game at 5-5. Sam Fuld made the last out of the inning. Pomeranz, Fernando Abad, and Ryan Cook each had clean innings to get through the seventh inning with the score still tied. We saw Rollie Fingers win the Big Head race. Dennis Eckersley faded badly down the stretch. The A’s took the lead in the bottom of the seventh inning. Gentry walked, and Fuld bunted to get him to second base. Marcus Semien singled to drive in the run, making the score 6-5. Evan Scribner started the top of the eighth inning. He gave up two hits with one out before getting a strikeout. Tyler Clippard came into the game to get the third out. At 3:53, the sea gulls invaded the stadium. The A’s did nothing in the bottom of the inning, so Clippard went back out to the mound to protect a lead of just one run. He gave up a hit with his first pitch. The next pitch was a ground ball to Lawrie, but the runner was going, so the throw to second base didn’t go for an out. It seemed that Lawrie should have thrown to first to get at least one out. A double steal put Clippard in a terrible position, but he did strike out the next batter. The A’s decided to intentionally walk Jed Lowrie. Clippard got two strikes on the next batter, trying to get him out on high pitches. The last pitch was an unfortunate one, because it went for a line drive that fooled Sam Fuld in centerfield. The ball went over his head for a double and two runs for the Astros. The crowd went quiet. Clippard got two strikeouts too late. The A’s went down quietly in the bottom of the inning for a discouraging loss. The game started at 1:07 and ended at 4:18. Attendance was 22,080. I hurried back to the BART station, where we were directed to shuttle buses. Traffic was slow to the Fruitvale BART station. I was about five o’clock when I boarded a train that took me home. I sat down to listen to the Robert Hilburn Rock ‘n’ Roll Times program on KCSN. He played songs by Stevie Wonder, like “I Wish” and “Boogie On Reggae Woman.” The last songs were by Stevie Nicks, like “Dreams.” The hour ran out before we could hear “Leather and Lace.” I watched the 60 Minutes segment on satellites. I watched the first half hour of Columbo with William Shatner. The episode was called “Fade In To Murder.” One interesting thing was that Walter Koenig had a scene. The Shatner character couldn’t hope to outwit Columbo. I fell asleep. I awoke to see the Mission: Impossible episode in which Will Geer poisoned Jim Phelps with curare. It was one of the better episodes I’d seen. Barbara Bain and Martin Landau were good members of the cast. They did incredible things with masks and makeup. Rollin Hand must have been the greatest imitator of voices who ever lived. My answering machine gave a flashing light, and I thought I might have slept through an attempt to call me back. With all the potential emergencies, I was worried about the possibilities. I kept wondering whether this year would be a financial disaster for me. This was a terrible weekend for the A’s. Next weekend, the new Avengers movie will be released. That will be good, because I’m tired of hearing about the Furious 7 movie. It amazes me that such a movie could make so much money. As audience taste deteriorated to a ridiculous level? I heard that a Burger King burger played a role in getting Robert Downey, Jr. into rehab, straightening out his life. Some of the people who died on April 27 include Olivier Messiaen (1992), Carlos Castaneda (1998), Al Hirt (1999), Mstislav Rostropovich (2007), and Yvette Vickers (2011). Today is a birthday for Sheena Easton (56), Ace Frehley (64), and Judy Carne (76). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for April 27, the American version of “Godzilla” was released in 1956. In 1975, “Death Race 2000,” with Sylvester Stallone and David Carradine, was released. In 1996, Sean Penn married Robin Wright.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

