Jesse Hahn’s Third Straight Win

I fell asleep while watching the Banacek episode about the carriage that disappeared on the dock. I’ve seen all the episodes already, but I liked watching George Peppard. After I awoke, I watched CBS This Morning and the chef segment. Takashi Yagihashi visited the program. His signature dishes include: Beef short ribs with saifun bean threads, chiyan-pon-men, shrimp chiyahan (Japanese shrimp fried rice), hamachi tacos, pate choux and yuzu ginger lemonade. I visited the coffee shop and had a strawberry-banana smoothie and looked up the playlist for the American Top 40 program for this weekend. The Top 10 songs on June 22, 1974 were “The Entertainer,” “Hollywood Swinging,” “Dancing Machine,” “If You Love Me (Let Me Know),” “Band on the Run,” “Be Thankful for What You Got,” “The Streak,” “Sundown,” “You Make Me Feel Brand New,” and “Billy, Don’t Be a Hero.” I ordered a DVD of “The Pedestrian” from Movie Detective, and a Blu-ray copy of “The Confession” from Barnes and Noble. From Amazon, I bought Super Mario Galaxy 2 for the Wii, and a Partridge Family comic book. I made my way to the BART station. I was a bit annoyed that the train going my way had only three cars. I listened to a couple of Beach Boys CDs because it was Brian Wilson’s birthday. I made my way to the season ticket holder line. A lot of people were ahead of me, but I didn’t mind. I got my Sonny Gray gnome and took my seat. I fell asleep for a while, but I guess no one noticed. Jesse Hahn was the A’s starting pitcher for the afternoon, and he got off to a good start with a clean first inning. The offense gave him a lead in the bottom of the inning when Marcus Semien and Stephen Vogt both doubled, producing one run. Hahn got into trouble in the second inning with a single, a walk, and a passed ball, but he avoided giving up any runs. He had a similar third inning with a single, a walk, and a wild pitch, but he escaped that jam, too. Hahn got on a bit of a roll with eight straight outs and clean fourth and fifth innings. He gave up a tying run in the sixth inning with a single, a walk, and another single. The A’s replied to that run in the bottom of the inning. Vogt singled, but he was out at second when Ben Zobrist hit into a force play. Josh Reddick doubled to break the tie. After Ike Davis struck out, Brett Lawrie also doubled to make the score 3-1. After the Angels made a pitching change, Josh Phegley doubled, making the score 4-1. Eric Sogard singled, but Phegley was out at home plate. In the Big Head race, Rollie Fingers made an impressive late charge to win for the 12th time this year. Brett Lawrie made another error to start the seventh inning. After a strikeout, though, a 6-4-3 double play ended the inning. Hahn got the first two outs of the eighth inning, but after a walk, Bob Melvin took him out of the game and brought in Tyler Clippard. A fly ball to right field was the last out of the inning. In the ninth inning, Clippard threw a lot of pitches to the first two batters. He got the first one out and allowed a single to the second. Th6e second out was a ball to Semien, and the last out of the game was a ball to Reddick. The game started at 1:07 and ended at 4:06. The game time temperature was 66 degrees. Attendance was 26,471. One of the interesting things that happened in the game was Billy Burns’ two infield hits. The biggest news of the day was Max Scherzer’s no-hit game. It was a perfect game through two outs and two strikes in the ninth inning, but a pitch hit the batter. The A’s announcers said that the batter leaned into the pitch and shouldn’t have been given first base. I didn’t understand why Scherzer’s teammates poured chocolate syrup on his head. The scene reminded me of Ann-Margret in “Tommy.” As we were leaving the stadium, some people were walking in the opposite direction for a boxing match with Andre Ward at the Oracle Arena. I checked my messages before I went home. I watched the Goober and the Ghost Chasers episode “The Haunted Wax Museum” before I fell asleep. I was too tired to go out to the stores and look for more Warriors merchandise. I watched Wonder Woman before I watched the Star Trek episode “The Empath.” The episode looked like it was cheaply made, although I didn’t mind that. I thought it would be a good choice for Star Trek in the Park. I wondered what I was missing this weekend by going to these baseball games instead of seeing “Inside Out.” “A Few Good Men” was the movie that was on KQED. I was interested in the Glen Campbell program they were showing, but I didn’t want to stay up past 12:30. The last song was “Gentle on My Mind.” I’m not sure if I want to watch the documentary about him and the Alzheimer’s. I will remember him for those hit songs and “True Grit.” I don’t think I want to go out to see the Flashback Feature on Thursday night. I have seen “Sixteen Candles” too many times. I have seen almost all the John Hughes movies too many times. The Alfred Hitchcock Presents show had Hume Cronyn and some insurance scheme. Cronyn said something about his butterfly collection. I could not stand to watch “Two and a Half Men.” I can stand to see that scene with Jack Nicholson and Tom Cruise only so many times before I get sick. Some of the people who died on June 21 include June Christy (1990), John Lee Hooker (2001), Carroll O’Connor (2001), and Leon Uris (2003). Today is a birthday for Chris Pratt (36), Juliette Lewis (42), Meredith Baxter (68), Michael Gross (68), and Ray Davies (71). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for June 21, the Rolling Stones were banned from New York hotels in 1966. In 1969, Pete Townshend was detained in Memphis for using the slang term “bomb.” In 2001, Carroll O’Connor died of a heart attack at age 76.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

