Modern Times

I spent part of the morning at the credit union getting financial advice and setting up a new account. I took the bus back over to the Grand Lake Theater to see “Avengers: Age of Ultron” again. The trailers made me look forward to the Mad Max movie that is coming. I’m not sure about how I will feel about Charlize Theron and her hair. I bought some groceries at Trader Joe’s before returning home. I watched “Modern Times” again, but this time on Blu-ray. I can’t see that high definition made the movie substantially better. I kept looking for the photographic tricks in the factory and department store scenes. The one special effect that I thought didn’t look too good was the accident with the wood wedge. It’s funny, but it certainly doesn’t look real. One thing I thought of was that Charlie couldn’t possibly eat all that food that quickly as he wants to get arrested. Also, when Charlie and Paulette fall out of the police van, they don’t suffer any broken bones, and they’re not bleeding. I didn’t know why Paulette was sitting around during that bread theft incident. It seemed the rest of the time that she had the street smarts to leave the scene quickly. She also stands around conspicuously after she steals the bananas. Would she really have stopped and posed like that? I noticed that her dress didn’t really look worn. It had that fake torn look to it that suggests that a movie person ripped it. I thought that the relationship between Charlie and Paulette moved too quickly. They have brief moments with the break, the police van, and the accident, and then Charlie is already thinking about sharing a house together. When Charlie is the guinea pig for the feeding machine, the president of the company certainly takes too long to decide that the machine is impractical. I wondered how many takes it took to make the spilling of the soup look just right. I kept thinking that the continuity must have been a nightmare. How many times did Charlie get picked up by the police? The authorities sure weren’t paying attention when they allowed Paulette to get away. I found it hard to believe that two people could hire Paulette just from watching her dance in the street. I found the part with the roast duck truly hilarious. I always wonder about those actors who have to act like they’re angry. It’s impossible for any movie fans to like them. I thought about the wood beam that falls down on Charlie’s head twice. I wondered how it was done so that he wouldn’t get hurt. I didn’t count the number of times the characters ate or drank. It seemed that the characters were generally very hungry. They had dreams about steak, milk, and grapes. “Smile” was a great song, and I didn’t know that Chaplin had it in him. He would show that he had a tendency to talk too much when he did start making sound movies. I wondered how much time he spent with things like the roller skating and the diving. When he became old, he couldn’t do many things. I enjoyed the special feature on the filming locations of the movies. One of the landmarks was demolished in 1973. Buster Keaton and Harold Lloyd used some of the same locations. “The Rink” was on the disc. I’m still looking forward to seeing “Limelight” again. I’d like to see Criterion release some of these movies at a faster rate because I’m afraid that I may not live long enough to see some of them. I would like to see “The Kid.” “The Black Stallion” is going to be released on Blu-ray. I am glad that Costa-Gavras’ “The Confession” is going to be available this month, but I’m still looking for “Strohfeuer” with English subtitles in my region. I would also like to see the Swedish television version of “Face to Face.” I wish the artwork for these discs could be more in keeping with the time period of the movie. I had watched both episodes of The Big Bang Theory, so I skipped them. I watched the Partridge Family episode “Anatomy of a Tonsil.” I noticed that Laurie said that she didn’t like tacos with onions, but at the end she craved a salami sandwich. In real life, would she have eaten a sandwich? Danny had to have a tonsillectomy. He taped himself singing “I Woke Up in Love This Morning,” and he never proved that he could actually sing, even two weeks after the operation. I also watched the NUMB3RS episode “Thirteen.” There was some discussion of numerology in it. I’m on the side of the people who think that it is garbage. Charlie’s father was having difficulty with his homework. I was tired of hearing about Tom Brady. I heard that the A’s lost again, this time in Seattle in eleven innings. Dan Otero surrendered the walk-off home run. Things haven’t been looking too good this season so far, and there was bad news about Jarrod Parker. This morning I watched a report on the film that Orson Welles was editing at the time of his death in 1985. People are trying to raise two million dollars to complete it. I find it hard to believe that it is a very good movie. The subject of a movie director attempting a comeback is not too promising. I’m not sure that I want to see too much of Orson Welles in the movie. John Huston did prove himself in “Chinatown.” I heard that Bo Derek was going to appear in a new Sharknado movie. It seems a bit late for her to sign up for the series. I tried to have a good attitude about working on a Saturday. Some of the people who died on May 9 include James Jones (1977), Edmond O’Brien (1985), Herschel Bernardi (1986), Alice Faye (1998), Alan King (2004), Lena Horne (2010), and Vidal Sassoon (2012). Today is a birthday for Candice Bergen (69), James L. Brooks (75), and Albert Finney (79). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for May 9, Louis Armstrong had the Number One single in 1964, “Hello, Dolly!” In 1965, Bob Dylan played the first of two concerts at the Royal Albert Hall. In 1971, “All in the Family” won Emmy Awards for Outstanding Comedy Series, Outstanding New Series, with Jean Stapleton receiving an award for her performance as Edith Bunker. In 1994, Willie Nelson was arrested on a marijuana charge in Texas after police found a butt in his Mercedes-Benz.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

