Sabrina

I didn’t notice any rain during the night. I worked a bit in the early morning. The semester is quickly winding down. I returned home and had lunch. I went back to the office and prepared for a lecture. Some students stayed late with questions. I browsed through the record store and bought the third season of Star Trek on DVD. I watched a rerun of The Big Bang Theory. It felt like the series went into decline during the past year. I walked on to the theatre for Flashback Night and Billy Wilder’s “Sabrina.” Watching it made me miss the good black and white photography of those long gone days. Audrey Hepburn was mostly charming as Sabrina, although the character was immature. She went through cooking classes in Paris, which could not fail to be funny. I had to wonder if she had sex with the 70-year-old baron. I thought the bit with the car exhaust was funny, too, and I tried to remember where I’d seen it before. William Holden fit right into the movie, and he seemed comfortable with Wilder’s direction. I read that Cary Grant was set to be in the Bogart part. I would have found it hard to imagine him as a man who put money above women. It would be hard to imagine him as Holden’s brother. Humphrey Bogart didn’t seem like the businessman type. I thought that someone younger than Bogart should have played the part. It’s impossible to imagine any romantic interest developing between Bogart and Hepburn. The dialogue made a couple of references to “The Seven Year Itch.” I first saw “Sabrina” years ago on television. I thought that the movie stars were magical. I’ll always remember the boardroom scene at the end. It wasn’t the type of setting where you expect love to be resolved. I wasn’t too sure that Holden should be punished. Wilder knew how to make movies that left me with a good feeling at the end. The attendance was sparse, but it was a pleasant movie, still enjoyable after all these years. One woman several rows behind me was the only person laughing out loud at the jokes. I’m convinced that no one has a sense of humor anymore. I spotted one of my students in the theatre. I wondered what she thought of this movie that had been released so many years before she had been born. One of the most striking sights is the collection of Audrey Hepburn’s clothes. The dress that she wore to the party was impressive. Ellen Corby was in the cast, and she made me think of Thelma Ritter. Nancy Kulp of The Beverly Hillbillies was in the movie, too. The movie ended at 11:05. I was so hungry that I stopped at La Burrita for a carne asada burrito. I saw in my mail a notice about having online access to another account. In just three weeks, my net worth has increased considerably in just three weeks. I watched the Letterman show and saw George Clooney handcuff himself to Dave. I heard the news that B.B. King had died. Some of the people who died on May 15 include Emily Dickinson (1886), Edward Hopper (1967), June Carter Cash (2003), and Barbara Stuart (2011). Today is a birthday for Dan Patrick (59), Chazz Palminteri (63), and Jasper Johns (85). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for May 15, the Rolling Stones had the Number One album on the charts, “Black and Blue,” in 1976. In 1982, Paul McCartney and Stevie Wonder were Number One on the singles chart with “Ebony and Ivory.” Also in 1982, “Asia” was the Number One album. In 2003, June Carter Cash died of complications from heart valve surgery in Nashville.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

