Scott Kazmir’s Velocity Increase

I took some time out to go on the Internet before I left for the Coliseum. The day was getting warm. I left behind my towel and umbrella, which I needed on Wednesday. I walked around the stadium and stood in the shade until it was nearly time for the gates to open. I was glad to get my Sam Chapman button. I wanted to buy a bratwurst, but the woman at the counter was so unfriendly that I decided to eat after the game. I took my seat in the sun. At 11:58, we heard the Warren Zevon song “Lawyers, Guns and Money,” which had a bad word in it for all to hear. Scott Kazmir hadn’t won a game in a long time, but this would be a good day for him. His fastball wasn’t very impressive in the first inning, according to the radio announcers, but the velocity would increase as the game went on. I didn’t know how that could be possible unless Kazmir was purposely holding back in the early going. We saw that the stadium scoreboard’s format had been altered so that batting average and ERA were not displayed. I found that immensely irritating. Perhaps fans had been complaining that there was too much information up there. We heard Bruce Springsteen’s “Glory Days” just before the game started. Kazmir allowed only one walk through the first four innings. He gave up a single in the fifth inning and another walk in the seventh inning, but that was it through the eight innings that he pitched. He did get some help from Billy Burns, who made two excellent catches in centerfield. Burns also scored the first run of the game in the first inning. He drew a walk and stole second base. Josh Reddick’s single pushed him to third base, and Ben Zobrist’s single brought him home. In the second inning, we saw a highlight of the 2003 Astros pitching a no-hitter. In the fourth inning, Kara Tsuboi played Name That Tune with two fans, and the tune was Taylor Swift’s “Shake It Off.” In the fifth inning, we heard Katy Perry’s “Firework” and the chicken dance. In the sixth inning, Kara Tsuboi spoke with Sam Chapman’s sons, and they talked about the days of the Philadelphia A’s. There were no Big Heads racing or dancing on this afternoon. We heard James Brown’s “I Got You” during the seventh inning stretch. The score was still 1-0 going to the bottom of the eighth inning, but this was when the game was decided. Stephen Vogt walked, and after a pitching change, Brett Lawrie made an out. Mark Canha then stepped to the plate and impressively hit the ball over the left field fence for two runs. Josh Phegley walked, and then went to third on Sam Fuld’s double. Billy Burns hit a sacrifice fly, making the score 4-0. Fuld stole third base before Andy Parrino drew a walk. After another pitching change, Josh Reddick hit the three-run home run that put the game away with a 7-0 score. Tyler Clippard had been warming up, but with six runs scored in the inning, Evan Scribner was brought out. The only suspense now was whether Scribner could complete the shutout. The first two batters made outs that were balls hit out to centerfield. Canha then caught a line drive to end the game. This game started at 12:37 and ended at 3:12. Attendance was 14,489. I kept thinking about how I should change my season ticket plan for next year. Two songs we heard during the game were “Low Rider” and “La Bamba.” It was one of those beautiful afternoons that I didn’t want to end. If I don’t take a trip to Cleveland next year to see the A’s play the Indians, I would like to go to New York. I took the train and stopped by Bongo Burger before I went home. I took a shower to wash the sunscreen from my skin. I watched the first half of the Warriors game. They fell behind 7-0 but then took control. During halftime, I went over to the record store and bought the complete DVD set of “The Wire” and the Playstation game “Baldur’s Gate: Dark Alliance.” I watched the second half until the score got out of hand, and so I left for the theatre to catch the Flashback Feature, “Taxi Driver.” I suppose I got a little bit more out of it. The audience reacted to the $1.85 Travis spent on candy, popcorn, and soda, getting a lot out of his money. It looked like he was buying donuts at the liquor store after he swore not to eat any more bad food. I kept thinking that he should have had a color television set. He was willing to spend all that money for guns. I thought that Peter Boyle was a perfect fit for his role, but I wasn’t too sure about Harvey Keitel. It seemed that there were racial issues in the script that Scorsese was downplaying. I wondered whether Iris’ name was in those newspaper articles. I could imagine that adjusting to a normal life would have been extremely difficult for her. I could have done without most of the relationship with Betsy. She was a fool for saying that she felt some kind of a connection with Travis. I wondered what she was doing by herself at the end of the movie. “The Texas Chainsaw Massacre” was on one movie theatre marquee. The movie ended at 11:01. I couldn’t stand seeing Richard Dawson in “Fantasy Island.” “Good Neighbor Sam” was on one of the channels. I could have stayed up to watch it, but I needed to wake up early for work. I liked the shot of the sheep in the car. I liked Dorothy Provine. Neil Hamilton and Edward G. Robinson were also in the cast. My plan today is to go out to see “Jurassic World” after work. I don’t care what the reviews might say. I heard the news that Ornette Coleman had died. Some of the people who died on June 12 include Norma Shearer (1983), Gregory Peck (2003), György Ligeti (2006), and Don Herbert (2007). Today is a birthday for Chick Corea (74), Jim Nabors (85), George Bush (91), and David Rockefeller (100). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for June 12, “You Only Live Twice” had its London premiere at the Odeon Cinema in 1967. In 1968, Roman Polanski’s “Rosemary’s Baby” was released. In 1971, Honey Cone had the Number One single, “Want Ads.” In 1987, “Predator” was released.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

