Kendall Graveman’s Improvement

I went out to the office, but felt discouraged when another teachers said that a couple of students had complained about me. I tried to enjoy the rest of my day. I took the bus downtown, and then I took BART to the Coliseum. I saw a line outside the Warriors Team Store at the Oracle Arena, and so I joined the crowd. They had the caps with the NBA Champions 2015 logo, and so I bought one. They didn’t have any of the shirts everyone was seeking. I stood in line for one hour, and it was a slow-moving hour. I got out of there just in time to go next door to the Coliseum and get through the gate for my Dick Williams button. The security guard recognized me and said hello. I did not buy anything to eat. I just took my seat and waited for the game. Kendall Graveman allowed only one walk through the first three innings. Meanwhile, one day after the A’ scored 16 runs, they had trouble scoring. The Padres got their first run of the afternoon on a home run with two outs in the fourth inning. He allowed another home run in the sixth inning, although the score at that point was only 2-0. The A’s finally scored in the sixth inning with a Josh Phegley home run. We didn’t see a Big Head race before the seventh inning. Instead, Kara gave away some bacon coupons. Graveman escaped some trouble, stranding a runner at third base. During the seventh inning stretch, we heard “Livin’ on a Prayer.” Francisco Rodriguez pitched the top of the eighth inning. He gave up a key point deep in the outfield. Both Josh Reddick and Billy Burns went to catch the ball, and they collided with each other, which allowed the runner to get to third base. The run would come in on a foul ball that Stephen Vogt caught. As in the first, fourth, and seventh innings, the A’s offense did nothing in the eighth inning. They were running out of outs. Evan Scribner came in and pitched a clean ninth inning. In the bottom of the inning, Marcus Semien and Josh Reddick both made outs. Stephen Vogt doubled and took third base on a wild pitch, but Billy Butler struck out to end the game with a 3-1 loss. The game began at 12:37 and ended at 3:16. Attendance was 16,643, and the game time temperature was 61 degrees. When I got home, I found a FedEx package for me with my IRA papers. I signed them and put them in the envelope to send right back. I went over to the record store and bought a Bobby Darin CD box set and a Bruce Springsteen DVD. I dropped off the envelope and went over to the theatre for the Flashback Feature, “Vertigo.” I thought the quality of the picture was very good on the big screen, although I wondered why it got dark in the bookstore. I also wondered why Scotty was driving on the left side of the road to the mission. The woman who sits in front every Thursday night laughs at the most inappropriate times. I think the young audiences of today are very different than in my day. I’m not sure if they understand something like “Vertigo.” I was sad to see Barbara Bel Geddes’ last moment. She was feeling so much despair. I walked home and watched Jimmy Kimmel for a while. Some of the people who died on June 19 include Jean Arthur (1991), William Goldberg (1993), Manute Bol (2010), and Victor Spinetti (2012). Today is a birthday for Paula Abdul (53), Kathleen Turner (61), Ann Wilson (65), Phylicia Rashad (67), and Gena Rowlands (85). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for June 19, Carole King had her first Number One single, the double-sided hit “It’s Too Late” and “I Feel the Earth Move,” in 1971. In 1987, the comedy “Roxanne,” starring Steve Martin and Daryl Hannah, was released. In 1998, the Disney animated film “Mulan” was released. In 2013, James Gandolfini died of a heart attack at age 51 in Rome.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

