Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country

When my mother phoned me, I had to remind her that it was Monday and not Sunday. It was hard to believe that we were going to experience a heat wave, but that was the case. I worked my usual shift, not wanting to stay any longer. What is the point with the money I have? I stopped at home long enough to have a late lunch. I took the bus over to the Grand Lake Theater to see “Mad Max: Fury Road” again. I’m not yet tired of seeing it, although I disliked the shot of Max stepping on the lizard. I liked Charlize Theron a lot and again thought it would be a shame to not see her in one of the sequels. I stopped by Trader Joe’s to buy a few items to tide me over. The cashier asked me if I thought the Warriors purposely lost Game 2. If that were the case, why would they go into overtime to lose? As I was getting ready to watch the DVD of “Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country,” the power went out. I sat around for a while before I listened to my radio and learned that is was a widespread power outage. I fell asleep for a while. The electricity came back on after two hours, and I watched the movie. I was struck by the sight of the aging actors. William Shatner was too old to do fight scenes. DeForest Kelley looked like he was barely hanging on to life. James Doohan looked like he weighed far too much to be on any kind of a ship. Nichelle Nichols should have been at another job. George Takei was the captain of another ship, with Grace Lee Whitney on board. Kim Cattrall was a Vulcan. Christian Slater and Christopher Plummer were also in the cast. The Star Trek world was changing, with peace talks with the Klingons and the original crew in its last days. The plot had Kirk and McCoy standing trial for a crime, and crew members disobeying orders. The movie was released two years after the destruction of the Berlin Wall, during the same year that Gene Roddenberry died. The fifth movie was forgettable and laughable, so there was a need to get back to the things we liked about Star Trek movies. I thought the movie was somewhat slow in its pace, the intrigue of the plot was not so fascinating. A lot of it involved a search for magnetic boots. Some of the dialogue could have used revision. Spock shows anger. If someone shoots at you with a phaser as you’re being beamed up, can you suffer an injury? My guess would be yes. It seemed that the Enterprise took a lot of hits towards the end. I thought it would crumple like an aluminum can. The ending was hard to accept, with everyone on hand. It seemed to have more in common with “Tootsie” than an action movie. This movie was a definite improvement over the wretched fifth movie, but the whole thing perhaps should have ended with the second. I will say that I liked the improved computer graphics and images. I didn’t like those meaningless colored lights that were on the deck in the original television show. I wasn’t too sure about McCoy’s medical instruments, though. They looked like they didn’t do anything. Considering his age, I don’t think I’d let McCoy be my doctor. Walter Koenig was reliable, although I don’t know why he was in some of those scenes. The Vulcans did a lot of lying in this movie. I lost respect for them. There was a lot of the Klingon language without subtitles. There were too many Shakespeare references. The screenwriters should have shown a bit more restraint. Leonard Nimoy had a hand in the story and was executive producer. I kept thinking that it was too long between the last television episode and the first movie. They should have been done with these movies around 1980. McCoy was too frail to survive on that freezing planet. We could have used a movie that was along the lines of “The Trouble with Tribbles.” When did the ears of the Vulcans become so big? Sulu was more interesting when he was with the Enterprise. One of the lessons is that everyone gets boring with age. One thing I noticed in this movie was the food preparation. They had a lot of pots and pans, and they used knives. I thought some of the makeup on the Klingons didn’t look too good. Kirk was wearing a hairpiece. I thought he had to be tiring of giving the same commands over and over. I would have thought that the Klingons would know all his tactics at this point. It’s like a baseball pitcher studying the batters. The last moments of “The Undiscovered Country” were rather sad. It was more than twenty years after the original television series had ended, and the cast could go on together forever. Those early days were fun. The big productions were just bigger, but necessarily more enjoyable. The best days of watching Star Trek were the few years before 1979, when a lot of us were discovering the television show. The scene with Kirk making a speech on the words “We the People” were hilarious and unforgettable. “Rio Grande” was on Channel 2.3. It was one of those John Ford films with John Wayne and Maureen O’Hara. It’s too bad that it was in black and white. I like a good John Ford movie. The same channel was going to show “The Last Detail” and “Catch 22.” I saw Jessica Lange in “Frances” on another channel. This movie made a strong impression on me when I saw it during the 1980s. Edie Falco was a guest on a couple of the late shows. Jimmy Fallon and Cindy Williams were on the Today show promoting their books. I doubt that I would buy either of their books. I thought Cindy Williams had a good role in “Travels with My Aunt,” and I wondered what happened to her after her television show. Some of the people who died on June 9 include Charles Dickens (1870), Robert Donat (1958), Allen Ludden (1981), Claudio Arrau (1991), Arthur Alexander (1993), and Alexis Smith (1993). Today is a birthday for Johnny Depp (52), Michael J. Fox (54), Dick Vitale (76), and Jackie Mason (84). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for June 9, “The Wise Little Hen,” featuring the debut of Donald Duck, was released in 1934. In 1981, Allen Ludden, host of the game show Password and husband of Betty White, died at age 63 of stomach cancer in Los Angeles. In 1994, Lisa Left Eye Lopes set fire to Andre Rison’s sneakers, resulting in his mansion burning down.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

