Jesse Hahn’s Four-Hit Shutout

I saw that Michelle Griego was absent from the KPIX Morning News, and Maria Medina was in her seat for the holiday. I went over to the coffee shop for hot chocolate, and I checked my messages. I went out to the BART station to go to the Coliseum. I listened to the radio as I stood in line. I heard that the movie “San Andreas” was not realistic. The giveaway for this game was a cap, and I was glad to get one. I looked at the game-used merchandise, and I would have bought a Sam Fuld cap but the price wasn’t visible. I took my seat and fell asleep for about ten minutes, but nobody seemed to notice. The usher said hello to me. The fans were hopeful that the previous two games were an indication of how the A’s would play on this Memorial Day. Kara Tsuboi was back from her maternity leave. I also heard Ken Korach on the radio for the first time this season. Many of the fans in the stands were also Warriors fans, and they were wearing their Warriors shirts, jerseys, and hats. Jesse Hahn was the starting pitcher for the A’s, and it would turn out that this would be a big day in his baseball career. Through the first six innings, he gave up only two hits to the Tigers. Three errors gave him some trouble, but double plays also helped him get through those jams. Before the third inning, we saw an advertisement for the Pixar movie “Inside Out.” In the middle of the fourth inning, we got both the Cap Caper and the Dot Race. In the first five innings, the A’s best chance to score was in the fourth, when Josh Reddick tripled with one out. However, Stephen Vogt and Billy Butler both made outs. In the fifth inning, Mark Canha reached second base with one out, but Eric Sogard and Billy Burns made outs. The score was still 0-0 going to the bottom of the sixth inning. Marcus Semien singled, and Josh Reddick followed with another single. Given another chance to drive in a run, Vogt couldn’t do it, popping out to the third baseman. However, Butler followed with a ground ball that turned out to be an infield out to bring in the game’s first run. Max Muncy doubled to make the score 2-0, and then Canha hit a sacrifice fly that brought in Butler to make the score 3-0. Sam Fuld doubled for the fourth run of the inning. After a pitching change, Sogard made the last out of the inning. In the Big Head race, Rollie Fingers with a late charge got past Rickey Henderson to win for the eighth time this season. Hahn gave up a walk to start the seventh inning, but then got the next three Detroit batters out. The seventh inning stretch was extended with a moment of silence and the singing of “God Bless America.” The A’s did nothing in the bottom of the inning. To start the top of the eighth inning, Hahn got a strikeout, but the wild pitch allowed the batter to reach first. However, the next batter hit into a double play. After giving up a single, the Tigers’ third hit of the day, Hahn got a strikeout to end the inning. The crowd wanted Hahn to come back out to pitch the ninth inning for the chance of a shutout. In the bottom of the inning, Vogt walked, and after a pitching change and “Ballroom Blitz,” Butler singled. No more runs were scored, however, as Andy Parrino, Canha, and Fuld made outs. Hahn went past 100 pitches facing the first batter of the ninth inning, getting a strikeout. A ground out to shortstop was the second out. Tyler Clippard was warming up in case Hahn got into any trouble. The next Detroit batter singled, but Bob Melvin allowed Hahn to face another batter. With the second pitch, Hahn got a fly ball to right field, which Reddick caught for the final out of the game. It was a 4-0 shutout, and Hahn’s first complete game. I was annoyed that the woman behind me spilled some beer on my jacket. The game began at 1:09 and ended at 3:49. Attendance was 25,380. My row was empty. One notable thing that happened during the game was that fans applauded the former A’s player Yoenis Cespedes. He did help to make the A’s an exciting team during the three seasons he spent in Oakland. Many of the fans wanted to get home and watch the Warriors game on television. I listened to the postgame radio show as I made my way to the BART station. I hurried home and put a pizza on the oven. The Rockets scored 45 points in the first quarter. I fell asleep for a while during halftime. The Rockets would win this one. I took a shower and waited for the sports highlights on KTVU, but they didn’t show anything from the A’s game. I heard stories on the news about homeless veterans. I kept thinking about the money that has been coming my way, and wondered what it would do for me. I could be a rich person within ten years. It seems ridiculous that I’m working like a fool all these years, but the money would disappear quickly if I wasn’t working. I think about whether I should move. I wonder if the movies “Jurassic World” and “Inside Out” will be worth seeing. I thought about how I needed to finish up with the grades for my class and submit them by June 1. The holiday was a good day for me, peaceful and quiet. The only down note was the basketball game. What happened to those kids in the bounce house that was caught in that gust? I heard too much about Ray McDonald, too. It was nights like last night that made me feel that I missed people like Johnny Carson and David Letterman. Some of the people who died on May 26 include Jimmie Rodgers (1933), Friz Freleng (1995), Eddie Albert (2005), Sydney Pollack (2008), and Art Linkletter (2010). Today is a birthday for Bobcat Goldthwait (53), Pam Grier (66), Philip Thomas (66), and Stevie Nicks (67). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for May 26, the sequel “Beneath the Planet of the Apes” was released in 1970. In 1971, “Support Your Local Gunfighter,” with James Garner, Suzanne Pleshette, and Harry Morgan, was released. In 2005, Eddie Albert died at age 99 of pneumonia at his home in Pacific Palisades.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

