Ike Davis’ Fly Ball

I went over to the office and worked on my writing. I saw one of my former students. I dropped off my stuff at home and went to the BART station. There were a lot of kids on the train, also on their way to the baseball game. I rushed to get past those bratty kids to get to my usual gate. I was not going to be denied my Jimmy Dykes button. It turned out that I had a whole section to myself. I enjoyed that, because no one was around to disturb me with their bad habits. The day was getting very warm, and I wished that I had a seat in the shade. I forgot to bring my turkey sandwich, so I finished my bag of trail mix. Jesse Chavez pitched well previously, but he would have a tough time in this afternoon game. The scoring started in the third inning when the Angels got a run on a single, a sacrifice, a ground out, and another single. The A’s did hardly anything in the first four innings. They just had a walk from Sam Fuld, a single from Ike Davis, and a single by Mark Canha. The kids were enthusiastic, but I think the heat wore them down. Ruby Lopez played Name That Tune, which turned out to be “Call Me Maybe.” The fourth inning was damaging for Chavez. Two singles started the inning, which is always a terrible sign. After a sacrifice bunt, Chavez intentionally walked the dangerous Mike Trout. The strategy didn’t pay off, though, as a single drove in two runs, and a 4-6 force play went for one more run. Chavez was gone from the game after five innings. He had thrown 95 pitches. The game felt like it was taking forever, especially underneath the hot sun. Bob Melvin gave Eric O’Flaherty the chance to pitch the sixth inning. He started off well enough with a line drive out and a ground out. However, he would give up a walk and a double for yet another run. In the next inning, Ryan Cook got his chance, but it was discouraging to see that he gave up a run. He pitched the eighth inning without giving up another run. The A’s scored in the bottom of the seventh inning on a Josh Reddick single and a Mark Canha home run. Tyler Clippard pitched the top of the ninth inning and allowed a single, but he kept the score at 6-2. The A’s started the bottom of the ninth with Billy Butler’s walk. After Reddick singled again, the Angels changed pitchers. Lawrie singled off Huston Street, scoring Butler, and then Canha singled, scoring Reddick. Stephen Vogt pinch-hit for Sogard, and after a wild pitch advanced the runners, he drew a walk to load the bases. Max Muncy pinch-hit for Josh Phegley and made the first out of the inning. Sam Fuld singled to score Lawrie and bring the A’s to within 6-5 with still only one out and the bases loaded. However, Marcus Semien popped out to second, and Ike Davis hit a fly ball to center that Mike Trout managed to catch to end the game. It’s hard to believe that the A’s still have not won a day game yet this season. The game began at 12:37 and ended at 4:00. The attendance was 19,534. I left the stadium to go back to work. I stopped at Target to buy dry erase markers and bottled water. I sat through my office hour and gave a quick lecture on my next topic. I gave a quiz to the students, and a few of them took a long time. I dropped off my stuff and went to the record store, where I bought a DVD box set of Eric Rohmer films. I watched The Big Bang Theory and went over to the theatre to see “A Clockwork Orange” again. I thought the young audience didn’t know how to react to it. It was a controversial movie in its day. Some of the people who died on May 1 include Antonin Dvorak (1904), Howard Johnson (1941), Spike Jones (1965), Aran Khachaturian (1978), Elridge Cleaver (1998), and Nora Swinburne (2000). Today is a birthday for Wes Anderson (46), Ray Parker, Jr. (61), Rita Coolidge (70), and Judy Collins (76). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for May 1, Orson Welles’ “Citizen Kane” had its New York premiere in 1941. In 1968, Brian De Palma’s “Murder a la Mod” was released. In 1976, Led Zeppelin’s “Presence” has Number One on the album chart.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

