Billy Butler’s Three-Run Blast

I went out early in the morning to buy the Oakland Tribune because the news about the Warriors was on the front page. I was slow to get up out of bed. I found that someone asked me a tax question in a message. I made an appointment with the optometrist. I watched episodes of Goober and the Ghost Chasers to make sure that cleaning the discs made a difference. I fell asleep for a while. I went out to the record store and saw a Bobby Darin box set that I wanted to buy. When the hour got late, I started to leave for the Coliseum. I was hungry when I arrived, but I decided that I had only six dollars to spend. A hot dog cost $5.25, so I decided that I would wait until afterwards to buy any food. We used to be able to buy hot dogs for a dollar on Wednesdays. It’s just as well because I shouldn’t eat many of them, anyway. I discovered that almost no one was sitting in my section. I wonder why the computer gave me a seat with empty rows in front of me. It was Pride Night, and some fans were given special little flags and wristbands. The San Diego Padres were the visiting team. We saw a highlight of this date in baseball history, which was Ron Guidry’s 18 strikeouts in 1978. Jesse Chavez was the starting pitcher for the A’s, and he did extremely well in the first five innings, allowing only two singles. In the bottom of the first inning, Billy Burns led off with a double. Marcus Semien followed with a single. After Josh Reddick popped out, Ben Zobrist singled, bringing in Burns for the game’s first run. Stephen Vogt struck out, but then Billy Butler came through with a big home run, making the score 4-0. Already the A’s were on their way to winning this game. They got one more run in the third inning. Ben Zobrist tripled and came home on a sacrifice fly. Jesse Chavez gave up a home run on his first pitch of the sixth inning, making the score 5-1. He got six of the next seven Padres batters out, allowing a walk. In his seven innings, Chavez got 11 strikeouts. We saw two of the three Big Heads race, with Rickey Henderson standing around due to an equipment problem. Rollie Fingers won the race, although they didn’t count the result in the standings. The bottom of the seventh inning began with a single from Mark Canha, prompting a pitching change. Eric Sogard drew a walk, and Billy Burns singled to load the bases. Marcus Semien hit a sacrifice fly to bring in Mark Canha for a 6-1 score. After Reddick made an out, Zobrist doubled for two more runs, and he went to third base on an error. Vogt singled for one more run, making the score 9-1. After another pitching change, Butler singled, but Lawrie struck out. After we heard “We Are Family,” Fernando Abad came into the game to pitch the top of the eighth inning. He gave up a home run, but then got the next three batters out. The score was 9-2, but the A’s would score more runs in the bottom of the eighth inning. With one out, Sogard doubled. Burns singled and Semien walked to load the bases. Reddick singled for one run, and Zobrist singled for two more runs. The next four A’s batters, Butler, Lawrie, Canha, and Sogard, all got hits, with Lawrie getting a double, and at the end of this string of hits, the score was 16-2. The Padres sent their shortstop out to the mound to pitch and get the last out, which was a fly ball to right field from Billy Burns. The A’s had Arnold Leon pitch the top of the ninth inning. He allowed only a single with two outs. The last out of the game was a force out at second base. The game began at 7:07 with a temperature of 61 degrees at the first pitch. The last out came at 9:56. The A’s had 20 hits in the game. We saw Kara Tsuboi play Name That Tune with two fans in the fifth inning. The song was “Firework.” Attendance was 20,625. I hurried towards the BART station. Some people on the bridge were selling Warriors caps and shirts. I was tempted to buy something but didn’t want a shirt that would fade after a couple of washings. The night had become pretty cold for the end of spring. I stopped by La Burrita before I went home. I bought a shredded chicken burrito and ate it while I watched the news. I heard that the Mariners shut out the Giants, 2-0. I was too tired to wait for James Corden. I saw Jimmy Kimmel give one of those evil Fathers’ Day video assignments to his audience. I had to get up early to go out to another baseball game this afternoon. It is a Throwback Thursday, and I have to get my Dick Williams button. Looking at my schedule, it seems that I won’t be able to see “Inside Out” until Monday or Tuesday. Some of the people who died on June 18 include Eddie Gaedel (1961), John Cheever (1982), Peter Allen (1992), and Clarence Clemons (2011). Today is a birthday for Carol Kane (63), Isabella Rossellini (63), and Paul McCartney (73). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for June 18, the “Gunsmoke” radio program aired for the last time in 1961. In 1969, “The Wild Bunch,” starring William Holden and Ernest Borgnine, was released. In 1971, “Willard,” starring Bruce Davison, Elsa Lanchester, Ernest Borgnine, and Sondra Locke, was released. In 1993, the Arnold Schwarzenegger movie “Last Action Hero” was released.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

