Jesse Chavez’s One Unearned Run

I kept seeing Stephen Curry’s fall onto the court in Houston on the morning news. I went over to the office and prepared to grade a batch of final exams. I brought along a sandwich for lunch. It took me until one o’clock to finish that task. One of my students visited me and was curious about his grade. I took a break for lunch and made a phone call about getting Internet access to one of my money accounts. I listened to the radio as I went through a pile of homework papers. It took me until about four o’clock to finish grading them. I was glad to get close to completing my grades for the semester. The building closed early, at 4:30, so I couldn’t quite get through all my tasks. I took BART out to the Coliseum. I got too hungry sitting around waiting for the game to start, so I bought a chicken burrito. Jesse Chavez pitched a very good eight innings against the Tigers, but he allowed a single to the game’s first batter. The runner stole second base and went to third on Josh Phegley’s throwing error. The Tigers scored a run on a sacrifice fly to center. Josh Phegley would contribute on defense later in the game by throwing out three Detroit runners attempting to steal second base. Chavez would get 12 consecutive batters out from the third to seventh innings. He allowed just the one unearned run in his eight innings of work, and the fans cheered him when he walked off the mound for the last time. Meanwhile, the A’s kept leaving runners on base in each of the first five innings. Billy Butler had his chances to bring in runs with one out, but he couldn’t do anything. In fact, he went 0-for-4 in the game. The video highlight we saw of this date in Major League history was from 1993, and it was the ball that bounced off Jose Canseco’s head for a home run. Kara Tsuboi played Name That Tune with two women, and the tune was “Call Me Maybe.” Instead of getting a Big Head race, he got the Chicken Dance. The A’s did nothing on offense in the sixth and seventh innings. In the eighth inning, Stephen Vogt got an infield hit with two outs, but the A’s still couldn’t score and were running out of outs. Tyler Clippard pitched the top of the ninth and made things a little uncomfortable with two walks and a single, but Phegley helped him with a good throw to get a runner trying to take second base. We saw the video clip of John Belushi in “Animal House” for the first time this year that I can recall. The score was still 1-0 going to the bottom of the ninth inning. Brett Lawrie grounded out. Max Muncy pinch-hit for Phegley but popped out to the second baseman. During a break in which the home plate umpire seemed to suffer an injury, a foolish fan ran out onto the field. As the security guard closed in on him, he dropped down and did some push-ups. Sam Fuld doubled to give the A’s a bit of hope, but Billy Burns hit a ball to left field that was the last out of the game. The game began at 7:07 and ended at 10:05. The game time temperature was 56 degrees, and it got pretty cold out there in the stands. Attendance was 22,758. I thought it was a good crowd for a cold Tuesday night. Besides the lack of hitting at key moments, the A’s showed some mistakes with their infield play. It looked like Marcus Semien and Brett Lawrie should have made plays that were scored as hits. It was a forgettable game. I was in a rush to get home and get back to my warm apartment. In the BART train, the fan in the suit stood next to me and asked me questions about my life as a math teacher. He commented that Kara Tsuboi didn’t look like she just had a baby. I found that my mailbox was stuffed with mail. I got the Blu-ray of “Persona” and the video game “Tomba!” I also got more mail about my money. I saw Elizabeth Banks on the Jimmy Kimmel show and Michelle Obama on Jimmy Fallon’s show. Some of the people who died on May 27 include Nicolo Paganini (1840), Thomas Bulfinch (1867), Robert L. Ripley (1949), Jeffrey Hunter (1969), Jeff Conaway (2011), and Gil Scott-Heron (2011). Today is a birthday for Siouxsie Sioux (58), Cilla Black (72), Louis Gossett, Jr. (79), and Christopher Lee (93). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for May 27, singer-songwriter Declan MacManus performed at the Nashville Rooms in London for the first time as Elvis Costello in 1977. In 1994, the live-action adaptation of The Flintstones, starring John Goodman, Rick Moranis, Elizabeth Perkins, Rosie O’Donnell, Kyle MacLachlan, Halle Berry, and Elizabeth Taylor, was released.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

