The Godfather

I heard a lot about the last Letterman show. I would have tried to grab part of the set if I was living in New York. I went out to the office and started grading some papers. It was the last day of class for me until the fall semester. I started to go out for a hamburger, but the place was too crowded. I talked with one student about movies like “Sabrina.” I gave the final exam and talked with the security guard about what summer would be like. A few of the students were happy, and some were angry that the exam was more difficult than they expected. I said goodbye to some people and went home. I was too late for browsing at the record store. I listened to the end of the Warriors game against Rockets. It was close at the end. I went over to CVS to finally get something to eat, which was a ham sandwich with a grapefruit drink. I arrived at the theatre ten minutes before the start of the movie, which was “The Godfather.” I’ve seen it several times before, and so I didn’t gain a whole lot in seeing it one more time. I did notice that one prevalent sound on the soundtrack was crying babies. It seemed unlikely that people would not think that Johnny Fontane was based on Frank Sinatra. The guy was trying to make a career comeback by appearing in a war picture. I couldn’t see how Woltz could sleep through the blood getting all over his sheets. A woman to my right kept laughing at the most inappropriate moments. It made me glad that I had seen the movie before. I wonder what would have happened if Michael had returned to America with that wife of his. She seemed to be turning into an annoying wife towards the end. What happened to the bodyguard who ran away? One thing I always notice is that in the scene where Sonny beats up Connie’s husband, one of his punches clearly misses. If Sterling Hayden hadn’t punched Michael, what would Michael have been doing for the family? I imagined that he would do some cooking with the tomato paste and the wine. What convinced Kay to marry Michael? It seemed that she was a sensible person. We never saw Michael and Kay’s wedding. What was Vito’s grandson spraying? Was it pesticide? That would be dangerous in the hands of a bratty kid. Diane Keaton was good in this film. It seemed like it was just before “Sleeper.” James Caan was exceptionable, too. I just didn’t understand why Sonny wanted to have sex with that woman, who certainly looked like nothing special. It was a long movie, but very memorable. I like the scene in the restaurant with Michael and the gun. I wondered if there really existed a special tape that gangsters used to keep their fingerprints from being detected. I didn’t really understand why Michael dropped the gun at the scene. We didn’t get the subtitle when they were speaking in Italian in front of Sterling Hayden. I knew that Sofia Coppola was the baby being baptized at the end, but I wondered if Sofia was also the baby that we see outside the church after the baptism. It was really a shame what happened with Abe Vigoda. I can look at him on the screen, though, and know that he is still alive in real life. Francis Ford Coppola was a remarkable film director from “The Godfather” through “Apocalypse Now,” and I still liked his work up through “Tucker.” I think I had less enthusiasm for him around the time of the Dracula film. I didn’t stick around for the end credits. Watching this epic wasn’t quite as exhausting as I thought it would be. The movie ended at 12:06, and when I got back home I saw that “The Mentalist” was showing in what was Letterman’s time slot. I would rather see Letterman reruns until the day that Stephen Colbert starts. The A’s have hired Ron Washington, bringing back memories of Moneyball, but they are continuing on their downward spiral. Could this team be as bad as the 1979 team? I hate the thought of it. What does Rickey have to say about all of this? I didn’t feel like getting up out of bed and going to work. A person out on the street was yelling about something at five o’clock this morning. Norah O’Donnell and Gayle King were missing from CBS This Morning today. Margaret Brennan and Jeff Glor were in their chairs. One of the stories they reported was the mansion murders in Washington, D.C. Some of the people who died on May 22 include Martha Washington (1802), Edward Bellamy (1898), Margaret Rutherford (1972), Lefty Grove (1975), and Whitman Mayo (2001). Today is a birthday for Morrissey (56) and John Flanagan (71). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for May 22, the Paul Newman movie “Winning” was released in 1969. In 1985, “A View to a Kill,” Roger Moore’s last James Bond film, which featured Christopher Walken as the villain, premiered at the Palace of Fine Arts in San Francisco. In 1996, “Mission: Impossible,” starring Tom Cruise, was released nationwide.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

