St. Vincent

The news crews were outside the Library Gardens all day. I went to the office to finish some writing, and then I opened my UPS package to see papers I didn’t expect. They weren’t the helpful documents I’d hoped for. I went grocery shopping, and then I had lunch. I watched the DVD of “St. Vincent,” a comedy featuring Bill Murray, Melissa McCarthy, and Naomi Watts. Murray is the next-door neighbor, a curmudgeon named Vincent. McCarthy is Maggie, the single mother with a 12-year-old son named Oliver, and Watts is the pregnant stripper named Daka. Maggie has to leave her son with Vincent as she works. Thankfully, the two go off on adventures, like going to the race track. This part of the story made me think back to “The Reivers.” It’s not exactly fresh and original, but I was still amused, anyway. I guess in the old days of Saturday Night Live, I thought it might be cool to hang out with Bill Murray. Maggie plays mostly the straight part in this comedy. I’d have to say that Melissa McCarthy was pretty good in the role, reminded me a bit of Roseanne Barr. I wouldn’t say that I would put her in dramas, though. Daka speaks with a Russian accent, and I wouldn’t rate Naomi Watts’ rendition as the most convincing. I did like watching her in “You Will Meet a Tall Dark Stranger” and “While We’re Young.” Vincent helps Oliver deal with a bully at school, which seemed like a scene out of “Bad Santa,” at least to me. I think the kid comes to some questionable conclusions about Vincent, and he has to share it all with the entire school. Terrence Howard is in the cast. I remember him for a scene in “Crash” that I have been trying to forget. Vincent suffers some bad health at one point, and Bill Murray did not convince me of that through his acting. Is Bill Murray an actor at all? I think I enjoyed this movie more than “Lost in Translation.” It faded from my memory quite quickly, however. I think it’s because I’ve seen these situations in movies of the past many times before. I think the movie could have used a different title. I liked the bit at the end with Bob Dylan’s “Shelter From the Storm.” It made me think of the lounge singer in Saturday Night Live, though. I’d say that movie rates a little bit above average because I don’t see too many good comedies these days. I think that everybody in the country has a bad sense of humor. Jerry Seinfeld is critical of college students, but I think he needs to take a larger view. I took the buses out to the Grand Lake Theater so that I could see “Mad Max: Fury Road” again, this time for only five dollars. I wondered about the missing footage. I tried to see a moment where Max gets off the platform at the end. I don’t know how he could have slipped away without being seen by the people standing behind him. I guess no one is very perceptive in this story. I kept thinking that Max lost a lot of blood in the time period the movie covers. I thought that the characters would suffer infections from the unsanitary conditions surrounding their injuries. I really love that final shot of the movie, the most memorable final shot of any movie I’ve seen so far this year. I could go out to see this movie another two or three times before it leaves the theatres. It has to make way for “Inside Out,” however. Perhaps that is the movie that I will go out to see next Tuesday. I took the 57 bus and then the 1R bus. I used a ticket voucher for “Vertigo” for Thursday night. I had to do it in advance because the voucher was about to expire. I returned home for the Warriors game in Cleveland. I had the feeling the Warriors would win after I saw how they came back from five points behind early in the game. I thought back to 1975 and hearing Dinah Shore talk about the Warriors back then. I heard some young people outside celebrating and chanting. I didn’t take this championship too personally. After all, I’m not the one who has won anything. I washed my face and shaved because I knew I looked terrible. I’m glad that there will be no Game 7 because it would have been hellish to go out to the Coliseum for a fireworks night for the A’s with a big basketball game going on next door. It didn’t feel right to go around celebrating, considering the people who died earlier in the day. People brought flowers and left them on the sidewalk. I kept thinking about “Inside Out” and whether I should see it on Monday or Tuesday. I was starting to think that it might be a good movie. After I see it, I’m looking forward to the Woody Allen movie, the Peanuts movie, and the Star Wars movie. I’m not sure that there is anything else. I’m not really looking forward to the second part of The Maze Runner. If I had some extra money right now, I might use it to buy a new video game console. I saw Sheldon of The Big Bang Theory go through some indecision about which one he should buy. I could spend the money on a new pair of eyeglasses. I could plan that trip to Cleveland or Chicago. When I saw Stephen Curry’s wife, I wondered if he was going to spend the rest of his life with her. It was the way she kept telling her daughter about winning the whole thing. Some of the people who died on June 17 include Jeff Chandler (1961), Kate Smith (1986), John Matuszak (1989), and Cyd Charisse (2008). Today is a birthday for Thomas Haden Church (55), Jello Biafra (57), and Barry Manilow (72). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for June 17, “The Terror,” starring Boris Karloff and Jack Nicholson, was released in 1963. In 1977, “Exorcist II: The Heretic” was released, featuring Linda Blair, Louise Fletcher, Richard Burton, Max von Sydow, Kitty Winn, Paul Henreid, James Earl Jones, and Ned Beatty. In 1994, “Wolf,” starring Jack Nicholson, Michelle Pfeiffer, and James Spader, was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

