Spy

I watched CBS Sunday Morning and took a walk. I took the bus out to Jack London Square and looked at a lot of people who wore Warriors caps and shirts. I bought my ticket and took a seat forty minutes before the movie was to start. I fell asleep for a while and saw that the room had filled up with people. It seemed that many women had affection for Melissa McCarthy. “Spy” started with a credit sequence that was reminiscent of a James Bond movie. Jude Law did seem like a Bond type. The plot was unimportant. I didn’t pay too much attention to it. Melissa is subjected to humiliation, and her size is part of many gags. Some of the humor goes into the unbelievable, with bats in the building. One of those women who laughed way too loudly was sitting to my right, and other people in the theatre were getting annoyed with her. When Melissa had to run after someone, I couldn’t believe that she could keep up. It looked like a physical role for her. The C.I.A. looked like they were incompetent. It was like watching a Get Smart episode. I didn’t realize until afterwards that the movie was rated R. Some of the humor was rougher than I expected. The supporting players were funny, which was important to making the movie work. The spies in these movies are loud and conspicuous. It’s like they don’t want to keep anything secret. Rose Byrne was a villain. She reminded me of Tina Fey in “The Muppets Most Wanted.” How is it that these spies can know how to fly jets and helicopters from practicing on simulators? The ending with the helicopter was like “22 Jump Street,” or at least that it was I vaguely recall. 50 Cent made an appearance. I wouldn’t say that he has a future in movies based on his scenes. The end credit sequence also made me think of “22 Jump Street.” “Bridesmaids” was a movie that generated enthusiasm. “Spy” was part of what was supposedly a lackluster box office weekend. A lot of people in the audience yesterday were rushing home to catch the Warriors game on television. I took the buses back home and took a break from the game to listen to Robert Hilburn’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Times program. He played live tracks from Elvis Presley, James Brown, and Janis Joplin. I think my favorite song during the hour was “Suspicious Minds.” Hilburn praised last week’s U2 concert at the Forum. Their tour didn’t pass my way this year. Did they expect me to make a trip all the all over to San Jose? I thought that LeBron James’ three-point shot was the killing blow in the game, but the Warriors did tie the game and force it to go overtime. The Cavaliers committed a couple of bad fouls. It was a tense contest that didn’t go the Warriors’ way this time. I was glad that I didn’t pay $800 for a ticket to see this loss. I haven’t checked the ticket prices for Game 5 yet. I watched a Columbo episode that had Lee Grant. Columbo felt uncomfortable riding in an airplane. Columbo didn’t crack the case through the evidence. It was more like forcing a mistake through the use of money. I could not stand to sit down and watch the Tony Awards. I heard that Helen Mirren won an award. Roberta Gonzales said that a heat wave was supposed to hit us today. We’re supposed to have the hottest day of the year so far today. In recent weeks, I’ve bought Beatles albums in mono on vinyl, but I haven’t listened to any of them yet. Some of the people who died on June 8 include Andrew Jackson (1845), George Sand (1876), Robert Ford (1892), Robert Taylor (1969), and Frank Cady (2012). Today is a birthday for Kanye West (38), Griffin Dunne (60), Bonnie Tyler (64), Sonia Braga (65), Nancy Sinatra (75), James Darren (79), and Jerry Stiller (88). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for June 8, Brian Jones left the Rolling Stones in 1969, one month before his death. In 1974, Dolly Parton’s “I Will Always Love You” was Number One on the country singles chart. In 1984, “Ghostbusters” was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

