When Marnie Was There

After I awoke, I watched the NUMB3RS episode “Tabu.” The story made me think of Patricia Hearst. I spent the morning doing my laundry. I read a little bit of the Tolstoy novel. I didn’t want to watch “The Young and the Restless.” I took a seat in the library and planned out my weekend. I walked over to the theatre to see the subtitled version of “When Marnie Was There,” possibly the last Studio Ghibli film. They would show the dubbed version later in the afternoon, but I’m familiar enough with the Japanese language that I prefer the subtitled version. One thing I can say is that you’ll have to plug your ears if you see people walking out of theatre after they see it. You’re sure to overhear people talking about a key plot point and how unsatisfying it was. The movie does have some meaningful emotion in it, although sometimes it feels that it is moving along too slowly. We see the wind blowing as it did in Hayao Miyazaki’s films. The story is dominated by female characters. I noticed two notable characters, and one of them barely said anything. One thing about this film is that I couldn’t see why it had to be animated. I guess there was the matter of controlling the weather and the tides. There was a lot of crying in this story, and misery. There was a strange mix of Japanese and English with names and blonde girls, which made for an unreal atmosphere. Anna seem to spend too much time out of the house. I couldn’t imagine the adults just letting her go out and nearly die out there. I wondered if the time frame was right. Some of the scenes looked like they were out of “The Great Gatsby.” I didn’t see Anna as the type who wrote postcards. The girl in the house made me think of “Rebecca.” I also thought of Henry James while I was watching this movie. I didn’t think I was just imagining similarities between this movie and “The Wind Rises.” I liked the animation a lot because it didn’t have that machine and computerized look to it. I got a little bit tired of watching Anna with her troubled emotions for so long. She lost a lot of our sympathy when she insulted a girl at the festival. The relationship between her and Marnie was uncomfortable at times. I thought they were edging towards some emerging sexuality. The revelation about Marnie’s identity was not so convincing. I think it’s an instance where an English language book doesn’t quite fit the Japanese setting or the language. I tried to imagine the film with American actors doing the voices. I wouldn’t say that the Japanese actors were anything brilliant. Anna’s behavior was a bit too strange. She seemed like she was in a trance, doing things that didn’t make any sense. If this really is the last of the Ghibli films, they concluded on a respectable note, though not on their best note. I’m not sure that I really liked any Ghibli film since “Howl’s Moving Castle.” I was hoping that Miyazaki would not retire, but just work at a slower pace. He’s contributed a lot to the art of animation. I don’t know if he can reach a little deeper and produce something great again at this point, but I’d like to see him try. I shopped for groceries. I went over to the record store and found a copy of the Partridge Family’s “Shopping Bag” for two dollars. It was kind of a shame that the free shopping bag was missing. The girl at the cash register said to me, “See you later,” implying that she recognized me and knew that I would return soon. I ate at Bongo Burger before watching two episodes of The Big Bang Theory before the Partridge Family episode “Tale of Two Hamsters.” I noticed that Chris’ arm had black marks from the marker he was using for autographs. The featured songs were “Twenty-Four Hours a Day” and “I Woke Up I Love This Morning.” I watched the second Monty Python episode, which featured a man with three buttocks. I watched Marcia Wallace in two different game shows. I wondered what she did between The Bob Newhart Show and The Simpsons. One of the shows was from 1981. “Sleuth” was one of the movies on television, and I caught the last few minutes. I never saw the remake with Jude Law, but I couldn’t imagine that it would be nearly as good as the original. Michael Caine was very good in the original movie, although his last moment on screen was a bit melodramatic. On the Carol Burnett Show, I saw Maggie Smith. The boxing scene reminded me of “City Lights.” Harvey Korman was exceptionally funny. I had forgotten that Edward James Olmos was in “Miami Vice.” He was Castillo. Don Johnson had a dazed expression on his face before the opening credits. The panel of To Tell the Truth included Tom Poston and Polly Bergen. One of the sponsors was Helene Curtis. An Anacin sign was prominent on the set. I like watching the old commercials. I saw that Arlene Francis was on the panel of What’s My Line? I saw the end of “Jurassic Park.” Steven Spielberg showed his face and seemed to be promoting the new “Jurassic World” movie. Laura Dern still looked young. Jimmy Kimmel spoke with a contestant from The Price is Right who was in a wheelchair but won a treadmill and a sauna. Another of his guests was from the Mad Max movie, but it wasn’t Charlize Theron or Tom Hardy. Amanda Seyfried was on the Fallon show, apparently to promote “Ted 2.” I wondered if I should go see it. I find it hard to believe that this sequel could be any good. Amanda said that Marky Mark was an animal lover. She said that her character in the movie was a stoner lawyer. Some of the people who died on June 6 include Louise Lumière (1948), Carl Jung (1961), Jack Haley (1979), Stan Getz (1991), James Bridges (1993), Anne Bancroft (2005), and Billy Preston (2006). Today is a birthday for Paul Giamatti (48), Bjorn Borg (59), Cynthia Rylant (61), and Gary U.S. Bonds (76). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for June 6, The Dixie Cups’ “Chapel of Love” was the Number One single in 1964. In 1972, David Bowie released his album “The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders From Mars.” In 1979, the Mel Gibson movie “Mad Max” was released. Also in 1979, Jack Haley, who was the Tin Man in “The Wizard of Oz,” died of cancer at age 79. In 1992, David Bowie married Iman in Switzerland.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

