Josh Reddick’s Walk-Off Fielder’s Choice

I saw the rain in the morning and got discouraged. I went out to the office to work on my writing and download updates for my computer. I went out to the grocery store, and I came back home to watch the end of “Donovan’s Reef.” John Ford was a great director. The next movie was “Oklahoma Crude” with Faye Dunaway and George C. Scott. It made me think of “It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World,” except with oil. The movie was not great, but it reminded me of some old days that I miss. I didn’t feel like watching the Joan Crawford movie that followed. I thought I might be receiving a FedEx package, but the hour was getting late. I made my way to the BART station. I got to the Coliseum and browsed through the team store. I wanted to buy a big pennant but decided that I would wait for another day. I was too hungry to wait until I got home, so I bought a Polish sausage and took it to my seat. I fell asleep for about fifteen minutes during batting practice. Not many people were seated in my section. It had rained through most of the day, so I wondered about the condition of the field. I was thinking about that infamous cancelled game last year after the crew didn’t cover the infield overnight before some rain came. I had brought a towel and an umbrella, but I didn’t need to use them. The sun came out, and the night was pleasant. The game began with Marcus Semien committing an error, which seemed like a bad omen. Jesse Hahn managed to pitch the first two innings without giving up a run, even though he ran into a bad of trouble with two singles in the second inning. Billy Burns scored the first run for the A’s in the bottom of the first inning. He got an infield hit, and he took second base on an error. After Josh Reddick singled, Burn scored on a ground ball from Ben Zobrist. Things started to come apart for Jesse Hahn in the third quarter. He made a mistake by walking a Rangers player whose batting average was .197. After three singles and two batters hit by a pitch, the Rangers were ahead by 3-1. Hahn didn’t last through the fourth inning, after he gave up a walk and two singles and hit a batter with a pitch, the score was 4-1. The switch-pitcher Pat Venditte got the last out ending the top of the seventh inning. The A’s manage an answer in the bottom of the inning. Stephen Vogt doubled and moved to third base on a passed ball. He would come in to score a run on Brett Lawrie’s ground ball. Venditte got through sixth inning. Instead of a Big Head race, we saw them in a dance-off with a group of five girls from Orinda. Fernando Abad pitched a clean seventh inning. Evan Scribner allowed a double in the top of the eighth inning, but he prevented the Rangers from scoring. The A’s managed nothing on offense until the bottom of the eighth inning. It started with Josh Reddick singling. Two more singles, a walk, and an error produced two runs to tie the game at 4-4. Clippard came in to pitch for the A’s, and he had a clean inning. The bottom of the ninth inning started with Marcus Semien grounding out. Sam Fuld struck out his previous two times at bat, but this time he hit a single. He stole second base, and took third base on Billy Burns’ infield hit. Josh Reddick came up to bat, and he swung at the first pitch. The ball went to Adam Rosales at second base, who threw to home plate too late to prevent Fuld from scoring the winning run. It was the A’s first walk-off win this year. I was glad that I had taken the day off from work. The game started at 7:07 and ended at 10:12. Attendance was 14,290. One thing I noticed about the scoreboard was that the black square on the screen that was there on Tuesday was gone. During the game, we saw a highlight of Pete Rose reaching a milestone. I listened to the postgame radio show, and they gave credit to the relief pitchers for giving the A’s the chance to win in the late innings. I quickly made my way over to the BART station. On the train, two girls standing near me did their 2 Legit 2 Quit dance. Crazy Legs, the old man who sells kettle corn in the stands at the Coliseum, had a big suitcase with him, and he seemed angry that he had missed his stop. He acts like he has money problems. I got home just after eleven o’clock. I found a lot of financial information in my mailbox. I sat down for the eleven o’clock news. Dennis O’Donnell reported from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. It looked like some Rolling Stones memorabilia was behind him. If I visit Cleveland next year, I could be reported from the same spot myself. I took a look at the late night talk shows, but I didn’t want to watch Whoopi Goldberg or Christian Slater. I heard the news about the death of Christopher Lee, who was 93 years old. He couldn’t live forever. The news anchors at KPIX were confident that the Warriors would win tonight. They were thinking back to the series with Memphis in making this prediction. Roberta Gonzales said that she has been a Warriors game since the 1980s. Gianna Franco said that she could barely watch the end of Game 3. Michelle Griego said that no team was come back from a 3-1 deficit to win the NBA championship. The weather has gone from rain to heat within 24 hours. My goal this morning is to get back out to the stadium for Throwback Thursday in time to get my fourth button of the season. I am wearing my white and blue cap today. I need to go to the sporting goods store to buy a pump for inflating my basketball and football. Some of the people who died on June 11 include John Wayne (1979), DeForest Kelley (1999), David Brinkley (2003), and Ann Rutherford (2012). Today is a birthday for Joe Montana (59), Adrienne Barbeau (70), Jackie Stewart (76), and Gene Wilder (82). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for June 11, the Rolling Stones had the Number One single in 1966, “Paint It, Black.” In 1969, the John Wayne movie “True Grit” was released. In 1982, Steven Spielberg’s film “E.T. – the Extraterrestrial” was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

