Tomorrowland

I watched the NUMB3RS episode “In Security,” which revealed some inappropriate behavior from Don in the past. Charlie went to a book signing, and almost no one showed up. I went to work, putting in a long day. It seemed ridiculous to continue with these dumb tasks when I now have so much money. I took two buses and a BART train to get to Jack London Square to see a movie. I guess I was too late to get a Tomorrowland pin, which was the reason I rushed over there. We get a story from George Clooney about what the future was like when it was 1964. I was hard for a kid to control a jet pack, like Sean Connery in “Thunderball.” I could relate to that time in the mid-1960s. I wouldn’t say that this was George Clooney’s best movie performance. It started off annoyingly, and I didn’t like the idea of the flashback. The girl who crosses paths with him is Casey. She discovers the powers of a pin. For someone who was supposed to be so smart, she seemed slow to catch on to what was happening. This movie had one typical feature of a Disney film, and that is the young people saving the day. They seem smarter than the adults. My favorite scene was the shop with all the science fiction movie memorabilia. I noticed that they had to have an item for “The Black Hole.” It was a shame if they destroyed genuine items in the making of this film, which is not going to rank with any of the great ones. Casey was a very irritating character. She could have used a sense of humor. Did she have any fun with her knowledge? She reminded me of a young Rosanna Arquette. People who count themselves as optimists are not so cool. She was one of those Disney characters. Athena was an unusual girl who seemed to be at the center of everything. She hadn’t aged in 51 years, even though Frank had. Her last moments reminded me of HAL in “2001: A Space Odyssey.” Girls were most important to this story than the boy. I thought it was done to attract young girls to this story. I think Clooney was the only person in the cast I recognized. I didn’t care for some of the themes, like the adults giving up while the young people come in with the brilliant ideas. I don’t see how Casey could see everything. Somehow, I couldn’t picture Frank becoming the kind of person he was supposed to be. I saw the Eiffel Tower in “Home.” Why is it that we see the same ideas in different movies that come out in the same year like that? When they distributed the pins to people at the end, I questioned the choices. Why does some musician out on the street get one? Why don’t I get one? Why didn’t I get one yesterday at the theatre? The one thing about the projected Tomorrowland was that it had technology but the people still seemed vacant. You have to think about what technology does to the mind. I felt that I had watched a long commercial for Disneyland. “Tomorrow” is OK for the kids this weekend, but it’s not something that we’ll remember years from now. I don’t think Disney is good at dealing with the future and science fiction. I still have bad memories of “The Black Hole.” I think that good science fiction requires more of a radical vision, more boldness of the type Disney doesn’t deal with. “Inception” and “Interstellar” were the type of science fiction movies that really made an impression. I didn’t feel like seeing any sweet, positive messages in a movie like this. Brad Bird was one of the people behind this movie. I certainly liked “The Incredibles,” but I have to wonder if he’s running out of good ideas. “Tomorrowland” wasn’t satisfying, and didn’t touch any of us deeply. I got out of the theatre at about 6:20 feeling like I had to rush back home. I caught the end of a Big Bang Theory episode with a robot Sheldon annoying everybody, but an encounter with Steve Wozniak unexpectedly changed things. The next episode showed Sheldon upset at the cancellation of a television show. I fell asleep for three hours, and then watched the Partridge Family episode “Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Partridge.” The featured song was “Summer Days.” I also watched Goober and the Ghost Chasers, an episode called “The Singing Ghost.” I heard the latest A’s score. They keep losing. Scott Kazmir couldn’t stop the skid in Tampa Bay. Maybe he was affected by the trade rumors. Billy Beane will have to find some more players out there to change the team’s direction. On CBS This Morning today, I saw someone talking about a documentary about Paul Newman and his auto racing. On the Today show, they had a segment on summer movies, and the critic said he liked “Tomorrowland.” In the morning news was a report on vandalism on a dam which caused the loss of a lot of drinking water. I wonder what kind of idiots were responsible for it. Some of the people who died on May 23 include Victor Hugo (1885), Clyde Barrow (1934), Bonnie Parker (1934), and Sterling Hayden (1986). Today is a birthday for Drew Carey (57), Linda Thompson (65), and Joan Collins (82). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for May 23, The Who released their rock opera “Tommy” in 1969. In 1971, Iron Butterfly performed a final show before disbanding. In 1990, the IRS auctioned off Willie Nelson’s golf course, collecting $230,000 towards his debt. In 1997, Tim Allen was arrested for drunken driving.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

