Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

I went out to the office and answered the important messages that I had. I tried not to let money matters overwhelm my thoughts. I took the bus over to Emeryville so that I could catch the 11:15 showing of “Mad Max: Fury Road.” I figured it might be the last time I ever see it in 3D. I listened to a few innings of the A’s game in Detroit. I stopped by Barnes and Noble and bought the special edition of Rolling Stone magazine that was about U2. Hardly anyone was there for the movies. That’s the way I like it, though. If Charlize Theron doesn’t appear in the sequels to come, it’ll be a shame. I thought Tom Hardy came off as being a bit of a dumb Max. I took the bus home and had something to eat. I watched the first half of the Warriors game. The Cavaliers played some good defense and grabbed a lot of rebounds, but I hated some of their shot selections. During the halftime break, I went over to the record store. I bought a Paul McCartney CD and also a Playstation 2 game. I returned to watch the rest of the game. I had the feeling the Cavaliers blew it by not making their last shot of the fourth quarter. I watched the DVD of “Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.” Steve Carell and Jennifer Garner were the adults of the family, and there were four children. One son was a junior in high school, the daughter was in the eighth grade, Alexander was 12 years old, and there was a baby who was attached to a bumblebee pacifier. Alexander experiences a bad day, and wanting to get some sympathy, he wishes for his family to know what it’s like to experience a terrible day. He seems to curse his family for a day, which happens to be his birthday. For some reason, he has an interest in Australia. I did, too, perhaps back in 1987, which was long after I got tired of Men at Work. I thought that Steve was pretty funny. He had good scenes with a job interview and in a Japanese restaurant. I looked at Jennifer Garner’s face and thought that she’s aged a bit since having children. I wasn’t too sure that she was a good match for Carell. She had a very funny scene that involved a children’s book and Dick Van Dyke. I couldn’t help thinking about how long it’s been since “Mary Poppins.” He was back with Disney for this one. I think I’m getting sick of the plot device where a video goes viral on the Internet. We saw it in “Birdman.” Jennifer Coolidge was a DMV employee. I think I’ve seen too much of her on television. The daughter was a memorable character who had a hilarious scene in a school production of “Peter Pan.” The older brother was the only one I found to be forgettable. The van in this movie brought to my mind the van in “Little Miss Sunshine,” largely because of the presence of Steve Carell in both movies. I would not call any of this material brilliant or original, but I thought it was a pretty good family movie. I don’t see many funny movies anymore. I think that no one has a sense of humor. One bit that I thought was almost nauseating was the older brother’s realization that his family was important to him. It made me flash back to decades ago to what was in countless Disney films of the past. It was kind of funny that this movie should have Steve Carell and Jennifer Garner because I thought they would have been a good pair for “Get Smart.” There was a moment at the end with Carell and a kangaroo that reminded me of the trailer for the recent Paul Blart movie. This movie was at the Grand Lake Theater for a brief time. I wondered if anyone went out to see it. It was overshadowed by “Gone Girl,” although it did bring in almost $67 million. I don’t know too much about Judith Viorst, other than she is still alive and 84 years old. I thought that Ed Oxenbould, who played Alexander, might have a big future in the movies, although I would hate to see him end up like Corey Haim. I heard on the news that the A’s won their game by a score of 7-5. They gave up some late runs and had to use Tyler Clippard. One of the channels was showing the Civil War movie “Glory,” which I liked except for the casting of Matthew Broderick. I saw that one channel was showing old game shows like Match Game and Tattletales. I didn’t know who the celebrity Susan was in the Match Game show. Orson Bean, William Shatner, and Phyllis Diller were on Tattletales. This game show premiered in 1974 with Jerry Stiller and Anne Meara, Bobby Van and Elaine Joyce, and Dick Gautier and Barbara Stuart. Suze Orman was on another channel telling the audience she was 62 years old. She talked about losing money, which alarmed me. Christopher Knight, Peter Brady from television, is in the Bosley commercial. I fell asleep while listening to the McCartney CD. Since I’ve become rich, I haven’t been able to enjoy the money. It’s supposed to give me security, but I have many doubts. I watched Gayle King on CBS This Morning, and she said that she stayed up to watch the Warriors and Cavaliers. Norah O’Donnell seemed like she was much less excited about basketball games. Some of the people who died on June 5 include Carl Maria von Weber (1826), Stephen Crane (1900), O. Henry (1910), Conway Twitty (1993), Vito Scotti (1996), Jeanette Nolan (1998), Dee Dee Ramone (2002), and Ronald Reagan (2004). Today is a birthday for Marky Mark (44) and Jeff Garlin (53). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for June 5, the Frank Sinatra movie “Come Blow Your Horn” was released in 1963. In 1974, Sly Stone and Kathy Silva got married during a concert at Madison Square Garden. In 1977, Alice Cooper’s pet boa constrictor was bitten by a rat it was trying to eat and died. In 1988, “Phantom of the Opera” won seven Tony Awards, including Best Musical. In 2002, Dee Dee Ramone was found dead at age 50 from a heroin overdose in his Hollywood apartment.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

