Desperately Seeking Susan

I had a terrible time trying to sleep. The morning was rather cold. We had people either on vacation or calling in sick at work, making things harder on the rest of us. I was glad to leave and have a late lunch at home. I did my laundry. I like having my clean socks. I watched “Desperately Seeking Susan” again. It’s hard to believe that it has been thirty years since I saw it in a movie theatre. I think it was a good strategy to not have Madonna say too much. I would say that her acting has never been good, and she is very conscious of the camera. I thought this was one of Rosanna Arquette’s best movies. Some of the plot seems like it was from decades past, namely the amnesia and mistaken identity bits. The part with the personals section of the newspaper felt like ancient history. Does anyone learn anything from newspapers anymore? I wish I could say that New York was like a character in the movie. One of the somewhat interesting things about the movie was that it was filmed during a renovation of the Statue of Liberty. I thought that Aidan Quinn was forgettable, except for when he rescued Rosanna. There were people in the cast that I had forgotten about, like Steven Wright, John Turturro, and Giancarlo Esposito. It was predictable that Susan and Roberta would barely miss each other at one point. There was one very repetitive Madonna song on the soundtrack, and that would be “Into the Groove.” It’s funny that Madonna was something of a poor person’s persona in this movie. She cheats the locker out of a coin, and is also cheap in buying a paper. She also smokes weed. I thought she had a funny scene joking with Roberta’s husband. Gary dealt in tubs, and he had one of those local commercials that attempted some humor, rather like something we saw in “Ghostbusters.” The DVD cover boasts that the movie is in HD, but I thought the picture quality was average. I thought the magic show scene was rather funny, although not original. I thought about what kind of a bump on the head would cause amnesia and yet not the kind of permanent brain damage that caused Junior Seau to commit suicide. This movie was Madonna’s “A Hard Day’s Night,” at least in my memory. She would go on to horrible movies like “Shanghai Surprise” and “Body of Evidence.” Rosanna Arquette would vanish from my view until she reappeared in “Pulp Fiction.” Susan Seidelman was a promising director with “Desperately Seeking Susan,” but not so enjoyable with “Making Mr. Right.” I think back on 1985 as a fun year going to the movies. I wish I could go back in time to experience the year all over again. I could picture Diane Keaton and Goldie Hawn fitting into this plot, but then it wouldn’t be a youth movie. Melanie Griffith, Ellen Barkin, and Jennifer Jason Leigh were all considered for the part of Susan. Based on what she would do in “Something Wild,” Melanie Griffith might have been the best fit. I think I would have liked seeing Bruce Willis in the part of Dez. These days we know Laurie Metcalf from “The Big Bang Theory.” Some other familiar people in the cast were Ann Magnuson, John Lurie, and Carol Leifer. After “Desperately Seeking Susan,” Susan Seidelman went on to direct “Making Mr. Right,” “Cookie,” and “She-Devil.” Her most recent movie was “The Hot Flashes,” with Brooke Shields, Daryl Hannah, Wanda Sykes, Virginia Madsen, and Eric Roberts. Vincent Canby liked “Desperately Seeking Susan.” I looked up Roger Ebert’s review, and he gave it three stars. I listened to the first three innings of the A’s game with the Twins. It was not too encouraging to see Jesse Hahn waste a four-run lead that the team gave him in the first inning. I looked at the account I have with the life insurance company. It was an impressive amount of money, and I find that there is a good deal of stress in dealing with it. This is the first time in my life that I am turning to professional help in managing my money. I ran into a married couple I knew, and they said they saw me dealing with my laundry. They were amazed that I got my chores done when they were barely able to do anything. I think one reason is that I don’t have to worry about parking. I watched two episodes of The Big Bang Theory, with Penny wanting to learn about physics, and the gang playing Pictionary. Howard sings a bit of “Rocket Man” while eating a slice of cheesecake. I was too sleepy to stay up to watch the Letterman special. I’m going to miss Dave, because he kept me company when I stopped being able to sleep in the 1980s. I’ll also miss Paul, because he helped make the music we heard on the show worthwhile. I heard about the death of Marv Hubbard this morning. He was 68 and would have turned 69 on Thursday. The KPIX morning news crew thanked Roberta Gonzales for being muffins. I thought that Norah O’Donnell was wearing an unusual dress on CBS This Morning today. Some of the people who died on May 5 include Napoleon Bonaparte (1821), Bret Harte (1902), Frank Tashlin (1972), George Sydney (2002), Arthur Laurents (2011), and Dana Wynter (2011). Today is a birthday for Adele (27), Michael Palin (72), Michael Murphy (77), and Pat Carroll (88). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for May 5, Carnegie Hall opened in 1891 with Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky conducting his Marche Solennelle. In 1969, The Beatles released their single “Get Back” in the United States. In 1973, Elvis Presley’s “Aloha From Hawaii: Via Satellite” was Number One on the album chart. In 2002, “Spider-Man” became the first movie to earn more than $100 million in its opening weekend.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

