Avengers: Age of Ultron

I heard from Norah O’Donnell the news that Ben E. King, the singer of “Save the Last Dance for Me” and “Stand By Me,” had died. It seems that some people were confusing him with B.B. King the last two days. I went out to the office to check the latest A’s box score. I read that Suzanne Crough had gone through some financial difficulties over the years. I got some work done with my spreadsheet, and then I walked over to the corner to catch the bus that would take me to the Grand Lake Theater. I cursed the slowness of the bus to get through intersections, but I did get to my destination with five minutes to spare. Quite a few people showed up for “Avengers: Age of Ultron.” It was an anticipated movie, and the people who made the last Avengers movie so successful were back at it. However, this movie repeated the elements that I didn’t like in the first place from the previous movie. We heard a lot of talking about things that we did not care about. I really didn’t want to see how troubled the Hulk was. Scarlett Johansson again proved what a bad actress she was. I thought that Robert Downey, Jr. was going through the motions. I couldn’t believe that he could throw himself into this material. There were only a couple of notable action sequences worth watching. Even then, the imagery was repetitive from the rest of these big action movies. We see buildings getting demolished. I couldn’t distinguish this movie from other superhero movies or Transformer movies. The one humorous moment that made me laugh showed Iron Man punching the Hulk repeatedly. Other people in the audience laughed too loudly at every attempt at humor. This kind of reaction reminded me of what I saw during “Furious 7.” It seemed that the kids were confused with the plot and bored with long sections of the movie. They were restless. The loudest response I heard all afternoon was for the Star Wars trailer. I thought that Thor and Captain America were severely lacking any charisma. Samuel L. Jackson did what he’s done before as Nick Fury. I thought that some of the self-important scenes were laughable. The ending of the movie made me think that the next movie in this series would be an extreme bore. There aren’t many superhero movies that I’m looking forward to anymore. I might check out Ant-Man because of Paul Rudd. I thought the most interesting thing I saw in this Avengers movie was Stark’s Bruce Lee T-shirt. I took the bus out to Barnes and Noble, where I bought books about John Lennon and U2. The personal finance books cost too much. I went home to have the enchiladas I had in the freezer. I bought a Star Wars T-shirt for Star Wars Day on Monday. I found my DVD of “Goober and the Ghost Chasers” in the mail. I watched the NUMB3RS episode “Velocity.” The observation about the carousel seemed obvious. I caught a couple of episodes of “Here’s Lucy” with Lucille Ball, the first with Buddy Rich as a guest, and the second with Richard Burton and Elizabeth Taylor. I watched the Partridge Family episode “The Undergraduate.” There was a sad moment when Tracy handed her coloring book and crayons to Shirley. Norman Fell was one of the guests. I was sleepy, but I watched “Frances Ha” again. I had forgotten which movie Frances was trying to see in Paris. I heard on the news that the Raiders chose a wide receiver with their draft pick. Dennis O’Donnell liked the pick, at least. A lot of car windows were smashed in a protest in Oakland, which was something that I didn’t like seeing. I didn’t feel like going back to work in the morning. The A’s managed to win their game against the Rangers. It seemed to me that I should go out to see “Ex Machina.” The girl in the movie is supposed to appear in several movies in the coming months. Some of the people who died on May 2 include Leonardo Da Vinci (1519), J. Edgar Hoover (1972), Oliver Reed (1999), Lynn Redgrave (2010), and Junior Seau (2012). Today is a birthday for Bianca Jagger (70), Englebert Humperdinck (79), and Theodore Bikel (90).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

