Pitch Perfect 2

I woke up and took out the trash and sat down to watch CBS This Morning. Chef Jean-Paul Bourgeois made an appearance on the show. Some of his recipes were for Seafood gumbo, Blue Smoke barbecue sauce, watermelon salad, lime vinaigrette, maple mashed sweet potatoes, collard greens, corn maque choux, beignets, and a Bourbon Smash. I got around to checking the American Top 40 playlist for the weekend. The Top 10 songs from May 26, 1973 were “Hocus Pocus,” “Wildflower,” “Drift Away,” “Little Willy,” “Pillow Talk,” “You Are the Sunshine of My Life,” “Tie a Yellow Ribbon Round the Ole Oak Tree,” “Daniel,” “My Love,” and “Frankenstein.” I took the bus out to the Grand Lake Theater. There was some kind of fair that was going on in the park across the street, but I didn’t have the time to buy something to eat. I went to see “Pitch Perfect 2,” which attracted some fans of the first movie, which did not include me. I felt like I was a person who did not belong to a club, and that I was some kind of eavesdropper. I thought the movie didn’t do anything good for pop music. Anna Kendrick had a good voice, although I wasn’t sure that I’d want to see an entire movie with her at the center. I thought the idea of a rival German group was pretty amusing. I thought they deserved to win. The Americans were supposed to have more heart, but they seemed like a group of inept jackasses. The two groups engage in a sing-off before the main competition, and the result was predictable, as the whole movie was. Katey Sagal was the mother of one of the singers. She was one of the three people in the cast that I recognized. The third person was Elizabeth Banks. The audience was almost all women. It definitely was a different group from the one that showed up for the Mad Max movie last weekend. I hated the whole story of Anna going through an internship and trying to impress her demanding boss. There was one semi-interesting point about lacking something to say. Hardly anybody does have anything meaningful to say. I also hated the story about the freshman newcomer who tried to introduce a song that she had written. There is a hard reality that singers have to face, and that is that there are only a few worthwhile songwriters around. One of these girls trying to write a song is like Kevin Costner trying to star in and direct a movie. You might get “Dances with Wolves,” but probably only once in a lifetime. The problem with a movie about a singing competition is that determining the winner is subjective. I didn’t agree with the result. It seems like the audience is just stupid because they react strongly to whoever performs last. It’s like everyone has a short attention span. I was not impressed with the performance of 1990s hip hop. One of the girls was a Melissa McCarthy type. I found most of the others rather hard to remember. They had to make an impression based on their ethnicity or weird behavior. The three women who sat in the row in front of me were enthusiastic about the movie from start to finish. I laughed a few times and wished I hadn’t heard “Anyway You Want It.” I listened to the end of the A’s game in Tampa Bay. Eric Sogard and Sam Fuld got big hits, and Marshall Graveman pitched well. I took the buses back home and browsed through the record stores. I was only interested in The Beatles on vinyl and “The Wire.” I did see the Charlie Chaplin’s “Limelight” had been released on Blu-ray. I bought some fruit. I returned home to listen to the Warriors game in Houston on the radio. I was a bit surprised that the Rockets didn’t play better. With a 25-point lead at halftime, it seemed that the game was already decided, but I listened for one more quarter. I left the television on to an episode of Wonder Woman. The plot had a pop star with a flute using his music for mind control. It reminded me of a Get Smart episode. I watched the Star Trek episode “For the World is Hollow and I Have Touched the Sky.” McCoy had a terminal illness, and a population of alien beings was on a collision course with a planet. However, everything was resolved before the end of the hour. I also watched a Nova program about encryption. One of the channels showed “Sabrina” and “Sunset Blvd.” Those were good times for Billy Wilder, long before “Fedora.” In “Sunset Blvd.” I hadn’t noticed before that people were singing “Buttons and Bows,” the song from “The Paleface.” Buster Keaton was one of Norma’s card-playing friends, and he actually spoke. I don’t know Gloria Swanson for anything besides this movie. I thought she did a good imitation of Charlie Chaplin. Getting the ending right is tricky in moviemaking, but this one has the ending just right. In fact, Billy Wilder got the ending right all the time in his best movies. Some of the other movies I remember Wilder for were “Stalag 17,” “Double Indemnity,” “Some Like It Hot,” “The Seven Year Itch,” “The Apartment,” and “The Fortune Cookie.” KQED had a double feature of “Three Coins “Three Coins in the Fountain” and “Rain Man.” Some of the people who died on May 24 include Nicolaus Copernicus (1543), Duke Ellington (1974), Hermione Gingold (1987), Gene Clark (1991), and Dick Martin (2008). Today is a birthday for John C. Reilly (50), Rosanne Cash (60), Alfred Molina (62), Priscilla Presley (70), Patti LaBelle (71), Gary Burghoff (72), Bob Dylan (74), and Tommy Chong (77). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for May 24, Mick Jagger and Marianne Faithfull were arrested for marijuana possession in London in 1969. In 1978, Van Halen’s first album was certified gold. In 1991, “Thelma and Louise,” starring Geena Davis and Susan Sarandon, was released. In 1995, “Braveheart” was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

