Mallrats

I worked on materials for my lecture. It rained a little bit during the late morning. Someone left some chocolate cake for us. I went over to the record store and bought the sixth season of The Sopranos on Blu-ray. After watching the Big Bang Theory, I headed for the theatre. If Sheldon gets married to Amy, that would be the end of the show. The movie being shown on Flashback Night was “Mallrats.” It was released twenty years ago, and it was hilarious to see Ben Affleck in it with no soul and an empty head. He knew how to punch someone in the gut, and that was about it. One of the stars was Shannen Doherty, and I couldn’t understand any of her appeal to audiences. It was funny to see her boyfriend playing hockey video games. A shopping mall in Minnesota appeared to be the hangout when your heart was heavy. We see one person staring at a Magic Eye picture, trying to see the sailboat in 3D. We see youth wallowing in the Nineties. We see a stage set up for a television show that was like The Dating Game. The mall had to remind me of “Fast Times at Ridgemont High.” I imagine that the argument about whether the cookie shop was part of the food court was something that was on Kevin Smith’s mind. You could tell that the mall had fake stores in it. What I was looking forward to was the scene with Stan Lee. Somehow, I found it hard to believe that he would speak for such a long time with some ordinary young person, but I thought this was his best appearance in a movie. He seemed so lively. He’s still around today, and I still have a dream that I can meet him one of these days. The comic book collection we see is Kevin’s Smith’s collection. It looked pretty impressive. I thought the discussion about Superman having sex was funny, even if it was juvenile and not original. When you’re young and immature, you waste your time talking about such idiotic issues. I thought back on the discussions that the kids in “Stand By Me” had. One of the good scenes is the game show. It was like an uncensored Dating Game. I guess Kevin Smith made the movie for cheap if the setting was a shopping mall. It felt like this movie was trying to be a Ferris Bueller’s Day Off for 1995. What I thought was funny was the Easter Bunny taking some punches. It was stupid humor, and kind of stale, but I laughed anyway. The acting was generally not good. I was thinking that I would have liked seeing Heather Graham in this movie. I couldn’t see Reese Witherspoon fitting in, but Jenny McCarthy was a possibility. I couldn’t picture Mike Myers, Adam Sandler, or Chris Farley having a role, but Ethan Hawke could have done something. The movie didn’t have much appeal to the local crowd, because only a few people bought tickets for this movie. The rock music on the soundtrack was loud and had some appeal, even though the tunes weren’t especially inspiring. I never saw “Clerks,” which was supposed to be so fresh and original. I read that Roger Ebert’s review of “Mallrats” said that Kevin Smith was happy to do whatever the studios wanted if they would pay for this movies. I don’t see this movie as being such a crime. It appeared to be a financial failure, but in the news recently I see that Kevin Smith is interested in filming “Mallrats 2” in the Granite Run Mall in Pennsylvania. I don’t know how the first Mallrats movie could be considered a cult classic. Did anyone see it? It was not an exciting movie, but for five dollars on a Thursday night, I didn’t mind it. I got home at eleven o’clock and watched the news and the beginning of Jimmy Kimmel’s show. I missed Tina Fey on the Letterman show. I fell asleep and was glad that I wasn’t working on a Friday. I saw Gianna Franco in place of Elizabeth Wenger on the morning news. I took a shower and had some unhappy thoughts about going to the credit union to seek some financial advice. Some of the people who died on May 8 include Gustave Flaubert (1880), Paul Gauguin (1903), Robert A. Heinlein (1988), George Peppard (1994), Dirk Bogarde (1999), and Maurice Sendak (2012). Today is a birthday for Gary Glitter (71), Toni Tennille (75), and Don Rickles (89). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for May 8, “Dr. No” was released in the United States in 1963. In 1976, John Sebastian was Number One on the singles chart with “Welcome Back.” In 1996, Julie Andrews refused her Tony nomination of “Victor/Victoria” because the rest of the production was snubbed.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

